We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Broughton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Broughton House
Ranked #1 of 14 Cartmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blackburn Uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What a welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Thankyou Cate you made my birthday treat to the races even more special. Food best we ever had, welcome very special, room ace. In fact 5 star all round the little extras mean a lot. By the way thankyou for the choc brownie recipe delicious xx

Room Tip: Cate is an exceptionally kind lady. will do anything for you email her for any thing you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacquiblackburnUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CATE D D, Owner at Broughton House, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hello you two - goodness, that was quick! You've got home, written the lovely review, AND made some brownies!! Thank you for coming to stay with me at Broughton House. I'm so glad that you enjoyed it, and I'm sorry that I can't welcome you back for the Races next year (I'll let you know if things change on that front) Until the next time....very best wishes - Cate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
218
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

A warm welcome supplement by tea and a log fire in the library (filled with a fascinating collection of books). Tasty homemade cookies replenished in your bedroom on a daily basis. Variety of breakfast options including fruit from the garden.
Cate was a professional, pleasant and attentive host with good knowledge of the local area.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donaga1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CATE D D, Owner at Broughton House, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Hello - now I really am scratching my head as to who this is..... It's the fire that threw me - so I'm guessing you visited a while ago (although I'm considering lighting one today!!) Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with me - I'm so glad that you enjoyed it, and I hope that I might be able to welcome you back to Broughton House one of these days. With best wishes - Cate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Bed and breakfasts have generally much higher standards than they used to, and Broughton House is definitely one of the best. The room was beautifully furnished and the White Company towels and bed linen much appreciated. It's the extra touches that make it a place to return to and there are plenty, with teas and coffees to help yourself to, delicious brownies and shortbread in the room, a welcoming lounge for guest use and good choice of breakfast. Cate is very welcoming and happy to advise on where to eat. We only stayed for one night on our way home, but would happily return when in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CATE D D, Owner at Broughton House, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Hello you two - and thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay with me, at Broughton House. It was lovely to meet you, and to hear what an exciting time you'd had in Scotland - is the bronze medal at home now? - what a wonderful achievement for your son. Once again, many thanks - 'til the next time - with best wishes - Cate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Broughton house is a perfect base for exploring the Lake District. In addition to lovely rooms in a wonderful house and grounds, with delicious breakfast; there is also a wide range of quality teas available as required, plus thoughtful little extras such as safety razors, dental accessories and bottled water (things we sometimes forget to bring). Cate is a delightful and genuinely engaging host, along with Muffin who is canine gold. I highly recommend this excellent B&B.

Room Tip: We stayed in South room and we were happy. Cate also provides a Mongolian Yurt with a standalone dw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank odelvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CATE D D, Owner at Broughton House, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Hello "Odelvis" - and thank you for the splendid review of your recent stay at Broughton House. Muffin is, I'm sure, thrilled to be described as "canine gold" - especially after her lifetime of dubious behaviour!! I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay, and I look forward to welcoming you back one of these days - with best wishes and thanks - Cate (& Muffin)
PS the idle, good for nothing cat wants to know why she didn't get a mention?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This B&B is a gem.Stayed here with the family to celebrate my husband's birthday. Cate was so welcoming , even made a delicious cake for him! The rooms were all pleasant and comfortable and the supply of shortbread and brownies replenished daily a great treat. The landing cupboard full, not only a fantastic array of teas, but also things you may have forgotten shows a degree of thoughtful hospitality not often found. Having the summer house and use of the yurt was a bonus. We had a lovely barbeque and sat around the fire- pit till late. Breakfast was a delight ,home made bread and jams. Will definitely be going back and have already raved about it to friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CATE D D, Owner at Broughton House, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hello Maria - and everybody. Thank you very much for the lovely review - and the super photos too. I'm glad the birthday celebrations were deemed a success (we won't mention the feathered friends!!) and that everyone enjoyed themselves. It was lovely to meet you all, and I hope I can welcome you back one of these days - and I'll lock the hens up this time!! With best wishes to all - Cate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Apologies for the late review Cate, but just recovering from a broken wrist! Rob and I stayed here for 2 fantastic nights in July. From start to finish we were looked after by Cate and felt relaxed and comfortable. The location is perfect for accessing the lakes but we stayed local to Cartmel and indulged in fine dining and shopping! Loved the freshly made breakfasts, all using local or home made produce. Didn't need to eat till the evening after them! We loved exploring the beautiful gardens with the hens roaming free and would love to come back soon and stay in the yurt! Thanks for making our stay so special Cate, we will definitely return! P.S. Hope the solar panels are still on!!!!!

Room Tip: All very lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sueymar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CATE D D, Owner at Broughton House, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hello - and thank you very much indeed for reviewing your recent stay at Broughton House. Hope the broken wrist is improving - it sounds horrid - poor you. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay - and what lovely photographs you took, especially of the Yurt. Hope to see you back here soon, and that the wrist is swiftly mended. With best wishes - Cate
PS - I've just seen a previous response when I've apparently wished someone "bedtime wishes" when I typed "best", so there's a lesson for me - check what apple has decided to replace words with in future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scunthorpe
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

First but hopefully not last visit to this wonderful home that is opened up for all to enjoy and be spoilt.Cate provides all your needs plus more.The quality and presentation of the breakfasts, choice and excellent delivery is nothing less than what 5 star hotels sometimes fail to provide.
The east room is lovely,spacious and what a comfortable bed, mezzanine bathroom is different but again supplied with all you need.Special mention to the landing cupboard that doubles as Aladdin's cave for all you want that you forgot or run out of.This place is quiet but handy for the local sights and countryside a great retreat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MXX85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CATE D D, Owner at Broughton House, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Hello Elaine and Tony - and thank you for the terrific review! Gosh! - I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay so much, and thank you for saying so many complimentary things about Broughton House. Hopefully it won't be long before "Grandma's Glasses" are back on the breakfast table!! With best wishes to you both, from a very wet Cartmel - Cate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartmel
1.2 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
2.2 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
3.7 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cavendish Arms
Cavendish Arms
#2 of 14 in Cartmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bay Villa
Bay Villa
#1 of 29 in Grange-over-Sands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broughton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broughton House

Property: Broughton House
Address: Field Broughton | Cartmel, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands > Cartmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Cartmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broughton House, built in 1810, is set in 2 acres of south facing garden. 2 Bedrooms, both with en-suite shower rooms. Aga cooked breakfasts showcasing local products, including our own eggs, and home baked bread. Cartmel has a Priory, racing 3 times a year, and plenty of places to eat, drink, and buy Sticky Toffee Pudding! If "glamping" is more your thing, then why not try our yurt instead? We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Broughton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broughton House Cartmel, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing