We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Priory Hotel Cartmel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampsfell House Hotel(Grange-over-Sands)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clare House(Grange-over-Sands)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elton Guest House(Grange-over-Sands)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grange Hotel(Grange-over-Sands)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Netherwood(Grange-over-Sands)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abbot Hall Hotel(Grange-over-Sands)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cumbria Grand Hotel(Grange-over-Sands)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveller rating
124
51
19
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
124
51
19
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hoteltop floorbar areaevening meallocal beerfull englishlovely roomcomfortable staywarm welcomelarge bathroombirthday treatexcellent breakfastcouple of nightsexcellent staystayed for two nightspieshort break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
164 - 169 of 204 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel perfectly situated in the centre of Cartmel. A very warm welcome, lovely room (Room 1) and good breakfast.

The bar was perfect for pre dinner drinks, though could be a little noisy at the end of the night.

Overall, I totally recommend this character hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmarchbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

I spent a couple of nights here and could not fault the service, the rooms and was made to feel very welcome by all the staff.

The rooms are lovely. Comfortable beds and pillows and the bathrooms are all of a great standard.

The location is just perfect.

If you enjoy good food, this place is surrounded by fabulous restaurants. We only had breakfast in the hotel which was good.

If you love walking and cycling, it's superb.

Will definitely book again

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

When last in Cartmel we stayed and ate a L'Enclume - we loved the food at L'Enclume but didn't like the accommodation. This time we are eating at Rogans and trying the Priory Hotel having seen good reviews on the Tripadvisor site..

The hotel is right in the Middle of Cartmel.
On entering we were quite surprised to find we were in a pub!
We were greeted warmly and shown to our room. This was reached by a flight of stairs with narrow treads, thickly carpeted and without a decent handrail - not at all easy to navigate especially with luggage.
The room was pretty dismal. No phone, no view, no mobile signal - on opening the rear window we found it looked out on a woodworking/storage area and the smoking area for kitchen staff. Furnishings were pretty cheerless but the bed felt OK. We had a reasonable night's sleep but the Priory clock chimed the hours all night.
Trying to fill the kettle from one of those designer taps proved to be quite a challenge.
When we went down for breakfast the whole bar and dining area smelled strongly of floor cleaner. Breakfast was OK.without being at all memorable.

We thought the hotel represented very poor value for money - in fact, had it been only £50 a night we would still have been disappointed. At over £100 it's a rip-off!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ernestwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Friendly owners and staff, good food and lovely rooms....will be back again! Went to L'Enclume as usual, but prefer staying here than L'Enclume, one night eating in L'Env=clume, one night exploring the delights of real ale in Cartmel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We also stayed here for one night as L'enclume were fully booked. The room itself was clean and comfortable with a good modern bathroom. Great shower and loads of hot water! The staff that looked after us were very friendly and attentive.

On the whole I would definitely recommend staying here. My only gripe (other than the very cold bathroom) was the 10am check out. I find it hard to understand why such a small hotel needs rooms vacated so early.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicolle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Priory H, Co-owner at Priory Hotel Cartmel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Thank you for you review. Apologies for both finding the bathroom cold and being misinformed that the check out was 10.00am. As a rule we check the rooms for warmth prior to guests arriving to check in, on this occasion we appear to have overlooked checking the en suite. As stated in our Terms and Conditions, we kindly ask guests to vacate their room by 10.30 (unless a later departure is stated as part of your booking). Late check out after this time can be requested subject to availability.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you all for your reviews and assure you that all feedback is duly noted. Happy summer to you all ! :)

Kind regards,

Stephen Broadhurst

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews