We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A LITTLE GEM”
Review of The Masons Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cartmel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Masons Arms
Certificate of Excellence
sheffield
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A LITTLE GEM”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Just back from a 4 night stay here and it was difficult to find fault. The food was wonderful with the best ribs we have ever tasted. Great choice and not too dear. Staff were helpful and friendly. The suite was well appointed and clean. Our only minor grouse is with their website which doesn't show the accommodation to best effect. We stayed in Cartmel Fell but the website didn't show that it was a mezzanine suite with steep stairs. This could have been a problem as my wife had an op on her foot recently. As it turned out we managed, but it needs to be clearer. Still a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Check website carefully and phone if in doubt
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikew47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    73
    26
    12
    7
See reviews for
49
165
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Been here before, pricey and was a our treat on our hols. Never changes - worth popping in for a drink if you cannot afford the meal. Lovely views over the fells outside, inside - cosy, wonderful atmosphere.

Excellent service, welcoming for all the family. The food is always faultless and I cannot stress enough what a wonderful place this is.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
168 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Lovely pub tucked away from the hustle and bustle of Windermere and Ambleside on the edge of the Lake District. Good food. Good beer. Nice outside area with good views. Worth a visit: although booking advised if you want to eat in the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiltshireLassAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalgety Bay
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This was our 2nd visit here 4yrs after the 1st and we were not disappointed. Menu offers something for everyone; quality of food excellent; staff very friendly and polite. The decor of this restaurant is very simple, warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We have just returned home after spending a really lovely little break at the Mason Arms. We booked our stay very last minute and were very lucky to get put into Lyth Cottage which is a self catering cottage which is attached to the pub, it was spottlessly clean and had a lovely comfy bed and exellent shower and a very homely feel. We had breakfast every morning in the pub which ranged from full Cumbrian breakfast, smoked salmon and scrambled egg on toasted muffin or toast and marmalade all really good. We also had two evening meals and one lunch and have to say that the food was really good the rib eyed steak that my husband had one evening was especially good cooked perfectly and one of the best steaks that he has eaten. The majority of the staff were exellent there were a couple of waitresses that were working in the bar area on Friday evening that I did feel let down the others staff that worked really hard. I would defently recommend the Mason Arms to friend and familly but highly recommend booking as it is a very popular place and gets very busy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Annes-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at the Mason's arms on 26 June. We have not visited for about 12 months as we have being trying others in the chain.

We were not disappointed, stayed in The Strawberry bank suite. It was lovely, nice and clean, lovely big bath and comfy bed!

We ate in the bar, great good quality food at reasonable price and always can find something delicious from behind the bar to try. Friendly staff and a warm welcome.

We won't leave it so long to return next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Willis family A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I will start this review we have tried to book this hotel on many occasions and on reflection we took the smaller room gummers Howe having the chance to view some of the larger options would love to return to one of those this small hotel. Has views to die for this is a tranquil spot all staff go out of their way to be pleasant and helpful a real olde world inn food for dinner delicious we had breakfast at bottom of hill hare & hounds first class would love to return to this property booking larger room

Room Tip: Pay extra for one of larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnj694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartmel
5.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.5 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,272 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lyth Valley Country Inn
Lyth Valley Country Inn
#1 of 14 in Kendal
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,086 reviews
6.3 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
254 reviews
3.4 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Newby Bridge
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Masons Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Masons Arms

Property: The Masons Arms
Address: Strawberry Bank, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands > Cartmel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Cartmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Masons Arms Hotel Cartmel
The Masons Arms Cartmel, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing