We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the gamble”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Masons Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cartmel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Masons Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Accrington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth the gamble”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Tried to book for sat night , was told sorry full and the tables round the bar area are first come first served .,We took the gamble and drove over the place was very busy with at least 5 other people ordering food in front of us .We were lucky that a fireside table came vacant just as we got our drinks .We all ordered and prepared to wait . the beer is a little on the pricey side Wainwrights £3.50.Within 10min starters arrived followed by mains a little later .All four of us enjoyed our meal and to say it was so busy , bank holiday and Cartmel races , we could not fault it and will return when we are in the area again .

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank paul a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    73
    25
    11
    7
See reviews for
48
162
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We had a meal here sunday 24th august
we paid £41 for 3 of us and that included a small starter to share and three mains (although one was for a child from the kids menu) and three drinks. The food was OK but both my partner and I agreed that for the price we would have expected it to be even better.
Free Wi-fi.
Having said all that we got a table right next to the log fire and bar and loved the candle lit, rustic feel vibe the restaurant has and yes I would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missy_diva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Strawberry bank suite for two nights on a weekend getaway to the Lake District. Excellent base, short drive to Lake Windermere. The room was spacious and lovely with a freestanding bath and four poster bed. Had dinner in the pub on the first night and enjoyed the food/atmosphere so much that we ate here again the following night. Staff are friendly and helpful - gave us tips for nearby walks, including a short walk that had beautiful views over Windermere. Highly recommend.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kym B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Our rooms - the Bowland and Gummer's Howe - were tiny and although described as self catering, this would be difficult in such a small space. The bed was up steep stairs in the rafters with a very low ceiling height and a wardrobe you could only open on one side due to being jammed against the bed. The water took so long to fill the bath, I gave up and tried the shower but then you bang your head on the ceiling. Unfortunately the furniture is old and basic and the room needs re-painting. The tv is on the wall behind you as there is no space to put it anywhere else. The meal we had at dinner was good, but as everyone in the pub had left at around 10.15pm, we felt unwelcome sitting in the pub for a drink. Overall, may be nice to sit outside for lunch in summer, but not to stay. Not good value at £109.

Room Tip: The cottages looked ok but don't bother with the pub rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 417Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We had a great stay at The Masons Arms in their WInster cottage. The rooms and cottage is very well furbished, modern and stylish. The staff are friendly and helpful. The location is dreamy and the stay was a huge family success. We ate at the Pub twice and had a great experience there also. The outside decor is high-end and thoughtful (blankets just in case!). The beer, gin and wine lists are extensive and good. The food menu reads well, has a thoughtful and good kids menu, and the food is overall good to very good.Mostly hits with one miss (lamb, couscous and tomato dish was horrid). Tremendous time overall though, an excellent stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baconrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

I stayed here for one night with a friend with the intention of using it as a base for cycling. It was perfect for that and we found it ideal. We did go a bit overboard on the cycle on arrival and got back to the hotel just before last food orders, which I am attributing to the quality of the meal (which was a bit average). My pork was bland and under seasoned and my friend had the lamb which was also uninspiring. A little disappointing given the abundance of fine produce, although forgiven with the tardiness of our orders. I would like to stay here again and would definitely recommend it to others as the views are spectacular and it is a lovely quiet location away from the noise of Windermere town centre. The mark down is for the food, though perhaps I need to return for a second opinion!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Lovely views, good food but overpriced. Room was not as described with restricted head height in bedroom and kitchen and I kept banging my head as the space was so small. Stayed in crostwaite suite and the bathroom shower was minute. Due to hot weather, I had to remove the sheet from the duvet and found numerous blood stains on the duvet. Unhygienic and I would never stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the crostwaite suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shauna1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartmel
2.5 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
6.3 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
5.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
2.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
3.8 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Masons Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Masons Arms

Property: The Masons Arms
Address: Strawberry Bank, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands > Cartmel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Cartmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Masons Arms Hotel Cartmel
The Masons Arms Cartmel, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing