We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“food was delicious” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pig and Whistle

The Pig and Whistle
Reserve with OpenTable
The Pig and Whistle is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 13 Restaurants in Cartmel
Price range: US$7 - US$24
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, View, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff
Description: A traditional oak beamed pub with a real log fire! Situated in the lovely village of Cartmel, well known for its Priory, Sticky Toffee Pudding and Cartmel Races. The Pig offers an intimate dining experience in the small cosy bistro and a small bar where a range of cask and keg beers are on offer. To the rear the pub has a large beer garden and patio with views over the village and the Cumbrian fells. Kind regards Tim, Emma and the team, since September 2015.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“food was delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

a good old fashioned pub serving real ale and a very busy restaurant and I can understand why it is this busy, the food is delicious. We both had the hoggett suet pudding and were very impressed. Everything was cooked perfectly, would definitely go again and highly recommended. only one little problem the staff seem a little stressed coping with the amount of people who are in the pub and restaurant

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ann y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    129
    42
    29
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good food, let down by surroundings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Called for lunch today, bar area stark, noisy and uncomfortable seating. Tried restaurant ( our fault for not booking) but although only one table occupied at the time, it was fully booked for later so we retreated to the beer garden which was fine and pleasant views. Dirty ashtray on table. Bin with copious empty cig packets at noon on a Sunday? Needs a clean up. Menu, service by friendly staff and food were good. The chef and kitchen are let down by a pub that needs some money spending on it instead of relying on Rogan's name and reputation. Thankfully we weren't put off by the pub itself and enjoyed our lunch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GillWYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“VERY DISAPPOINTED”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

My friend and I booked a table a week in advance of our visit. On arrival, however, our booking appeared to be a surprise to the staff. As it was early (6pm) we were shown to a room with mis-matched, wobbly legged tables; ours was next to the kitchen door which was hinged to swing backwards and forwards. Big mistake as, throughout our meal, there was the constant noise of the door being kicked, or backside butted, open and left to swing closed. I was closest to it and cringed every time I saw someone heading in that direction.

The starter was served and was delicious, but while waiting for the main course, one of the waitresses started cleaning an adjacent table. (As an aside, can anyone tell me why no-one ever thinks to clean the underside of the table top, as this is where most sticky finger marks and bits of food debris [and sometimes worse] are!). Back to the P & W - the waitress, who was not wearing latex gloves, took a dirty looking cloth from a dresser top, sprayed the table with a cleaning agent, wiped the table top and slate place mats, then promptly picked up fresh cutlery, napkins etc, to re-set the table without washing her hands. Sorry, but I don't want to use cutlery that's been picked up by someone who has debris from other diners, and table wiping spray, on their hands.

We both ordered fish and chips. The fish was good, although the portion size was very small, and the chips had obviously been standing for some time before being plated up as they were very limp and soggy.

All in all, for the price paid, it was very disappointing and not very good value. taken together with the cleanliness issue mentioned above, we will not be returning.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Best Scotch Eggs Ever ... And a Welcome Return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Had dinner here last night on one of our pilgrimages to Cartmel. Staff friendly as ever, and with a bit of a wait (15 mins) accommodated us even though we had no reservation as there were tables in the beer garden available. As a bar snack I tried a scotch egg, easily the best I have tasted. Then onto a duck confit starter, which was light yet had a strong flavour. This was served with a perfectly cooked brioche.

For main course I had the steak, and this was served with something that I had four years ago at Rogan and Co. and had missed ever since they took it off the menu ... béarnaise foam! Imagine all the rich flavour of the sauce in something that is light and delicate and you've got it. Outstanding, and I hope this is never removed from the menu. Just needs the rib-eye cut back to seal it.

So when is the Pig and Whistle cookbook coming out? He hints hopefully ...

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Malefacent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
125 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Excellent- well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Visited Tuesday Lunch which was quiet but attentive young staff. Varied menu and it seemed obvious that Simon Rogans influence is in evidence.

We had the lamb in a suet pudding with cockles which was excellent and a crab and salmon starter. Extremely tasty and well presented. Good choice of wine with bottles staring at only £12. There is a facility to eat outside and the pub offers music on a Sunday afternoon with a beer festival and bands the 2nd weekend in July.

Being local I have no,hesitation in recommending the Pand W and will be returning.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Grabybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pig and Whistle also viewed

Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
 
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
 
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
Grange-over-Sands, Lake District
 

Been to The Pig and Whistle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing