We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”
Review of The Masons Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cartmel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Masons Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed as a family in the Lyth cottage over the August Bank holiday weekend.

Since our last visit earlier in the year the sofa bed has been changed and the whole cottage painted - both are great and show the owners are happy to spend money on keeping the place up to date.

Food on Sunday evening was served in our cottage as the bar was heaving - all the meals were of a good standard and served ahead of the 45 minute waiting time we were quoted at the bar.

Despite the pub being very very busy, the noise penetration to the accommodation was nil, a real bonus when you are trying to get a tired 6 year old to sleep

As ever the staff were superb and nothing is too much trouble, can't recommend this place highly enough.

Room Tip: Lyth cottage has simply stunning views from the lounge and the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

Tried to book for sat night , was told sorry full and the tables round the bar area are first come first served .,We took the gamble and drove over the place was very busy with at least 5 other people ordering food in front of us .We were lucky that a fireside table came vacant just as we got our drinks .We all ordered and prepared to wait . the beer is a little on the pricey side Wainwrights £3.50.Within 10min starters arrived followed by mains a little later .All four of us enjoyed our meal and to say it was so busy , bank holiday and Cartmel races , we could not fault it and will return when we are in the area again .

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank paul a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We had a meal here sunday 24th august
we paid £41 for 3 of us and that included a small starter to share and three mains (although one was for a child from the kids menu) and three drinks. The food was OK but both my partner and I agreed that for the price we would have expected it to be even better.
Free Wi-fi.
Having said all that we got a table right next to the log fire and bar and loved the candle lit, rustic feel vibe the restaurant has and yes I would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missy_diva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed in the Strawberry bank suite for two nights on a weekend getaway to the Lake District. Excellent base, short drive to Lake Windermere. The room was spacious and lovely with a freestanding bath and four poster bed. Had dinner in the pub on the first night and enjoyed the food/atmosphere so much that we ate here again the following night. Staff are friendly and helpful - gave us tips for nearby walks, including a short walk that had beautiful views over Windermere. Highly recommend.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kym B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Our rooms - the Bowland and Gummer's Howe - were tiny and although described as self catering, this would be difficult in such a small space. The bed was up steep stairs in the rafters with a very low ceiling height and a wardrobe you could only open on one side due to being jammed against the bed. The water took so long to fill the bath, I gave up and tried the shower but then you bang your head on the ceiling. Unfortunately the furniture is old and basic and the room needs re-painting. The tv is on the wall behind you as there is no space to put it anywhere else. The meal we had at dinner was good, but as everyone in the pub had left at around 10.15pm, we felt unwelcome sitting in the pub for a drink. Overall, may be nice to sit outside for lunch in summer, but not to stay. Not good value at £109.

Room Tip: The cottages looked ok but don't bother with the pub rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 417Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We had a great stay at The Masons Arms in their WInster cottage. The rooms and cottage is very well furbished, modern and stylish. The staff are friendly and helpful. The location is dreamy and the stay was a huge family success. We ate at the Pub twice and had a great experience there also. The outside decor is high-end and thoughtful (blankets just in case!). The beer, gin and wine lists are extensive and good. The food menu reads well, has a thoughtful and good kids menu, and the food is overall good to very good.Mostly hits with one miss (lamb, couscous and tomato dish was horrid). Tremendous time overall though, an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baconrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I stayed here for one night with a friend with the intention of using it as a base for cycling. It was perfect for that and we found it ideal. We did go a bit overboard on the cycle on arrival and got back to the hotel just before last food orders, which I am attributing to the quality of the meal (which was a bit average). My pork was bland and under seasoned and my friend had the lamb which was also uninspiring. A little disappointing given the abundance of fine produce, although forgiven with the tardiness of our orders. I would like to stay here again and would definitely recommend it to others as the views are spectacular and it is a lovely quiet location away from the noise of Windermere town centre. The mark down is for the food, though perhaps I need to return for a second opinion!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartmel
6.3 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
283 reviews
7.3 mi away
Uplands Garden Restaurant & Hotel
3.3 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa
Swan Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Engine Inn
Engine Inn
#11 of 15 in Cartmel
137 reviews
7 mi away
Cavendish Arms
Cavendish Arms
#2 of 15 in Cartmel
592 reviews
7 mi away
Priory Hotel Cartmel
Priory Hotel Cartmel
#6 of 15 in Cartmel
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Masons Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Masons Arms

Address: Strawberry Bank, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands > Cartmel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Cartmel
Price Range: £30 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Masons Arms Hotel Cartmel
The Masons Arms Cartmel, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing