We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, surly service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pig and Whistle

Pig and Whistle
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cartmel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pig and Whistle
Ranked #14 of 14 Cartmel B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food, surly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

A family affair. 5 of us, 3.30pm seated in the small room adjoining the bar. Reception upon entering was subdued, staff did not seem to be aware of why we were there. However, this was soon rectified by the amenable barman who took our drinks orders and indicated we wait in the bar before dining. Atmosphere in the bar area moderate at best reduced by the tired paintwork. Even our lively barman could not set this bar on fire. 15.45 and we wonder why we have not been allocated our dining table. Upon asking the waitress we received our first of many surly responses. Finally we were led to our dining room which consisted of two oversized dining tables cramped into a small dimly lit space. One table was laden with the filthy crockery of the previous dining party.
Initial service was poor in the dining area, which was expected as it was the same member of staff from the bar. However, our experience was soon to be transformed by the arrival of giant platters of golden crisp piggy crackling, with apple sauce and perfectly fried and seasoned anchovies. Suddenly the waiters arrived with a basket of bread, her knee gave way and it ended up all over the floor. But no matter, we received our second basket 15 minutes later. Starters! Potted mackerel: flawless. Seasoned perfectly; generous portion. Black piggy pudding, delightful. Well balanced and texturally accomplished. Fluke & shrimps sensational! All members in firm agreement. On to the mains, ahoy ahoy!! Excellently executed roast platters of pork and lashings of rich glossy gravy. Generous towers of vegetables, the carrots a particular fancy! After a delightful ceremony of stuffing, we realised we were too full for pudding. Despite the fantastic display of continuous culinary accomplishment, the dining experience was reduced throughout by the less than enthusiastic service. Perhaps it was the time of day but it's no excuse. Waiting staff less than attentive. Atmosphere not nearly immersive. Cold draughts and a lack of music. The stench of dirty dishwasher and deep fat frier continually blowing in our faces. Excellent value undermined by service and shoddy environment

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Top_Review123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    7
    3
    2
    8
See reviews for
6
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We visited this pub on 8/7/2014 for a lunchtime meal and it was lovely. The staff were very helpful and the chef advised about the gluten free options which we both needed. The surrounding are simple and it felt very comfortable.
The food was excellent and the chocolate pot delicious. I have recommended the venue to friends since our visit.
Apart from a small problem with the bill which was easily rectified the visit was great.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We thought we'd give Simon Rogan's pub a go before L'Enclume. Honestly the best pork Scratchings ever with a side of Apple sauce. Only issue was the volume of our crunching. We had a very large pork cutlet and battered cod and chips. No room at all for pud. With a very nice Lakeland lager it was £36 well spent in casual and friendly surroundings with excellent service.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Louise Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

My friend and I went here for lunch and my god what a lovely lunch it was, the atmosphere and the service was fantastic. The food yet a sandwich was as my friend said " the best steak sandwich i ever had" . We also enjoyed the hand made chips which you often don't see in a pub. We sat in the garden which just topped of a lovely lunch for two with fantastic scenery

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Dreya80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
448 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We enjoyed our meal here - the food was nice, but I think given the reputation and association with Simon Rogan we were expecting so much more. First the good things - staff were attentive, helpful, friendly and service was very good. We liked the traditional decor and quirky nature of the place, however we were really cold and felt a little uncomfortable.
The menu sounded delicious, plenty to choose and emphasis on fresh ingredients. We were a bit disappointed they had run out of pork scratchings - we liked the sound of those. One of our group had steak - melt in your mouth delicious, another had fish and chips which was also excellent, I had pork which was served in a sauce with delicious spring greens. The pork was a tad overcooked and dry and the sauce a bit bland and watery.
So a bit of a mixed experience. We didn't think it was terrible, but were a bit disappointed and thought it was average. For the price we paid, I think we could have got better elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just had a lunchtime meal for my birthday treat...I was a little bit worried after reading some bad reviews But it was great. Salmon and crab starter with lovely home made bread and a plaice with lemon and butter sauce. Yum! Portions good, staff attentive and price not too bad. I am quite fussy eater and I think this place was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilchard1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G-O-S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Boring boring boring no atmosphere what so ever. Would not recommend to anyone, & after overhearing the way the owner spoke to her staff, im surprised she has any. Very rude and obviously not a clue on how to conduct her buisness infront of paying customers. Charlotte I think behind the bar is very friendly & very welcoming GREAT JOB, maybe the owner should take a leaf out of her book. What has happened to good old pub grub, u have the posh nosh in cartmel square so maybe a decent sized plate off food wouldnt go a miss in a small country pub. Why compete. Not impressed, will NOT recommend & food over priced for a few lousy mouthfuls.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Proc666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cartmel hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartmel
0.0 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Netherwood
Netherwood
#5 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.0 mi away
Priory Hotel Cartmel
Priory Hotel Cartmel
#5 of 14 in Cartmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cavendish Arms
Cavendish Arms
#2 of 14 in Cartmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pig and Whistle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pig and Whistle

Property: Pig and Whistle
Address: Aynsome Road | Cartmel, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands > Cartmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Cartmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We take great pride in our pub, catering for locals and visitors to the area. We do hope that you have a enjoyable time eating home-made, locally sourced food and enjoying the wide range of real ales, craft beers fine wines and spirits. We look forward to meeting you all whether it is in the bar, bistro or beer garden, enjoying the scenic views of Cartmel. Kind regards Tim, Emma and the team, since September 2015. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pig And Whistle Cartmel, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing