We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great find! Fantastic experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Priory Hotel Cartmel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Priory Hotel Cartmel
Ranked #5 of 14 Cartmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“What a great find! Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel a few days ago for our first visit to Cartmel. From booking, right through to checking out it was seamless. The owners are such lovely people, the hotel is immaculate, very tastefully decorated, comfy bed and the breakfast was fab. We actually got engaged the afternoon we were there so it will have an extra special significance for us in the future!

Would highly recommend, great location overlooking the square, nice cosy bar/lounge and lots of friendly locals as well as guests. We didn't have dinner there as we had booked elsewhere prior to arriving, but the food we saw coming out looked great!

Well done The Priory.

Stephen & Georgina x

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorginaScott84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Priory H, Owner at Priory Hotel Cartmel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thanks for the fantastic comments and we're happy you both had a great time.
Congratulations on your engagement.

Good luck for the future from all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    41
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
14
114
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
County Durham, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night. We're eating at L'Enclume but could not get a room there so stayed here on L'Enclume's recommendation. Only about half a dozen rooms in all, but ours was lovely and obviously had only recently been returned. Bed comfy, bathroom massive and breakfast excellent. Would have eaten dinner here too if we were not already committed as menu looked nice. Some parking.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Prior. Our room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. All the staff were exceptionally friendly and very helpful. We could not fault the breakfast both in quality and quantity.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lespearsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Priory H, Owner at Priory Hotel Cartmel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with the Priory Hotel, and would like to thank you for your lovely review.

from all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

We stopped for an evening meal at the Priory Hotel in Cartmel on the recommendation of locals. Excellent menu - excellent cooking - will certainly visit the Hotel again. Go in and take a look. The decor in the Restuarant and bar is a treat too

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kingfisherpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lapta
Level Contributor
161 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Our visit to Cartmel was a present from our two adult sons for my Birthday. It centred on dinner at L'Enclume, a five hour car journey from our home, which remained a secret until we stepped into the restaurant with our sons and their partners. We arrived at the Priory Hotel at 2:00pm and were made to feel both welcome and 'at home' from the outset. This small and intimate hotel provides for a wonderful relaxed atmosphere in the most central position of the village, just a stones throw from every aspect of the village! We had three superb double bedrooms, which included an extra special king size room with separate bath and shower for my husband and I. All three rooms were tastefully decorated and equipped, with the most comfortable beds and linen. The Bath and Shower rooms were also beautifully fitted.

Before taking a brief rest late afternoon, essential ahead of a very late night at L'Enclume, we sat outside the hotel in the sun, enjoying excellent scones and clotted cream and watching a touring company of Morris Dancers.

Breakfast was plentiful, with a wide choice to suit all diets, and cooked to perfection. Also plentiful was the excellent smoked salmon!

This small hotel was a perfect fit for our adult family celebration and we found all of the staff to be helpful, accommodating and friendly.

I have now looked at some of the other reviews and note comments on noise late at night. It was pitch black and silent when we left L'Enclume after one in the morning but, if you don't want to be in the centre of a village where there might be night life in the pubs or in an hotel bar then look for a hotel in an isolated area as the centre of any thriving or tourist village in the Summer months might not be for you in the first place!

We would certainly stay at the Priory Hotel in Cartmel again, when in or anywhere near the area!

Room Tip: If you really want to spoil yourself, ask for the king size room with separate bath and shower. How...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We had three nights here combining a trip to the races and dinner at L'Enclume and The Priory is perfectly placed for both. Julie and her staff could not have been more helpful, even when an electrical storm caused a power cut ! We will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mackemsocawarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham by Sea
Level Contributor
234 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

My wife and I enjoyed staying here very much. It is located in the heart of Cartmel Square, which is lovely. The hotel is spotless and the staff excellent. I liked the oldey wordly charm of the public rooms too. I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again.
So why only 3 stars?
Unfortuanetly it’s a victim of it’s charming location and building. Being in the middle of the square is lovely, but with 2 pubs within spitting distance it can get noisy late on. Also, the bathroom was poorly designed and very small. For example there was no shelf in the bathroom so we had to put our toiletries in the bedroom. No huge problem and the bathroom was very small but shelf space needs to be found. But in old buildings there is of course a limit to space, so don’t come here if this might be an issue (or ensure you chose the best room with a proper bathroom!).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teamtango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartmel
0.6 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampsfell House Hotel
Hampsfell House Hotel
#4 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
2.2 mi away
Netherwood
Netherwood
#5 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Priory Hotel Cartmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priory Hotel Cartmel

Property: Priory Hotel Cartmel
Address: The Square, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands > Cartmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Cartmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Priory Hotel Cartmel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Priory Hotel Cartmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Cartmel Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing