We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bridgelands Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bridgelands Cottage
The Sitting Room looking into the private garden The Large Kichen Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Bridgelands Cottage
The Sitting Room looking into the private garden
The Large Kichen Dining Room
The Kichen
The Roaring Log Fire
The King Size Bedroom
The King Size Luxury Leather Sleigh Bed
The Twin Bedroom
The Single Bedroom
The Single Bedroom
Cartmel Village
Cartmel Village
Nearby Morecambe Bay
Elterwater & The Langdale Pikes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andy W
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay”
Reviewed 1 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Stayed for 4 nights in late September 2015. Cottage was easy to find up a little cobbled lane and was exactly as described. Slight hiccup at the start with one of the beds not being made up but this was corrected very quickly and didnt in any way affect the rest of our stay. The cottage has everythnig you need in it - be sure to check out the novel way of starting the coal fire :)

The village of Cark is small but has two pubs (although one was shut for part of the time we were there due to a change of Landlord), a shop and an Artisan bakery (which was very nice!) and the surrounding area is stunning with lots of lovely villages and walks (Cartmel being a particular highlight).

One thing to note is that the double bedroom at the top of the property is open - i.e. although its on the top floor theres no door to seperate it from the rest of the cottage - didnt bother us but just thought id point it out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizomalle...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic cottage and great location”
Reviewed 22 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in this lovely cottage in Cark of Cartmel. Really handy for the lakes and other attractions. Very homely and felt great living there.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2015
Thank you Liz. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the cottage and area.
We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janz01
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Just perfect ”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Had a lovely weekend at this beautiful cottage in April. It's in a perfect location, in a quiet courtyard just off the main road. There are 3 lovely bedrooms which are all nicely decorated & spacious for what we needed. Everything that we wanted was here & the owners have obviously put lots of care & thought in to all the amenities. It was spotlessly clean and the beds were really comfortable. We have absolutely loved it and would stay here again in a heartbeat. We're already looking at dates for later on in the year. Can't wait to come back. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2015
Hi Janine.

Thank you for your lovely review. Thank you too for tweeting about our cottage on your short journey home.

It’s great to hear how much you enjoyed your weekend and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilda A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bridgelands cottage provided all that we expected and more.”
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and stayed here for 4 nights. We needed a base for touring and exploring parts of the lake district we hadn't been to before. The information we received from the owner was very comprehensive. The cottage is in a quiet location in the village, was warm and cosy and equipped with everything we could possibly have required for an enjoyable stay. It was lovely to sit by the open log fire in the evenings. There is a convenience store, which we used regularly, a short walk from the cottage door.
We caught a train from the local station to Lancaster for one of our days out. On a longer stay we would have chosen to make train journeys to other villages and towns in the South Lakes.
The only disappointment was the fact that the bedroom with the king sized bed is on the third floor in a space which has restricted headroom in parts, because of the shape of the roof.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location within the village, homely feel, and attention to detail by the owner.
Liked least: Restricted headroom in third floor bedroom.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2015
Thank you Tilda and Tom for taking tome to share your thought about our cottage.
We were delighted to read your glowing comments in our guest book but a little sad to read your comments about the main bedroom and for us to not receive a 5/5 rating that most other guests give us.
Bridgelands Cottage is a 160 year old cottage and like most old cottages it does have some low beams.
However, we take on-board your comments and my wife has just come back from Cartmel village with 2 ‘Please Mind your Head’ signs that we will hang on the 2 beams each side of the bedroom.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janets196...
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage and location.”
Reviewed 9 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed he for four nights at the beginning of January, after hours of searching the internet we chose this cottage because of its location and how good it looked and we were not dissapointed.
The cottage is in a small courtyard with similar properties making it feel extremely safe and secluded yet only a minutes walk to the first local pub in the area And village shop.
The log fire in winter is just lovely to sit and curl up in front of and the whole cottage is well eqipped for everything we needed.
The whole cottage has such a homely feel and was immaculate in every room.
Cartmel is a two minute drive away and boasts some absolutely stunning pubs, we dined at the rose and crown and this was our favourite of our stay, friendly staff and great food, we also dined at the engine room but this is no where near as good so I would advise the rose and crown if dining. The pig and whistle also very good and the kings arms. We travelled to Windermere and Kendal, both only 30 minutes away but in all honestly we preferred just staying in cartmel and the cottage as it was that lovely.
The management were also great in all correspondence with them.
The only thing I would recommend if you go is to take a torch as the lane to the cottage is pitch black, but there is a light as you enter the actual cottage.
Fabulous stay can't recommend enough. If you have any hesitations about this cottage don't! It's fabulous.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2015
Thank you Roxanne for taking time to write such a great review. I’m really pleased you enjoyed your stay at Bridgelands Cottage and the Cartmel area so much.

Just to clarify to readers, the Rose & Crown and the Engine are the 2 pubs located within 2 minutes’ walk of the cottage.
The Pig & Whistle and the Kings Arms are 2 of the excellent pubs in Cartmel.

We’re so fortunate to have so many good pubs so close to the cottage and many of our guests eat out in a different pub or restaurant every night.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma W
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lack of Logs”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

It was a lovely cottage in a beautiful area however was disappointed upon arrival late Friday night to the cottage as no logs or coal were left to have the two roaring fires stated as free in the cottage manual and website. In turn this left us having to spend £20 at the local shop the next day, meaning for half our stay we couldn't enjoy the fire which was the main reason we booked the cottage. Also I feel the 10am checking out time is a little early if like us you are arriving Friday night after work, as a suggestion for future guests maybe it could put later to 12 to improve customer satisfaction. The kitchen and bathroom appliances were good.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2015
Dear Guest,

We’ve never offered or advertised free logs and coal. Logs and coal are pre-bookable on our web site, on The Holiday Lettings web site and on the Trip Advisor web site at £6 per basket.

When we send the final confirmation email to guests who book via The Holiday Lettings web site and on the Trip Advisor web site we ask guests that have not ordered logs if they want to do so and offer to deduct the £6 off the damage deposit.

We asked you this same question but you didn’t not respond.

We offer gorgeous cottages that guests love. We get dozens of guests stay with us on a regular basis and we offer a great service to our guests. We have never had a complaint of this nature.

I advertise 2 cottages on Holiday Lettings/Trip Advisor and have 16 five star reviews and 3 four star reviews.
Most guests that stay in self-catering properties are aware that 10am is the normal departure time. We’d love to offer guests a 12 o clock departure time but then the cottage wouldn’t be clean and ready for the next guests.
When we sent you the directions and key details we also advised clearly on the email that the departure time was 10am.

We are extremely unhappy that someone has left this malicious review and have asked Holiday Lettings/Trip Advisor to remove it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica P
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home from home. Really beautiful cottage in beautiful area, would highly recommend.”
Reviewed 25 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I have just arrived home from an amazing stay at bridgeland cottage, I had done no research into the area and just booked this cottage as a last minute get away so wasn't really expecting much, but was so pleasantly surprised!
The cottage is very homely, you can tell a lot of time and effort has gone into it, full of little touches that give the place a very comforting feel. The fire was so cosy.
The cottage is dog friendly but you couldn't tell any dogs had been there, we used the baby gate provided to keep our doggies downstairs which came in handy. Beds were comfy and wifi easy to connect to.
Great walks for dogs very close by, there was lots of information left for us of local things to do and walks to go on, my favourite place was cartmel, such a beautiful quaint village I absolutely fell in love with the place can't wait to come back!
Bottom line, Amazing cottage, Very clean, Perfect location, cannot recommend this cottage enough, thanks for a wonderful stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2014
What a lovely review, thank you Jessica. We love to read how much people enjoy staying in our cottage, village and area.
We also absolutely love Cartmel and think it’s the best village in Cumbria and the Lake District now.
Thank you again and we look forward to being able to welcome you all back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing