We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing, chic and reasonable”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jammy Patch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cartmel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jammy Patch
Ranked #8 of 14 Cartmel B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Relaxing, chic and reasonable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

December might not be the obvious time for a sojourn in Cumbria but these beautiful stables are a real cosy treat. Surrounded by beautiful countryside that you can either walk or just gawp at, this is a real find of a place. It is warm, comfortable and beautifully furnished. Every aspect is very well thought out. The owners are friendly and welcoming. The owner Ali makes a mean breakfast, helped by a supply if freshly lain eggs from her free range chickens. Home made jam is also a treat. Cartmel is a short 15 min walk. Perfect for l'enclume, the races or a slice of sticky toffee pudding from the place that created it.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed at jammy patch camping over the bank holiday weekend with family and friends.
None of us wanted to leave!! From the hospitality to the play area,from the views to the shortbread biscuits,everything (even the weather!) was perfect.
Only a dozen tents at the most,with bbq's going and a big fire pit at night to sit down,socialise (drink),it was the best camping experience we have had.
Ideal obviously for cartmel (20 mins walk), but would be a great base for anywhere in the lakes.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the fresh tea and coffee in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adf1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
150 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

My husband and I had booked at L'Enclume and had tickets to Cartmel races for our "mini-moon" so we needed a romantic retreat that was close enough to walk into the village but far enough from the madness - enter....the Jammy Patch!

Ali and James have opened up their incredible home to provide camping, B&B and a self-contained converted stable block, in which we stayed. The stable is cosy, romantic and well-equipped with lovely thoughtful touches like a stocked fridge and a real fire lit before you arrive. The bed "deck" is accessed by a fairly steep ladder and there's no toilet or shower but what you DO get is thoroughly explained on their website. My only niggle is that although we knew the bathroom facilities were separate, we didn't realise they were shared with all the people staying on the campsite. I suppose this may have been self-explanatory but I honestly got the impression from the description that they were private, just not part of the accommodation. It wasn't ideal but all worked out in the end - I just wanted to make the point in case anyone else thought the same as I did. We also would have loved wi-fi access but maybe that's just us!

The whole setting is idyllic and Ali & James are such friendly and welcoming hosts. We had a fantastic weekend and will be recommending to friends!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mariannelynton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali H, Manager at Jammy Patch, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for your review, I am glad you had a lovely visit.

I am sorry that it was not clear on the website that campers share the shower and toilet facilities with the Stable guests. I will correct this, as it is important to know in advance. Your visit was the August Bank holiday weekend, with the big end-of-season Cartmel race meeting happening in the village, and consequently it is by far the busiest weekend of the year in Cartmel, and not a usual scenario.

We only run the campsite for 28 days per year, so for 338 days of the year these facilities are for the exclusive and private use of Stable guests only. Our prices for the Stables during peak season reflect that the facilities are shared and not private; they would become much more expensive and in line with the majority of Cartmel accommodation if the facilities were en-suite.

I keep the facilities spotless by cleaning them twice a day when busier. We also have a great composting toilet which I encourage the campers to use.

Following your comments, I will make the situation really clear for 2014. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed in the stable conversion, which has been beautifully converted with great attention to detail. Very cosy slate floored downstairs, with wooden stairs up to the wooden floored mezzanine floor upstairs with its trap door to shut it off - and the Tempur mattress bed makes for a fantastic sleep! The building and main house is set in lovely gardens, including vegetable garden, wild flowers and an area with a fire pit complete with logs to sit on around the fire. James and Ali are ace hosts, with good local knowledge for walks(And wild swims!).

All in all a beautiful place, within walking distance to Cartmel, and close enough to Windermere and the fells for a close by quality walking.

Can't wait to get back up there.

Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephenwilliamevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Beautiful house, location & family!

We stayed in Beckside Stable for a few days on our honeymoon. It was the most perfect place to go, wind down & spend some time together after the wedding.
The provisions are better than at home! There was cereals, milk, yoghurt, fruit, butter, choccie biccies & a few slices of cake too!! :) Ali’s cooked breakfast is AMAZING!! Starve yourself the night before thou as it’s huge!

It’s an easy 5-10 min stroll into Cartmel where there’s a good selection of pubs & shops. Windermere, Ambleside etc are all very accessible for here too.

We’re trying to organise a return visit but next time I might not leave!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

Beautiful place for camping if you like quite, tranquil locations. When we went we were the only people camping and it's one of the few places that you can have real log fire (logs provided), throw in some hot sunny weather as well and it's perfect! We ordered breakfast in the morning and had a lovely bacon roll and egg roll, with a cup of tea as well, all was delicious. The eggs are from their own hens, so as fresh as you can get. Loo and shower were immaculate.

Ali was very helpful and looked after us well.

They're not on Google maps, so the location is hard to find online if you're planning a route. Go out of Cartmel past the Racecourse. and it's a mile out of Cartmel on Croftside Road.

Only downside for us was that we couldn't get some water to top our bottles on the day that we left, we did lounge around a bit and should have got some at breakfast time. A drinking water tap would be useful for when the owners are not around.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corrin9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali H, Manager at Jammy Patch, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for your review, we are very glad you had a great time camping at the Jammy Patch. I should point out to any future Jammy Campers that we do not give out free wood - we simply had some old bits of wood that week, that we were very happy to give away. We always advise that campers bring fire wood if they would like to use the fire pits.

Also, we do in fact have 3 outside taps available 24-7 to Jammy campers; 2 are filtered drinking water, 1 needs to be boiled. There are also taps in both the toilet and shower, which are always available for campers. I have now put up very clear signs to highlight their locations, so that they are not missed again. I am sorry you didn't see them on your visit, and thank you for pointing this out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We were meeting the family for a Cartmel Races Day, May Bank Holiday and needed somewhere nearby - this suited perfectly and our weekend was made by our stay here. I agree with everything from previous feedback although we did not eat here at night. We chose to have breakfast provided for us in the 'stables' we stayed in. A great selection was provided for us and Ali brought us fresh toast over. There was also plenty of room on the adjoining field for campers - which we may do next time - the shared shower and loo (with the campers) was immaculate as was our accommodation. Felt like we'd had a proper break.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandypandyxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartmel
1.2 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.6 mi away
Abbot Hall Hotel
Abbot Hall Hotel
#10 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Priory Hotel Cartmel
Priory Hotel Cartmel
#5 of 14 in Cartmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Blue House Bed and Breakfast
1.7 mi away
Cavendish Arms
Cavendish Arms
#2 of 14 in Cartmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jammy Patch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jammy Patch

Property: Jammy Patch
Address: Beckside, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands > Cartmel
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Cartmel
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jammy Patch offers camping, and self catering accommodation in the romantic and beautiful Cartmel Valley, 1 mile from L'Enclume, Cartmel racecourse and Cartmel village. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jammy Patch Cartmel, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing