We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in idyllic setting”
Review of Uplands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Uplands Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cartmel
Certificate of Excellence
Motherwell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in idyllic setting”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Uplands Hotel. Accommodation and food were excellent. The owners Julie and Neal go out there way to ensure their guests have a good stay. We found all the staff to be really pleasant and helpful and they really work well as a team to provide a good atmosphere in the hotel. Our thanks to Joe the chef for the lovely meals. We found Cartmel to be a lovely village in its own right but also an excellent base for the lakes. Good luck to the owners Julie and Neal in their new venture as they try to make Uplands a success. If our experience at the hotel is anything to go by we are sure they will.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bansko54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Responduplands, Owner at Uplands Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review it was good to meet you and know that you had such an enjoyable break.
Its lovely that you thought the Hotel had a nice atmosphere we are a small team and do all try our best.
Just as an update for you we have nearly finished the refurb in the room we were doing !!
Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    111
    32
    8
    10
See reviews for
25
279
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We had a 2 night stay 13th/14th November and had one of the rooms at the front of the hotel with the previously described fabulous view of the countryside and estuary. As the previous reviewer rightly states, the management and staff are superb and you quickly get the feeling that you are 'one of the family!' The hotel has a wonderful ambience, the food was excellently cooked from an extensive menu and our room was comfortable and well equipped. Thank you to Julie ( who I've even forgiven for being from Yorkshire!) and staff for a great stay. In the words of Arnie "We'll be back!"

Room Tip: Worth paying the small supplement for the Lune and Leven rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Responduplands, Owner at Uplands Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank you for the lovely review I have to say it did make me smile whilst reading it. Not just for the wonderful comments regarding your stay, the best one being "That you felt part of family" Which is a fantastic compliment, but the comment regarding forgiving me for being from Yorkshire !!!!
We are so pleased you enjoyed the food and most of all your stay. People work hard to get a break so if we can help you enjoy your hard earned break thats great.
We all hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We had a three night stay 28-31 Oct. This is such a lovely hotel with lovely staff… it was like stopping with relatives the sort you want to go and visit. The rooms are named rather than numbered and ours was Lune, which had a wonderful view of the countryside leading to the Leven Estuary. I found myself wanting to hurry back from sightseeing just to relax and watch the majestic view of land, sea and sky.
The meals in the restaurant were delicious with very generous portions at very reasonable prices. Carrying quite a number of dishes from two menus. They also carry a selection of locally brewed Cartmel beers to add to the local flavour.
Think this has to be our best short stay break to date and would highly recommend. Thanks Julie for making what felt like your home our home.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Severus7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Responduplands, Owner at Uplands Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. The staff and myself could not have wished for nicer comments.
We are so pleased you enjoyed yourself and hope you will be back to see us shortly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menai Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This small hotel only has five rooms but is really lovely. It has a beautifully quiet location and the staff could not have been nicer. The food was excellent with a good choice. Our rating only loses a star because the bathroom needs updating but the new owner knows this and will be updating soon. We cannot praise this friendly hotel enough. We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: We stated in the Westmoreland room which was very good. The bathroom is tired with mouldy grouting b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAL318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Responduplands, Owner at Uplands Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write the lovely review you left us. You are correct in the fact we are hopefully starting to refurbish the rooms within the next couple of months.
I will make sure that the staff see your comments as we do pride ourselves on our Customer service and good food
We do hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Wonderful view from stylish bedroom. Luxurious welcoming bar and restaurant on entering the hotel. Extensive evening menu choices and delicious - sticky toffee pudding was incredibly good - must try! Good location for the pretty village of Cartmel and Cartmel race course.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CheeringUpCoUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My husband and myself have just had another few days break here. I think the word "another" probably gives a clue to what we think of the hotel, owners, staff, food, cleanliness, area, views and the peace and calm we find here.
It won't be long before we return again.
Thank you for sharing your haven.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

A fantastic little hotel - what a find! The views were to die for, the room superb, food just excellent, and the staff were brilliant and so friendly with nothing too much trouble!. It just got better and better!! Julie & Neil (the owners) deserve to do well with this hotel and we wish them the best of luck. We will definitely be back! If you want a short break, to relax and unwind and enjoy fabulous hospitality with stunning views - then look no further! Cannot recommend it highly enough. A big thankyou to everyone there for a wonderful break. See you soon! June and Peter xx

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuneandPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Responduplands, Owner at Uplands Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
What a lovely review thank you very much. we really do appreciate your comments wishing us the best of luck for the future.
Its nice to know other people feel the same about our small Hotel as we do ie; Excellant views and food, but we really are proud of the comments "Nothing is too much trouble"
We do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartmel
1.2 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
254 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
953 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampsfell House Hotel
Hampsfell House Hotel
#4 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Netherwood
Netherwood
#5 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
486 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
441 reviews
1.5 mi away
Abbot Hall Hotel
Abbot Hall Hotel
#10 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uplands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uplands Hotel

Property: Uplands Hotel
Address: Haggs Lane, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands > Cartmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cartmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Uplands Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just above the village of Cartmel, the Uplands Hotel & Restaurant offers stunning views of the local countryside and the Furness Peninsula. Originally a large residential house, the Hotel benefits from two acres of peaceful gardens which are perfect for walking your dogs, al fresco dining, summer sunbathing or just taking in the views. A large car park covered by CCTV security is also onsite. The hotel is in the ideal location for visiting South Lakeland and the stunning Cumbrian coast. It is also a top choice for those visiting local events such as the Cartmel Races, the Steam Gathering Festival and the many events held by Holker Hall to name but a few. Furthermore, as the hotel is only a short drive from the M6 Motorway guests travel comfortably from a range of locations between Scotland and London. For guests, there is a choice of five comfortable double bedrooms, two of which benefit from the stunning countryside views. All rooms feature a modern en-suite bathroom and Freeview Television as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Free WiFi is also available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Uplands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uplands Hotel Cartmel, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing