We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was nice & good place.”
Review of Uplands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Uplands Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cartmel
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“This was nice & good place.”
Reviewed 22 July 2011

I got referred to this place by friend of mine Matt, he stayed here. Anyways I enjoyed the place - good & well behaved staff, overall good etiquette, pleasing view, good bed & mattress. Hot & cold water was combine hot :) no worries though ...

Room services was good too.. Overall we were happy, thanks Matt & thanks to Uplands Hotel.

http://www.classicbedsteads.co.uk

Room Tip: Room no 301 :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Spopli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    111
    32
    8
    10
See reviews for
25
279
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
286 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

This hotel has opened recently under new management. It is about a mile and a half outside Cartmel with the most glorious view across open countryside to Morecambe bay. It has a very pretty garden with seating outside and an attractive inside eating area. We had a room with a view and the decoration and furnishing was very attractive. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast was absolutely fine. We did not eat dinner there. The new owner says that there are still some outstanding items to be addressed, but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. There is one suite which looked lovely. The prices were very modest. There is parking in the hotel grounds.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dopeyhopey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2010

Landed without booking at the last minute during dinner but was looked after very well. Didn't dine but the breakfast was fine, as was the room. The property has a lovely garden too. Will return.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Stevas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2009

Uplands Guest House has been on our "to visit" list since 2003, when the Guardian listed it as one of their "Best 50 bed and breakfast establishments in Britain". Is it still worth that accolade?

As mentioned in a previous review, there were a few slight bumps and protrusions in the mattress, which in our case were insufficient to cause us to lose any sleep. I do not, therefore, wish to overstate this defect. The problem seems to be caused by the combination of a cheap mattress and by the fact that the only thing between the sleeper and the mattress was the bottom sheet. A thick quilted, polyester-filled mattress cover[1], obtainable from most household linen suppliers, would go part of the way to reducing the extent to which the springs might cause a problem to some of their more sensitive customers. Because this type of mattress cover is washable, it would also solve the problem of the alleged body stains. I recommend the management to look into this possibility. If the quilted mattress cover does not do the trick, then Uplands might be well advised to buy some more expensive mattresses, more compatible with the high quality of the rest of their accommodation.
[1] But not, please, the waterproof type, which is uncomfortable to sleep on.

Now to the question of whether Uplands would still make it onto the Guardian's list of "The top 50 bed and breakfast establishments of Britain". I do not believe it would, although it still does have many strong points. It has a superb location, looking out over the rolling foothills of the Lake District, towards the estuary of the River Leven in the distance. The sunset we viewed from our window was superb. The room was generally very clean, and the air was fresh. However, my wife noticed (but I did not) that hair from previous customers had not been removed from the plughole in the shower, causing the water to drain away too slowly. She also noticed that the tiled floor of the bathroom had not been swept since the last customer, and there were a few remanant hairs there. For this quibble, I have reduced the rating for cleanliness to only three stars (= satisfactory) instead of the five I would have otherwise awarded. Another problem the establishment is facing concerns its stair carpet. When we arrived on Saturday, the stair carpet, which is a light colour, appeared to be spotlessly clean. By the time we left on Monday morning, after no cleaning on the Sunday, it looked distinctly grubby. This is not really an issue of cleanliness, because a dark stair carpet would have been equally dirty, but we would not have noticed it. It is simply a question of appearance.

The beds in our room ("The Lune", named after a local river, not the occupants) had excellent high-power reading lights. At last, I exulted, a bed and breakfast proprietor who understands that some guests might want to read in bed. No such luck. The light over my wife's bed worked, and was superb, but mine did not. The special light bulb had blown. I asked for it to be replaced, but he could not do so because, he said, the replacement bulbs were "on order". The small plasma-type television gave very poor (totally unacceptable) colour and contrast. I asked for somebody to come and adjust it, but he told me that this was impossible because of poor reception in the area. My wife proved him wrong, by spending approximately 45 minutes to teach herself how to go into the Menu of the television controller and to adjust the colour and brightness herself. In my opinion, the customer should not be asked to put up with an unacceptably poor television picture when better is easily possible. The television should be properly set up (by a professional, if necessary) and ready for use before the guest arrives. The customer should not be fobbed off by a false explanation of "weak signals". However, in all other respects, the service was excellent. Because of the problems of dealing effectively with the reading light and the television, I have reduced the score for Service from 5 stars (= excellemt) to 3 stars (=average).

The restaurant was excellent, and I would award 5 stars for this aspect.

In 2003, when the Guardian listed Uplands as one of "The fifty best B&Bs in Britain", it was under different ownership, and had an English Tourist Board rating of 5 diamonds. It also had correspondingly high prices at that time. It was taken over (they tell me) one-and-a-half years ago by a local chain, which seems to be more interested in the Restaurant than in the B&B. It now appears to aim for a marginally lower part of the B&B market, but at a cheaper cost.

There is a serious problem that the website of the previous owners, www.uplands.uk.com still exists on the internet, and describes an establishment quite different from what is now offered under the new management. This might be causing unrealistic expectations for those customers (such as me) who accidentally Google the old website. I can well understand that a customer expecting a 5-diamond establishment (but at £75 ???) might well be disappointed. The management need to sort this out, in order to remain compliant with the Trades Description Act. The website for the new management is www.wormall-leisure.co.uk , which unfortunately is uninformative concerning the B&B part of the business.

To me, the establishment now seems to merit at most a 4-diamond rating, and I doubt that it would still make it onto the Guardian's elite list. However, at £75 per night (i.e. £37.50 each, per night), it is reasonably good value for money. No complaints from me, and we both enjoyed our stay there. Because it is good value for money, I would recommend it to a friend, but would be careful to point out the minor defects, especially of the mattresses. I shall send a copy of this review to the management, and I shall await with interest to see what, if anything, they decide to do about the "problem" with the mattresses. No doubt, they will write a reply to this review, especially if they decide to replace the mattresses. Doing so will return Uplands, comfortably, to the equivalent of an English Tourist Board 4-diamond rating, instead of (in my opinion) leaving it to hover unsafely between the equivalent of either 3 or 4 diamonds.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dickchambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flyingducks58, General Manager at Uplands Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2011
The Hotel was shut for about 18 months we are now reopen and upgrading over a period of time. We look forward to any person that has used the hotel returning. There will be a web site it is under construction right now. We do have a face book apparently with lots of photos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2009

our first night at uplands was ruined by a worn out matteress i had to try and
sleep with springs pertruding my back ;next morning when i peeled back the
top sheet a large what look like a body fluid stain; i photogaphed the matteress
and on my return forward it with a letter to the m/d of the group on 26/08/09 and
to date 12/09/09 i still have not received a reply ; the food was excellant it is a
pity the rooms are not

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EATONIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartmel
1.2 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
254 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
955 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampsfell House Hotel
Hampsfell House Hotel
#4 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Netherwood
Netherwood
#5 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
486 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
441 reviews
1.5 mi away
Abbot Hall Hotel
Abbot Hall Hotel
#10 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uplands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uplands Hotel

Property: Uplands Hotel
Address: Haggs Lane, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands > Cartmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cartmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Uplands Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just above the village of Cartmel, the Uplands Hotel & Restaurant offers stunning views of the local countryside and the Furness Peninsula. Originally a large residential house, the Hotel benefits from two acres of peaceful gardens which are perfect for walking your dogs, al fresco dining, summer sunbathing or just taking in the views. A large car park covered by CCTV security is also onsite. The hotel is in the ideal location for visiting South Lakeland and the stunning Cumbrian coast. It is also a top choice for those visiting local events such as the Cartmel Races, the Steam Gathering Festival and the many events held by Holker Hall to name but a few. Furthermore, as the hotel is only a short drive from the M6 Motorway guests travel comfortably from a range of locations between Scotland and London. For guests, there is a choice of five comfortable double bedrooms, two of which benefit from the stunning countryside views. All rooms feature a modern en-suite bathroom and Freeview Television as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Free WiFi is also available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Uplands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uplands Hotel Cartmel, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing