We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely people and evening entertainment but…..” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Uplands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Uplands Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cartmel
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely people and evening entertainment but…..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We booked a 2 night stay here as we were going to Cartmel races.

I don't like to be too negative of the place because the downstairs bar and dining area was lovely, and the owners & staff very warm and friendly, but we were very disappointed with our room (Winster). However, it may be one of the rooms yet to be renovated.

The Good:
It's a dog friendly hotel, so if you're a dog owner you can take your best friend with you.

The owners/staff are very warm and friendly, and they provide great evening entertainment (Evie Plumb - singer/pianist) & relaxed atmosphere.

There is a lovely garden, and the hotel is set in a lovely peaceful location.

Breakfast was good - and the sausages (as per other reviews), were really tasty!

The breakfast/dining area is light and airy, which good decor.

The Bad:
If you're not a dog owner, and allergic to pet hair (like I am), this is not a good place for you.

I think the previous guests must have had a dog with them, and although the room and bathroom looked clean, I found animal hairs behind the door in the bathroom. And, despite taking anti-histamines and nasal spray daily, I was 'extra-itchy' during this weekend.

The room itself (Winster) was also very small, with a low ceiling (although looks bigger on the website), and in need of renovation.

There were cobwebs in every alcove (inc. inside the 'built-in' wardrobe/cupboard) and as the ceiling is very low, this was hard to miss, and wouldn't have been difficult to clean. I counted 4 live spiders (3 in the bedroom and one in the bathroom).

I don't particularly like spiders (something I'm not alone in, hence my mentioning it), but thankfully am not an arachnophobe so didn't have a melt-down!

Also, there was no headboard on the bed - maybe it's just me, but I thought this unusual.

After dropping off the bags, we decided to go outside to enjoy a drink in the sun, but unfortunately all the seats were taken on the patio, and despite there being a huge lawned area, there was no-where else to sit (there was one table on the lawn, but it was occupied).

The evening meal was disappointing too, but perhaps it was the chef's night off (as other reviewers have raved about the food).

Finally, and this is no reflection on the owners of the hotel, but if you want to walk into Cartmel, you are dicing with death! There are no pavements on the road, which is very narrow, and often no grass verge either - the road is very busy and the drivers drive very fast.

I really don't like to be negative, and much prefer to give positive reviews for places I've been, but Trip Advisor is designed for honest reviews and you only get one chance to make a first impression. Sadly, our first impression was not very good, but other rooms in this hotel look lovely, and have obviously been refurbished.

I have seen that the owners respond to all their posts, which is to their credit, and I hope that they can improve on the things I have mentioned.

Room Tip: Don't go for the Winster unless it's been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank City_break_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Responduplands, Owner at Uplands Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Firstly, we would like to say thank you for taking the time to review. We appreciate anyone that takes the time to leave their comments. Hopefully, I can address some of your issues in this response.

1) We are really pleased that you enjoyed the entertainment. We work hard to provide variety for our guests whilst ensuring that the entertainment is not too full on or over the top. I'm sure as a local singer/songwriter, Evie will be pleased with your compliment.

2) Eventhough we are a dog friendly hotel we do take extra care in cleaning the rooms after one has stayed with us. Admittedly, there should not have been any dog hairs left and for that I apologise. However, if it had been mentioned at the time we would have ensured it was taken care of during the servicing of your room whilst you were staying with us.

3) Unfortunately, as the hotel is situated in two acres of gardens in the countryside spiders are frequent visitors to the premises. Furthermore, as it takes only an hour to spin a web, cobwebs and spiders webs can be hard to control. The ones you mentioned in your review will have been taken care of when your room was being serviced.

4) We only took over the hotel 12 months ago and at the time it was in need of many improvements. We had to proritise these carefully. Since we took over the electrics have been improved (we recently passed our fire inspection with flying colours), the kitchen has undergone some work (just this week we have been awarded 5 Stars by Environmental Health for the standard of our kitchen) and as you will have seen from previous reviews, all of the showers have been fixed to provide adequate shower pressure.
We felt that these improvements took priority over the aesthetic improvements of the rooms. However, that is not to say it is not important to us. One of the rooms has undergone a full refurbishment and just last week Winster received some improvements. We have now installed a headboard, new curtains, cushions, pictures and ornaments to make the room more welcoming. Photos of which will be on the website shortly. A full refurbishment of the room will take place at a later date.

5) It was disappointing to read your comments about the food. It was the same Chef that has received all the compliments previously. If this was mentioned on the night then it would have been dealt with immediately but issues with food cannot be remedied after the fact.

6) I'm sorry your first impression of the hotel was not good. We strive to make guests feel welcome such as providing complimentary tea or coffee delivered to their room on arrival. Hopefully if you choose to visit again, then your impression then will be the as positive as the vast many of guests that stay here and choose to return.

I hope this addresses your concerns.

Many thanks,

Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    102
    32
    8
    7
See reviews for
23
261
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Just had a two night stay here and was lovely but really disappointed with our 'upgraded' room. Is was tired, shabby and the bathroom stuck in an 70's time warp. We were a little concerned to out things in drawers as they were dusty and had hairs in. I really struggle to see how this can be an upgraded room and the room we had (Levens) does not match up to what other people have been saying about their rooms! If it hadn't have been for the view, it would not have been a room I would have wanted to stay in. On the positive - great food although breakfast this morning not a patch on Sundays and must have been a different chef as my poached eggs were rock hard and bacon dry and over cooked. Everything else had been delicious. Love the downstairs space with the airy feel and original features plus again fab views. Staff all lovely and the Amazon deal for 3nightx DB&B was very good value.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Responduplands, Owner at Uplands Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
I was disappointed to read your review and discover that you were not entirely happy with your stay.
I will check the drawers in your room as the are cleaned on a regular basis and we are very keen on cleanliness as you will have seen in other reviews
The rooms are due to be refurbished but we have only been here since July and we have had to prioritise work.However in saying that a lot of people as you will have read do like the room.
I can only apologise about your breakfast on Monday and if you had told the waitress we could have got you another breakfast we can only fix what we know about.
Glad you enjoyed the downstairs of the hotel and the food. AT least the weather was very good for you, hope you had a safe journey home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Myself, my partner and my 5 month old puppy have just returned from a great stay at this lovely hotel. The room was very clean, good coffee and tea facilities and the linen smelt gorgeous! Also, our bathroom was huge! So refreshing! We stayed for 2 nights with breakfast and a 2 course meal included. The food was very good, really hot, perfectly cooked steaks and beautiful full English breakfast. The sausages were awesome!
The service was really good overall and nothing was too much trouble. We really did have a lovely time, and our puppy Agnes enjoyed herself too! Will definitely be returning to this little gem.

Thank you for a truly exquisite stay in your lovely hotel. 5*!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Responduplands, Owner at Uplands Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write the lovely review you have left us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
I will make sure that the Chef's see your comments about the food as they do work hard to ensure you enjoy your food.
Customer service is very important to us as we are a small hotel we can get to know people.
We hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

On our second night of a three night stay in this fantastic hotel.Upgraded to to room with a fabulous view and we were delighted with the room.The staff are so friendly and nothing is any bother to them.The food is first class and a wide range of choices on the menu.if we had one complaint it would be that the food portions are too big.Havnt yet managed the sticky toffee pudding.This is a dog friendly hotel and out chocolate lab,Lucy is having a ball in the beautiful grounds.We read all the reviews before we came and don't think we saw one bad one.We will definitely be back .Well done to the owners and staff.You are doing a fantastic job.

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to to room with a better view and if you are worried about bringing your dog,Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Responduplands, Owner at Uplands Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely review
We are so glad you and your dog enjoyed your visit, my dog certainly enjoyed running around with her
The comments you have written regarding staff and the food were a delight to read and we hope to see you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh Gtr Mcr
Level Contributor
272 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We had 2 super nights here(3rd and 4th June) on an Amazon local deal. Fabulous! A lovely, comfortable friendly hotel with excellent staff all round! Our deal was B&B with a 3 course evening meal both nights and the quality of the food was as excellent as the staff! A clean and comfortable room (Duddon) and from the lashings of super hot water and extremely good shower pressure it would appear that the previously mentioned water pressure problems have been successfully resolved.

Drink and wine prices were really comparable with other such hotels (and indeed cheaper than a lot) and it was lovely on our first evening sat outside in the sunshine on the terraces with lovely views over Morcambe Bay with a chilled white wine or two!

All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would wholeheartedly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kanddLeighGtrMcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Responduplands, Owner at Uplands Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write the review we do appreciate it
Glad you found the staff all friendly as we do work hard at customer service.
We have found a solution to the showers although i admit it seemed like an uphill battle trying to find a solution we have ejust 1 room left to solve the problem with
Glad you enjoyed your stay
Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

This was the second time we have stayed here...and the new(ish )owners have made small, subtle improvements in the quality of the hotel, but have retained the good food, value and friendliness of the place. Relaxing in the sun after enjoying some of the local walks is a highlight!!

Room Tip: Room at the top of the stairs.....good views and huge bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NWEnglandNWcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Responduplands, Owner at Uplands Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review
We are glad you liked the improvements and once more enjoyed yourselves here
Sitting on the patio looking at the views after walking is special and you did have some good weather which is always a bonus.
Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed for 3 nights last week on an Amazon deal. The room was comfortable and very clean but the water pressure in the shower was very poor hence only 4 stars. We arrived on the Sunday and had the Carvery which was absolutely delicious. The breakfast was great and really set you up for the day. We ate in the restaurant on the second evening and again the food was excellent (especially the Sticky Toffee Pudding). The staff were all very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Responduplands, Owner at Uplands Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Really pleased you enjoyed your stay and that the food was enjoyable for you
We have been here coming up to 12 months and from what we know tere has been a problem with water pressure for a number of years, we have spent the last few months speaking to different plumbers and trying to fix the problem
We have npow found a plumber who seems to have found the solution and we have fixed the issue in 3 rooms so if you ever visit again it will hopefully all have been resolved and whilst you can get a shower i do appreciate the pressure could have been better in your room
Thanks for the lovely review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartmel
0.9 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampsfell House Hotel
Hampsfell House Hotel
#4 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
8.3 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
1.6 mi away
Netherwood
Netherwood
#5 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uplands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uplands Hotel

Property: Uplands Hotel
Address: Haggs Lane, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6HD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands > Cartmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cartmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Uplands Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just above the village of Cartmel, the Uplands Hotel & Restaurant offers stunning views of the local countryside and the Furness Peninsula. Originally a large residential house, the Hotel benefits from two acres of peaceful gardens which are perfect for walking your dogs, al fresco dining, summer sunbathing or just taking in the views. A large car park covered by CCTV security is also onsite. The hotel is in the ideal location for visiting South Lakeland and the stunning Cumbrian coast. It is also a top choice for those visiting local events such as the Cartmel Races, the Steam Gathering Festival and the many events held by Holker Hall to name but a few. Furthermore, as the hotel is only a short drive from the M6 Motorway guests travel comfortably from a range of locations between Scotland and London. For guests, there is a choice of five comfortable double bedrooms, two of which benefit from the stunning countryside views. All rooms feature a modern en-suite bathroom and Freeview Television as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Free WiFi is also available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Uplands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uplands Hotel Cartmel, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing