We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Priory Hotel Cartmel
Ranked #6 of 15 Cartmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed at this little gem and the food was brilliant, the rooms fabulous, the location lovely the managment and staff could not do enough for us. We would definitely return soon. Top marks Gary & Julie. Thanks again Joe & Shell xxx

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joe_the_monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

Lovely hotel - stayed in the room at the top of the house - very clean -nice furnishing and a massive bathroom.

Drank in the bar and was made to feel very welcome - even made a friend "billy"

Breakfast was very good -

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GA94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

For those who have read the other reviews which involved a pet, I hope you are as aghast as we are! We are not people who want to brag about their little pets gastronomic extravaganzas but if you are eating at L'Enclume but they will not accommodate a canine, why take them and expect someone else to??? The Priory at Cartmel is absolutely lovely and we couldn't fault it! The hotel has been very sympathetically restored by to it's former glory with many original features! Sorry for the lack of diatribe into how big/small our room was, what we could or couldn't do in the bathroom - the bedrooms are beautiful and our bathroom was a really good size. Very reasonable prices, great breakfast and we hope to see Julie and co again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayne8914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed here while dining at L'Enclume and his other restaurant ! Not everyone can get into
the old smithy. The Priory is very well situated in the market square, with parking easy to find.
Rooms seem to be large and well managed, but Room One has no window !!! The door to the bathroom has to be left open if natural ventilation is required. Is this legal ? Otherwise the room and bathroom are both excellent. Breakfast was just the job after the twenty courses the previous evening. Friendly and clean, but oh, that lack of windows !

Room Tip: Ask to avoid Number One.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MartinDNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This hotel is the dogs doodahs.Julie.Gary and the staff will make you feel special for the duration of your stay.My wife and I have just returned from an anniversary weekend break, and we both agree, it's one of the best accomadations we have ever had the pleasure to visit.The rooms and restaurant are five star quality and the bar sells nectar, locally brewed real ale.
Go on.........treat yourselves.....you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ste B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stopped here looking for a vegetarian food option and was not disappointed the warm welcome was second to none and the food was the best we have ever had. The whole experience has left us wanting to return

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 974annon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel a few days ago for our first visit to Cartmel. From booking, right through to checking out it was seamless. The owners are such lovely people, the hotel is immaculate, very tastefully decorated, comfy bed and the breakfast was fab. We actually got engaged the afternoon we were there so it will have an extra special significance for us in the future!

Would highly recommend, great location overlooking the square, nice cosy bar/lounge and lots of friendly locals as well as guests. We didn't have dinner there as we had booked elsewhere prior to arriving, but the food we saw coming out looked great!

Well done The Priory.

Stephen & Georgina x

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorginaScott84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Priory H, Owner at Priory Hotel Cartmel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thanks for the fantastic comments and we're happy you both had a great time.
Congratulations on your engagement.

Good luck for the future from all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartmel
0.7 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
280 reviews
0.8 mi away
Uplands Garden Restaurant & Hotel
2.4 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Netherwood
Netherwood
#7 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
505 reviews
5.4 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,356 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cavendish Arms
Cavendish Arms
#2 of 15 in Cartmel
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Priory Hotel Cartmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priory Hotel Cartmel

Address: The Square, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands > Cartmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Cartmel
Price Range: £92 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Priory Hotel Cartmel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Priory Hotel Cartmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Cartmel Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing