We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, as ever.”
Review of The Masons Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Masons Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at the Mason's arms on 26 June. We have not visited for about 12 months as we have being trying others in the chain.

We were not disappointed, stayed in The Strawberry bank suite. It was lovely, nice and clean, lovely big bath and comfy bed!

We ate in the bar, great good quality food at reasonable price and always can find something delicious from behind the bar to try. Friendly staff and a warm welcome.

We won't leave it so long to return next time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Willis family A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

I will start this review we have tried to book this hotel on many occasions and on reflection we took the smaller room gummers Howe having the chance to view some of the larger options would love to return to one of those this small hotel. Has views to die for this is a tranquil spot all staff go out of their way to be pleasant and helpful a real olde world inn food for dinner delicious we had breakfast at bottom of hill hare & hounds first class would love to return to this property booking larger room

Room Tip: Pay extra for one of larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnj694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have never been disappointed by the food here :-) Although on this visit, we WERE disappointed, when the lady behind the bar stated, they don't start serving food in the evening until 6pm (despite a notice on their tables, saying that they serve food all day ? !!) At 5.50pm, when I requested to put our order in and pay for it, she informed me that their 'system' does not allow them to do that ...'until 6 o'clock' ! ??? Hence, when the clock struck '6' they had a surge of customers at the bar, all getting frustrated with waiting in SUCH a small bar area !

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Mrs V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My wife and I are writers in the tourist trade abroad, and we found the Masons' Arms an excellent place for dinner. Nice authentic Lakeland pub atmosphere, ultra friendly staff (and locals), and a wide, honest to goodness menu, with little pretension, just good food at a reasonable price. If you find yourself in the Lyth Valley, Winster Valley or in South Lakeland generally, it is worth seeking out. Even worth driving out from the hubbub of NBowness or Windermere.
Only downside is that its success is not a secret; therefore very busy during high season and holidays.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 186565David_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

What a great place to stay. We arrived at 11 knowing check in was 3 but the staff were happy to store our chilled food in the fridge and let us go on with our day. The room itself has a very strange layout. The tv is behind your head?? the shower is a challenge for even an average height person. The view is beyond amazing, I really enjoyed watching the lambs and all the house martins, one house martin even flew into the room and flew back out again. The bed was so comfortable and I enjoyed 3 nights sleep (except for 1 noisy bird)
The staff are really helpful and will grab you extra tea if you need or use the main kitchens microwave if you need to heat something out.
The location of the hotel was a bit out of the way for us as I think we would of liked to have gone into a town or something in the evening but otherwise, great.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bowland suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smurfy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Although we did not stay at the Masons Arms, we ate there with some friends who were staying nearby in Crook at their recommendation (they had already been there).
The pub has a nice cosy atmosphere and we were seated upstairs, where we also had the benefit of a nice view from the window.
The staff were really friendly and our waiter, John, was both efficient and very personable.
I had the ribs to start - very messy but probably the best ribs I've eaten this side of the Atlantic (the Americans really know how to cook them too). There was a good choice of main courses at reasonable prices. And for desert, how could I resist the sticky toffee pudding - amazing!!
Regrettably, we had to leave the Lake District the next day, otherwise I am sure we would have returned for another meal.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard_Harpum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We wanted a relaxing few days away with good food and drink in the evenings and that is what we got, we really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely stay again. The staff were helpful, there was plenty of parking and it was very reasonable.

Room Tip: The Bowland Bridge Suite was nice however for tall people the shower wasnt ideal as my husband is 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartmel hotels
6.3 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
286 reviews
7 mi away
Cavendish Arms
Cavendish Arms
#2 of 15 in Cartmel
608 reviews
7 mi away
Priory Hotel Cartmel
Priory Hotel Cartmel
#6 of 15 in Cartmel
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Uplands Garden Restaurant & Hotel
6.1 mi away
Greenbank Farm B&B
Greenbank Farm B&B
#7 of 15 in Cartmel
54 reviews
5.1 mi away
Broughton House
Broughton House
#1 of 15 in Cartmel
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Masons Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Masons Arms

Address: Strawberry Bank, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands > Cartmel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Cartmel
Price Range: £93 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Masons Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Masons Arms Hotel Cartmel
The Masons Arms Cartmel, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing