We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Special Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cartmel
Certificate of Excellence
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
396 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“A Very Special Place”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This is just such a gorgeous hotel it has fabulous views over Cartmel. When you drive up it looks very impressive and the entrance way is just so English and beautifully decorated. Reception was so welcoming and took us to a gorgeous room. So large with a huge bathroom. It had all the little extras I love, fresh milk, high quality toiletries, beautiful crisp clean bedding so clean. We went for a walk before dinner - the walk was in a helpful folder with printed sheets in the bedroom. The walk was amazing straight out of the front door through the beautiful village of Cartmel and up onto the fellls with incredible views all round. We had delicious local beers in the bar before dinner it was such a gorgeous cosy room. Service was impeccable and so friendly. Small menu which I love and I was not let down every course was beautifully cooked. The wine list was excellent a varied choice and prices to suit all some hotels have poor choice and charge a fortune. We had coffee in a tasteful lounge with a roaring fire. Breakfast was as high quality as every thing else.

Room Tip: Room 12 was gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gill h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    41
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
166
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Just returned from another amazing weekend at Aynsome Manor Hotel for my husband's birthday.
The welcome is warm as are the wonderful log fires, the food is amazing and the choice is good. The hotel is a home from home to us now, we have been visiting for over 10 years, usually once or twice a year for a weekend in the winter. Cartmel village is lovely to wander around and the walks straight form the hotel are varied. The service you receive from Chris, Andrea and their team is fantastic and can't be beaten. The rooms are homely and very comfortable. Would highly recommend for a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewshamL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Just had a lovely weekend with good friends for a birthday celebration. Very comfortable room, great food from a nice menu with enough choice but not too much which I find makes life easier and lovely staff. Beautiful walking from the door. Very good value for money we will return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koz50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

A lovely hotel in a tranquil location but still within walking distance of Cartmel.
The rooms are tastefully furnished and very clean, the bed wasn't too comfortable but I was so relaxed I still slept very well.
The staff are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble.
The food is excellent ...and having some food allergies they were keen to help and serve up a very very tasty meal ...
All round a lovely hotel, can't wait to re visit.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scubydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton-in-Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

I suppose the novelty of having not to pay was different but I did choose this Hotel for my Birthday Treat. We decided to have lunch and as The Westmorland Gazette suggested, we booked a week in advance. A welcome from mine host plus a "hoppy" local bitter for me and my son and a soft lime and lemon for my my good lady wife, toasting our tootsies by the fire was enough to convince me we had "hit the spot!" Mine host and his ladies and gents did what we have all lost...........a sense of "as it should be" . Proper tables, wall paintings, decor from another era, clean glasses, linen, cutlery properly laid, water & wine in cutglass, ....need I go on?
The Lunch was a four course meal costing £17.95.

Starter was a choice.....( We recommend the Rissotto)
Soup ...............................delicious Veg.
Main.........Local Roast Pork/Ham/Pheasant.
Sweet .....Take your choice.

Lots of personal service and as this is a very small intimate hotel ...maximum 24.... I suggest one can't do better in Lakeland.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We wanted somewhere special to eat when visiting Cartmel and Aynsome Manor was recommended. We were not disappointed. From the moment we set foot in the door the staff could not have been nicer. An apperitif was served to us in front of an open fire with a very knowledgable member of staff on hand. We were then shown into a lovely dining room where we were treated to a wonderful selection of food so very well cooked. All the staff were very attentive and couldn't do enough for us. We indeed felt very special. To top it all we were served coffee and petit fours back in the open fire lounge. I felt the meal was very reasonably priced at £23 for a two course. I know you can get "pub grub" cheaper but I haven't been served with such attention in a long, long time. I would hope to get back sometime to actually stay at Aynsome Manor as I can only imagine what wonderful breakfasts they must do.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mazrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

I can honestly say this hotel was the best overall one night stay I have in the UK. We were greated by Chris, one of the owners who carried our bags to our room. The room at the top of the stairs had an amazing view across the countryside to Cartmel Priory. The lounges are stunning with open fires, so relaxing. We were offered dinner, but decided to drive into Cartmel to eat. The menu, though looked excellent and had vegetarian options. Upon return in the late evening we, along with other guests met up in the bar, discussing various issues we enjoyed wine, port and for me personally, 3 excellent single malts from a selection of 19. Chris again was the perfect host. We had a good sleep in the comfy bed and came down to a quality breakfast in a beautiful dining room. Chris and Ben were on hand again to offer first class friendly service. After breakfast Chris even offered to drive me into the village for my car. I chose to walk for the exercise. (15 mins).Thank you Chris, the owners and staff for making our short stay so special. I will recommend your hotel to my family and friends and it won't be too long before we return again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WMark444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartmel
1.2 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
381 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
953 reviews
11.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampsfell House Hotel
Hampsfell House Hotel
#4 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
247 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
441 reviews
2.1 mi away
Netherwood
Netherwood
#5 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aynsome Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aynsome Manor Hotel

Property: Aynsome Manor Hotel
Address: Aynsome Lane, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands > Cartmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cartmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aynsome Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Family run Manor House situated 0.5 north of historic Cartmel village.Set in open meadowland overlooking 12c Cartmel Priory.Comfortable & relaxing atmosphere,offering the highest standards of service & Country House cuisine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aynsome Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aynsome Manor Hotel Cartmel, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing