We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chef's day off?”
Review of Uplands

Uplands
Ranked #13 of 13 Restaurants in Cartmel
Price range: US$0 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We are a small restaurant using all local produce that are sourced by our chef.We can offer Light lunches, Afternoon Teas and A la carte menu that is changed frequently, we serve a Traditional Sunday Carvery in our restaurant that has outstanding views across the Leven Estuary.You can also take advantage of out Patio area and extensive gardens.Children are welcome and we supply high chairs We have ramps that we can put up for anyone struggling with our two steps and a disabled toilet on the ground floor
manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chef's day off?”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This restaurant had been recommended to us and for the life of me I can't understand why. If I had gone to someone's house for dinner I would have been very disappointed and this was supposed to be a professional chef!!! I had the 'pan fried duck breast with madeira sauce' Well, they had somehow managed to overcook the duck whilst at the same time leaving a thick and rubbery skin with totally unrendered fat on it and the sauce? Thin, split and tasted of nothing but sugar. My Mum had the rack of lamb that came with some kind of 'jous'. The lamb was so tough that she could hardly cut it and the 'jous' was a thick jelly like substance that was stuck to the plate. Then we have the 'vegetables' - Honestly I have not been served such poor vegetables in a restaurant since the 1970's! Overcooked sliced carrots and cabbage and some kind of weird mixture of bullet-like peas, onions, tomato puree and some kind of flavouring that just tasted like compost. There was no way anyone can call this good food - no way at all. We were not going to waste money on risking buying a pudding or even coffee. We went back to our holiday flat and ate left over pork pie and chocolates instead. Disappointment is NOT the word.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank awaw41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niknath, Owner at Uplands, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I have to admit to being surprised and disappointed with your comments as our chefs constantly get good reviews as you will see on this site and the Hotels reviews.
I have obviously spoken to staff regarding your visit as i was off that day and both staff who were working confirmed that they asked you part way through your meal if everything was okay and that you did in fact eat everything.
What i would have preferred would have been that you mentioned something at the time regarding you been unhappy with your food to give us a chance to put right anything you were not pleased with. Rather than you not say anything as did happen and then go away and write this review, that's similar to buying damaged goods and knowing they were then going home to complain.
I am sorry that you felt this way about the food but feel we could have turned your visit into a pleasant occasion given chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    21
    9
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food! Great value for money too!”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Really good menu. With a great value early evening menu on certain days. Hard to make a choice - but the rack of lamb was definitely delicious! So were the starters and the puddings! Could not fault the food in any way ... and it was all served with a smile! Highly recommended. June and Peter

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JuneandPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Return visit”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Thank you very much, another return visit for us.
As usual a very warm welcome and made to feel at home.
Staff very pleasant and helpful.
Once again food to a high standard and service very good.
Two evening meals and two breakfasts all nicely presented and
cooked to a high standard.
Uplands is a lovely cosy warm and welcoming gem of a place.
Room once again to a very high standard.
Already booked in for our next trip!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank esni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great view over Morecambe Bay”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Only popped in for a quick drink mid-walk ,but was amazed at the view.Next time we will be booking in for dinner and hopefully a room !

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A real gem of a place !”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We recently (March) bought a holiday home nearby and have only just visited this place today (11th August) Liam attended to our every need along with the first class chef and the rest of the wonderful homely staff. We have a disabled boy, wheelchair bound who needs his food blended, nothing was to much trouble and Ryan absolutely loved it as did we. We had a friend visiting us, vegatarian, and there was plenty to choose from. We had the Sunday roast, lovely, Ryan had the same, blended....followed by sticky toffee pud & their Eton mess. Thanks guys, you made us feel really welcome & we will definitely be coming back on a regular basis :-)
Chris, Paula & Ryan x

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scoobyscene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Uplands also viewed

Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
 
Grange-over-Sands, Lake District
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
 

Been to Uplands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing