We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bridgelands Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bridgelands Cottage
The Sitting Room looking into the private garden The Large Kichen Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Bridgelands Cottage
The Sitting Room looking into the private garden
The Large Kichen Dining Room
The Kichen
The Roaring Log Fire
The King Size Bedroom
The King Size Luxury Leather Sleigh Bed
The Twin Bedroom
The Single Bedroom
The Single Bedroom
Cartmel Village
Cartmel Village
Nearby Morecambe Bay
Elterwater & The Langdale Pikes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stewart V
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stay ”
Reviewed 6 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Absolutely brilliant really enjoyed it. Lovely peaceful clean. Lovely touches by the owner. Can not recommend highly enough. We will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2016
Hi Stewart & Sarah. Huge thanks for your wonderful review and very much appreciated compliments.

I look forward to welcoming you and your dogs back again.

Best regards, Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B
Glossop, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage- a real home from home, the kids loved it!”
Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a long weekend at Bridgelands cottage and had a super time. It is tastefully decorated and furnished in a traditional style that suits the age of the property. It has all mod cons and the owners have really thought of everything. We stayed as a family of 5, with three small children (5, 3 and a newborn). The kids loved exploring the house, playing in all the different little rooms upstairs yet it was spacey enough in the kitchen diner area to spread out all the stuff that comes with traveling and feeding/cooking for a family. It was a really hot wknd and the cottage stayed cool inside and it was lovely to have the patio doors open and sit outside and eat/drink in the evening. We loved the area, the village is small but has a convenience store and a super little artisan bakery where we bought croissants for breakfast and had pizza on the fri night! Grange over Sands is a lovely place too with a great high street. We did lots of excursions out, Grizedale Forest, Sizergh Castle and Tarn Hows. We will definitely back to discover more of the south lakes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen diner area
Liked least: needs another bathroom
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2016
Thank you Esther and Tony. That’s a lovely review and wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, our cottage, the village, and the area. It’s great to hear that you packed so much into your weekend.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to 1 of our cottages soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MChW2016
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A cosy, peaceful cottage to unwind and relax”
Reviewed 17 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

This is a fabulous cosy cottage in a small friendly village. Ideal for those who don't have a car with the train station about 3 mins walk from the cottage and pubs and shops on your doorstep. There are abundant possibilities for walks and days out given the train and bus links but also there is the beautiful low estuary landscape outside the door. The cottage is well equipped and clean with a spacious layout on 3 levels. I had a lovely time here with my children and partner. The rental was completely hassle free with rapid and friendly communication with the owner. I would recommend this rental to anyone wanting a quiet and relaxed retreat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: lovely spacious kitchen for cooking and talking
Liked least: leaving!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2016
Thank you very much for your much appreciated review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, the cottage, the village and the area. I hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Dec 2015
Thank you Jane for your great review. It?s great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, the local pubs, our wonderful artisan bakery and of
course not forgetting the famous Cartmel Sticky Toffee Pudding.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Debra O
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful Cottage, great location”
Reviewed 21 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Stayed in Bridgelands Cottage 16 - 19 October. Lovely welcome with a warm cottage, lamps on and tea / coffee / milk / biscuits.

Beyond my expectations only one criticism the First Aid kit was inadequate with out-of-date items.

Would definitely recommend Bridgelands and would love to stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2015
Thank you Debra for taking the time to write a review for Bridgelands Cottage.
Thank you too for reminding me about the first aid kit. I'll sort it immediately.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
761andyw
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay”
Reviewed 1 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Stayed for 4 nights in late September 2015. Cottage was easy to find up a little cobbled lane and was exactly as described. Slight hiccup at the start with one of the beds not being made up but this was corrected very quickly and didnt in any way affect the rest of our stay. The cottage has everythnig you need in it - be sure to check out the novel way of starting the coal fire :)

The village of Cark is small but has two pubs (although one was shut for part of the time we were there due to a change of Landlord), a shop and an Artisan bakery (which was very nice!) and the surrounding area is stunning with lots of lovely villages and walks (Cartmel being a particular highlight).

One thing to note is that the double bedroom at the top of the property is open - i.e. although its on the top floor theres no door to seperate it from the rest of the cottage - didnt bother us but just thought id point it out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizomalle...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic cottage and great location”
Reviewed 22 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in this lovely cottage in Cark of Cartmel. Really handy for the lakes and other attractions. Very homely and felt great living there.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2015
Thank you Liz. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the cottage and area.
We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing