We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Jewel in a crown”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of house Glendene and the roses
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Front of house
Glendene and the roses
Large log burning fire
Large country range cooker
the private garden
the private garden
Nearby Yew Tree Barn Cafe with a beautiful view over the fields
The beautiful fells for walking nearby
'Harry's Cafe' at the lovely Yew Tree Barn
Lovely modern bathroom with great views
The wonderful Crown pub, just a 2 minute walk away, with great food and live jazz music at weekends
Views from the village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alison S
1 review
“Jewel in a crown”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed at Glendene for a long weekend to celebrate a birthday. What a gorgeous property this is. It was clean, warm, beautifully equipped , beds really comfortable and it was like going from home to home . It really made our stay in Cumbria a joy. We had amazing weather and would recommend visiting Cartmel and eating in Rogan & Co or L'Enclume for a treat although yu would have to book in advance.
Highly recommend this property situated in a quiet Hamlet with a very good pub The Crown. Quite central to get to the beautiful lakes surrounding it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Fabulous Short Break”
Reviewed 22 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This cottage was exactly as described,the directions to it were spot on( and we arrived in torrential rain)Every creature comfort was available, the kitchen was well equipped, and the house was clean and comfortable.The area was quiet and we had a lovely time wandering through the village. We ate at the nearby Crown, where the staff were extremely friendly and at the Architectural Salvage Yard restaurant (sorry I've forgotten the name! )a short walk from the cottage,where the food was delicious.Both venues came recommended from the owner of Glendene,thanks Tanya.We had a wonderful time and would recommend this cottage and area in general to anyone thinking of visiting the Lake District.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen was very well equipped.
Liked least: Only one loo roll per bathroom. Picky I know...
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2016
Many thanks Orla, So glad to hear you had a great time at the cottage and sounds like you made the most of the village!

Sorry though about the rain! but glad it didn't spoil the trip….

Thanks again for taking the time to send a review. Best wishes, Tanya
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambleside...
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Glendene's got it all!”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The whole experience has been delightful from booking to visiting. The owner was very helpful and informative before our stay and the instructions we received in anticipation of our visit were straightforward and easy to follow.

The setting is idyllic and the cottage more than lived up to our expectations. The pictures on the website give a very accurate representation of what the cottage is actually like. The decor is very tasteful and in-keeping with the property. The cleanliness of the cottage is of a very good standard too. It had a very comfortable atmosphere and the quality of the furnishings and linens was noticeable. If you have a young family then you could not be better catered for. Our children are 16 and 19 but we were impressed by the extras provided for those with small children, such as travel cots, stair gates and a wide array of games and toys.

If you are eating out the local pub does a very nice meal with good service. It is only twenty minutes to Ambleside and Windermere. Cartmel, where we went for the horse-racing, is less than £20 each way in a taxi and the firm we used 'Economical Taxis' would be highly recommended by us.

If you are thinking of booking be assured you will have a great time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting and small touches which made our stay extra special.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Thank you so much Jacqui for taking the time to write this lovely review! Im so pleased and happy you and the family had a lovely time. Glad you enjoyed dinner at the pub and thank you so much for the tips for the taxis for other guests! Hope you ll come again. Best wishes, Tanya
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hansimmo
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect spot”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a lovely week at Glendene cottage with our 18 month old son and his Grandma. The location is simply perfect, close to Lakes but a peaceful retreat at the end of the day. We were also able to have family over for dinner for my Mum's birthday as the kitchen table is a great size. We shall certainly be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for writing this and Im so pleased to hear you had a lovely week with your family at Glenende

All the best
Tanya
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for this lovely review. Im so glad you had a good trip and enjoyed Glendene and the lovely Lakes… do come again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ryan_No_1
England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A perfect cottage for exploring the South Lakes”
Reviewed 27 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

A nice and cosy but spacious cottage in a great location!
The kitchen is very well equipped and has a nice large kitchen table to sit and chat around.
All the bedrooms are of a good size.
The lounge is very large with a working log burner too.
Both the bathroom and downstairs WC are modern.
If you are taking young children then don't pack their toys. Travel light as there are plenty about in the cottage.
It has good WiFi too should you need it.

All in all a great place to stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amey R
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage !”
Reviewed 28 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful cottage, extremely spacious but very cosy! Especially with the wood burner on! Brilliant facilities provided and very clean ! 2 parking spaces outside the front of cottage. Very quiet road, house is lovely and quiet inside. Nice bed linen provided but duvets a little thin for our personal preference. Dog friendly and our spaniel enjoyed exploring the enclosed garden. Overall a fantastic stay for a week away with family! Thank you Tanya for letting us stay in your beautiful cottage!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2015
Many thanks Amey! so glad you had a good time and enjoyed the cottage (and good tip on the duvets, Ill see what can be done for when you hopefully visit again!) Thanks Tanya
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing