We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good. a few flaws.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cartmel
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
147 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Very good. a few flaws.”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The reviews and conversations we had when we stayed show how highly rated the hotel is, and we would agree with most of what was said. There were a few things however which stopped us giving it the highest rating.
The food was of a very high standard, and the wine list offered a good choice at very reasonable prices. There were a number of wines around £20 which were excellent value. We booked a two nights package which covered a 5 course dinner, bed, and breakfast. The portions were generous, and the main course came with a dish of vegetables, including two types of potato. This was the case even when the main of sirloin steak came on mashed potato. After the dessert we were too full for the cheese course, and even the petit fours. The food was seasonal and locally sourced but I would recommend just going for two or three courses rather than five.
The breakfast was again excellent with a good buffet and freshly prepared dishes including kippers and smoked haddock with poached egg. It wasn't very busy when we were there and even though we started at 9.15, 30 minutes before breakfast ended, we felt pressured to finish at 9.45. We didn't mind the buffet being taken away, but the starting to clear our table felt like a clear message to leave.
We stayed in room 4 which had a bath rather than a shower, as I was asked which I would prefer when I booked. My wife prefers a bath but I missed having a shower. The bathroom was down three steps, and like the room could have done with a freshen up. It looked out over the courtyard at the back so there was no sense of the attractive location. The T.V. was so small it didn't seem worth having and we used our iPads.
Overall I can see why people like it so much but there were too many niggles for me to join in the rave reviews, and I was slightly disappointed with our stay.

Room Tip: Room 4 has some drawbacks which I describe in the review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank petefLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    41
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
166
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Colchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Although I stayed for one night on business I feel compelled to share how great the hotel was.
As soon as I arrived the service was fanstastic, the owner and staff couldn't do enough to make my stay as comfortable as possible.
Dinner was arranged in the dinning room at short notice, the silver service was impeccable and the food amazing.
The only down side was having to leave the next morning.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Having stayed at this lovely hotel, and eaten in their wonderful restaurant a number of times, I feel I should leave my compliments. The location is so relaxing and peaceful, Chris with Andrea and their staff, are truely very welcoming, and no little request is too much for them to deal with. The standard of service is superb, and to go with this are the fabulous meals prepared and presented beautifully to tantalise your pallet. The dishes offered are varied throughout the seasons, so there is always something to please, along with an extensive and varied wine cellar to compliment whatever your choice should be. I will be in the area again during this year and will certainly be returning to this gorgeous location, to enjoy the very special experience the Aynsome Manor Hotel and it's wonderful staff has to offer everyone. Very Highly Recommended

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny00777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Just an overnight whilst celebrating our son's 21st but made to feel extremely welcome.
Hotel has real charm and character in a beautiful setting.
Dinner in evening was very memorable with superb service and good menu. Staff attentive and very considerate. A million miles from Hilton/Marriott fare.....Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Minimcmahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I have visited on a number of occasions previously, and have to say that there is something so very special about Aynsome that makes us return at least once a year! It isn't just us either, many of the other guests were returning visitors too. Hosts chris and Andrea undoubtedly are the magic ingredient with their caring, lovely personalities, although the whole package is lovely - food is great, rooms lovely etc etc. I really cannot add more than the other glowing reviews say. I would totally recommend anyone to stay here, and I guarantee you will return time after time?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keren056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My husband and I booked Aynsome Manor at the last minute on last Thursday evening for a week-end away starting on Friday. It was not the sort of hotel we normal stay in as we usually go for modern boutique type of hotels. What a pleasant change this was - roaring fires, old fashioned surroundings and a very warm welcome. The food was excellent and we ate in the hotel both Friday and Saturday night. Nothing was too much trouble for our host and owner Chris who kept us entertained with stories from his past and present times in the hospitality business. The village of Cartmel is lovely with lots of very nice indepentant shops where everyone makes you feel very welcome. We also had a very enjoyable trip on the boat from Lakeside to Boness on the Saturday as we were very lucky with the weather. All in all a very enjoyable week-end. In fact we tried to book for my husbands birthday which isn't until December but the hotel are fully booked so will have to try another time as we definately want to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank L0cket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

A great mid-week break in early February. The Aynsome Manor retains its deserved reputation for excellent service and cuisine. From arrival to departure we received wonderful attention from all the staff. The hotel continues to invest in a regular programme of refurbishment and upgrading the property which we have noted from previous visits. Would unhesitatingly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a break in the Lakes.

Room Tip: Try Room 12 - it is a little bigger and has a brand new bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rhodri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartmel
1.2 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
382 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
956 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampsfell House Hotel
Hampsfell House Hotel
#4 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.0 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
441 reviews
2.1 mi away
Netherwood
Netherwood
#5 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aynsome Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aynsome Manor Hotel

Property: Aynsome Manor Hotel
Address: Aynsome Lane, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands > Cartmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cartmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aynsome Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Family run Manor House situated 0.5 north of historic Cartmel village.Set in open meadowland overlooking 12c Cartmel Priory.Comfortable & relaxing atmosphere,offering the highest standards of service & Country House cuisine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aynsome Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aynsome Manor Hotel Cartmel, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing