We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pork Scratchings!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pig and Whistle

Pig and Whistle
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cartmel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pig and Whistle
Ranked #14 of 14 Cartmel B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pork Scratchings!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We thought we'd give Simon Rogan's pub a go before L'Enclume. Honestly the best pork Scratchings ever with a side of Apple sauce. Only issue was the volume of our crunching. We had a very large pork cutlet and battered cod and chips. No room at all for pud. With a very nice Lakeland lager it was £36 well spent in casual and friendly surroundings with excellent service.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Louise Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    7
    3
    2
    8
See reviews for
6
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

My friend and I went here for lunch and my god what a lovely lunch it was, the atmosphere and the service was fantastic. The food yet a sandwich was as my friend said " the best steak sandwich i ever had" . We also enjoyed the hand made chips which you often don't see in a pub. We sat in the garden which just topped of a lovely lunch for two with fantastic scenery

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Dreya80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
448 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We enjoyed our meal here - the food was nice, but I think given the reputation and association with Simon Rogan we were expecting so much more. First the good things - staff were attentive, helpful, friendly and service was very good. We liked the traditional decor and quirky nature of the place, however we were really cold and felt a little uncomfortable.
The menu sounded delicious, plenty to choose and emphasis on fresh ingredients. We were a bit disappointed they had run out of pork scratchings - we liked the sound of those. One of our group had steak - melt in your mouth delicious, another had fish and chips which was also excellent, I had pork which was served in a sauce with delicious spring greens. The pork was a tad overcooked and dry and the sauce a bit bland and watery.
So a bit of a mixed experience. We didn't think it was terrible, but were a bit disappointed and thought it was average. For the price we paid, I think we could have got better elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just had a lunchtime meal for my birthday treat...I was a little bit worried after reading some bad reviews But it was great. Salmon and crab starter with lovely home made bread and a plaice with lemon and butter sauce. Yum! Portions good, staff attentive and price not too bad. I am quite fussy eater and I think this place was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilchard1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G-O-S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Boring boring boring no atmosphere what so ever. Would not recommend to anyone, & after overhearing the way the owner spoke to her staff, im surprised she has any. Very rude and obviously not a clue on how to conduct her buisness infront of paying customers. Charlotte I think behind the bar is very friendly & very welcoming GREAT JOB, maybe the owner should take a leaf out of her book. What has happened to good old pub grub, u have the posh nosh in cartmel square so maybe a decent sized plate off food wouldnt go a miss in a small country pub. Why compete. Not impressed, will NOT recommend & food over priced for a few lousy mouthfuls.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Proc666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cartmel hotels

Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I (with the two dogs) dropped in today for a bite to eat and a drink. Despite being empty when we arrived the bar had a very cosy feel to it with the open fire going and by traditional decor. The lady behind the bar was very welcoming and couldn't have been more helpful. We were offered a small selection of sandwiches, bar snacks or a choice of meals from the main menu - which looked very appetising indeed. We ended up having Ham Hock with Piccalilli and Slow cooked Beef with Caramelised Onion sandwiches accompanied by small portions of plaice gujons and corned beef fritters - nothing spectacular about it but all very nicely put together, very tasty and delivered in good time. Just what we wanted.
Very pleasantly surprised considering some of the previous reviews and I wouldn't hesitate to return and would then like to sample the main menu.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

A friend booked a table here to celebrate his birthday, and with it being owned by Simon Rogan we were expecting some decent grub. I was famished heading here and with Rogan owning L'Enclume and Rogans in Cartmel already, I was expecting the Pig and Whistle (which is basically a country pub) to offer something a little different such as well made pub grub but I was wrong...

I had the venison and I couldn't fault the quality of the food, however the quantity was far too small. I've been to plenty of fancy restaurants (including michelin star) before where portion sizes are much smaller than you would expect elsewhere, but the size of the main course here was more like a starter! There were 2 small thinly cut slices of venison which were tasty and left me wanting more, along with a couple of small potatoes a bit of parsnip and some red cabbage.

When we were done we were all that hungry we had to pop to the takeaway on the way home for supper!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Salo_K-Bab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartmel
0.0 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cavendish Arms
Cavendish Arms
#2 of 14 in Cartmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.0 mi away
Priory Hotel Cartmel
Priory Hotel Cartmel
#5 of 14 in Cartmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pig and Whistle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pig and Whistle

Property: Pig and Whistle
Address: Aynsome Road | Cartmel, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands > Cartmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Cartmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We take great pride in our pub, catering for locals and visitors to the area. We do hope that you have a enjoyable time eating home-made, locally sourced food and enjoying the wide range of real ales, craft beers fine wines and spirits. We look forward to meeting you all whether it is in the bar, bistro or beer garden, enjoying the scenic views of Cartmel. Kind regards Tim, Emma and the team, since September 2015. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pig And Whistle Cartmel, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing