We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As wonderful as ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cartmel
Certificate of Excellence
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“As wonderful as ever”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Having stayed here on several previous occasions I knew our break would be wonderful. I can only say that it was even better than I remember. The food was amazing, the room was lovely, the fellow guests charming and the owners Chris and Andrea along with Ben and Antonia were, as always, the nicest, kindest people you could hope to meet. Value for money wise it is great too. The location of the hotel makes it ideal for exploring the lakes, and Cartmel village itself is absolutely charming. We shall return during the year!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keren056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    41
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
162
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cockfosters
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We were staying in the Lakes for four nights and were looking for a high quality restaurant for dinner. We found Aynsome Manor highly recommended on Trip Advisor. I can do no more than add to the hugely positive comments left by others. Chris is a very attentive proprietor and gives you the impression that you are the only diners even though the restaurant was full. He is supported by excellent staff. The ambience of the house is wonderful from the comfortable chairs in the lounge in front of the fire through to the fine restaurant which is beautifully decorated. The food is very good and well presented - I can recommend the pineapple creme brulee. Best of all, the meal and the overall experience represented outstanding value for money. In summary, a real treat and some where to definitely go back to

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hogsod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, England
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

This hotel could teach many large and self styled 'grand' hotels how to treat customers. Always a warm and friendly greeting, beautiful lounges with real fires, comfortable seating and a relaxed atmosphere. We are always made to feel welcome and a member of staff is quickly on hand to bring menus and take a drinks order. The manager is very attentive to guests and this has been passed on to his staff.

The dining room is formal yet comfortable, always spotless and has a lovely view over the gardens. Thankfully (unlike a lot of restaurants) there is no loud music making it difficult to hold a conversation.

The food is plentiful, lots of flavours and hot. We have eaten at Aynsome Manor many times and meals have been consistently good and we think very reasonably priced, having the option of a three or four course set menu.

We have stayed at the hotel on one occasion and the bedroom was in keeping with the house, not particularly modern and perhaps in need of updating but comfortable and very clean. The bathroom was spotless and a good size.

The breakfast was excellent, cooked to order and great quality. Staff were as ever attentive yet unobtrusive.

We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel - Aynsome Manor is always our first choice of local restaurants - and some local restaurants in Cartmel have international fame!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Critchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We spent a 2 day break here in November. The hotel has a comfortable ambiance with exceptional staff and service led by the very able Manager. The hotel is spotless throughout. Some critics said that the decor was dated in style, We could not disagree more having stayed in many boutique hotels throughout Europe, we felt it added to the country home feel making it seem less like a paid for hotel. Drinks were very reasonably priced and the food was good. The bedroom we stayed in was spacious with an excellent bathroom. we will return.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Great ambience in this country house hotel. Friendly welcome and very comfortable bar and lounge. Food superb for dinner and for breakfast - and very reasonable. Our room was in the annexe and was very comfortable, with all the things one could want - including fresh milk for tea. Only one thing missing, and that was a shower. But there was a nice bath.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beanie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Could not fault the friendliness of the staff and other guests. Guests actually talked to each other!!
Comfortable lounge area with lovely fire and easy chairs. Bedroom was very pleasant if a trifle old fashioned. However the bathroom left something to be desired. Small and inadequate plumbing-particularly the shower -needs updating. Food was ok but not outstanding-although the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francophile6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We have been staying regularly at Aynsome Manor for years. The things that draw you back are the welcoming staff and suberb food sourced from local suppliers. Aynsome was sourcing it's food from the loacal area long before food miles became a fashion statement. The staff always make you feel welcome and looked after and if the ambience of a 18th century former vicarage combined with blazing fires in the entrance hall is what you are looking for then you will be one of the many people who return to this place year after year. Its position in the South Lakes offers easy access to many local attractions and Cartmel attracts people to its ancient priory or racecourse. We love the beautiful authentic feel to the Dining Room with the views towards Holker over whitewashed farmhouses and grazing horses sheep and cattle.
The thing that we remenber is the service- it reminds you of a long lost era where polite courteous manners were the norm. Chris and Andrea have now taken over the running of the hotel from mum and dad and are subtly changing small things without losing the sense of high quality and service that is so attractive.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the house have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John499571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartmel
1.2 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
11.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
2.1 mi away
Netherwood
Netherwood
#5 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampsfell House Hotel
Hampsfell House Hotel
#4 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aynsome Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aynsome Manor Hotel

Property: Aynsome Manor Hotel
Address: Aynsome Lane, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands > Cartmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cartmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aynsome Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Family run Manor House situated 0.5 north of historic Cartmel village.Set in open meadowland overlooking 12c Cartmel Priory.Comfortable & relaxing atmosphere,offering the highest standards of service & Country House cuisine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aynsome Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aynsome Manor Hotel Cartmel, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing