We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely haven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Priory Hotel Cartmel
Ranked #5 of 14 Cartmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely haven”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Wonderful welcome and great place to relax. The staff are very helpful and Julie an absolute treasure, Thank you for all your help.
The perfect place to base yourself whilst exploring what this area has to offer.
Lovely local shops to tempt you.
Relaxing and quiet efficiency makes for a very comfortable stay. Will obviously come back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    41
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
15
116
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Thank you to Gary, Julie, Stephen & staff for a fantastic New Years Eve. The seven course meal was really excellent and the service second to none. The firework display at midnight enhanced the atmosphere for all the crowd which had collected on the square to see in the new year. Definitely booking for next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

excellent stay as usual....nothing is too much bother, Really friendly owners. Breakfast superb, room lovely. Great central location in the middle of this fabulous village which is packed with great pubs, fabulous eateries and quaint retail therapy outlets.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed at this little gem and the food was brilliant, the rooms fabulous, the location lovely the managment and staff could not do enough for us. We would definitely return soon. Top marks Gary & Julie. Thanks again Joe & Shell xxx

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe_the_monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Lovely hotel - stayed in the room at the top of the house - very clean -nice furnishing and a massive bathroom.

Drank in the bar and was made to feel very welcome - even made a friend "billy"

Breakfast was very good -

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GA94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

For those who have read the other reviews which involved a pet, I hope you are as aghast as we are! We are not people who want to brag about their little pets gastronomic extravaganzas but if you are eating at L'Enclume but they will not accommodate a canine, why take them and expect someone else to??? The Priory at Cartmel is absolutely lovely and we couldn't fault it! The hotel has been very sympathetically restored by to it's former glory with many original features! Sorry for the lack of diatribe into how big/small our room was, what we could or couldn't do in the bathroom - the bedrooms are beautiful and our bathroom was a really good size. Very reasonable prices, great breakfast and we hope to see Julie and co again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayne8914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
135 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed here while dining at L'Enclume and his other restaurant ! Not everyone can get into
the old smithy. The Priory is very well situated in the market square, with parking easy to find.
Rooms seem to be large and well managed, but Room One has no window !!! The door to the bathroom has to be left open if natural ventilation is required. Is this legal ? Otherwise the room and bathroom are both excellent. Breakfast was just the job after the twenty courses the previous evening. Friendly and clean, but oh, that lack of windows !

Room Tip: Ask to avoid Number One.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartinDNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartmel
0.9 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
2.2 mi away
Netherwood
Netherwood
#5 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
2.2 mi away
Abbot Hall Hotel
Abbot Hall Hotel
#10 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Priory Hotel Cartmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priory Hotel Cartmel

Property: Priory Hotel Cartmel
Address: The Square, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands > Cartmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Cartmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Priory Hotel Cartmel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Priory Hotel Cartmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Cartmel Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing