We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star food and service yum yum” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Oak Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cartmel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Royal Oak Inn
Ranked #7 of 14 Cartmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“5 star food and service yum yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

my partner and i visited the royal oak for an evening dinner on Thursday night , this is my first visit here and i was very pleased , the staff were very friendly and efficient and the level of service was prompt and excellent even thou it was busy we could not fault it and it had a great atmosphere .As for the food it was first class compliments to the chef and should be of Michelin standard we regularly dine in local places and Michelin restaurants like Jamie's Italian York of which the royal oak was far better and as for the price very reasonable too. We will defiantly be coming back on a regular basis .many thanks to all the staff at the Royal keep up the good work of which i am sure you always do, so go on people give the Royal Oak a visit as i reckon you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brenda196252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    53
    5
    10
    17
See reviews for
44
91
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed here on Saturday night. The evening meal was lovely. The staff were very friendly and could not do enough for you when asked. The room we stayed is was beautiful. We woke up in the morning and after going for a stroll round the village we came back for breakfast. The variety was good and cooked perfect. and delicious. Great value for money and well worth booking if your in the area

Room Tip: They are all beautifully decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Me and the girlfriend was recommended the royal oak by friends for a drink in the afternoon in the 'beer garden'. Well what can I say best beer garden I've ever been in! All the staff were great very friendly. Definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmy56243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

50yrs married we thought we would revisit the past . We have always loved Cartmel we stayed at the Royal oak in room 2 overlooking the square. We had a fabulous time . Amanda and Sean made our stay extra special.The beer and the beer garden were fantastic hope to return soon

Room Tip: We were very happy with room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I can't comment on the rooms, solely on the bar and food quality.
In a nutshell; it's expensive.
Although the food quality is adequate, however, the portion sizes are somewhat wanting to say the least. The service was OK, the food was OK, but simply put, far better can be had, in more congenial pubs.
Bottom line, it's a little pretentious, over priced and a wee bit staid.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 405Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Booked table at l'enclune for myself and my wife for birthday, needed somewhere to stay, so booked the Royal oak, as we just wanted somewhere close.Paid £125.00 for a double room with an ensuite and breakfast in the morning.Arrived late afternoon and was shown to our room, upon entering the room I noticed that the bathroom door was open and that the light and extractor fan were on, thought nothing more about it!.Having settled into the room, we noticed that there were no towels anywhere,so had to ask for them, having been in the room for a few minutes we noticed a horrible smell coming from the ensuite !!!! Allmost immediately I found that the sewer smell was coming from the shower gully. NOW I KNOW WHY THE FAN AND LIGHT WERE LEFT ON !!! Also the door handle fell of the first time I opened the ensuite door. Went to l'enclune for wonderful food and service. Returned to royal oak about 11.30 and went to bed in the sewer smelling room. Was woken as 4.10 by the radiator banging. Went down for breakfast at about 10 a.m. Ordered 2 poached eggs on toast with two rashers of well done crispy bacon, received one poached egg and two rashers of underdone snotty bacon. Returned this to the waiting staff and was met with the attitude that this was not important.Bearing in mind that the first plate came to the table within 5 mins of ordering, after waiting almost 15/20 mins for my simple breakfast order I left, went to pay for our stay and told the person everything that I had experianced in his hotel and was given £4.95 off my bill. We'll that just about says it all right there ,he valued our custom by that much"wow".

Room Tip: Stay at the Priory, over the road, I wish we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fylde coast
Level Contributor
296 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

What a lovely pub in a lovely village ! Generous welcome, friendly and attentive staff, with newly refurbished bedroom, very clean and all amenities you need for a few nights stay. Good atmosphere in the bar, excellent choice menu, both breakfast and evening meal ( gourmet pub food) were good quality and well presented . Lovely garden area at back. Also dined at Kings Arms in the square, which is owned by the same people, again the food was superb and more of a restaurant menu. We felt very much 'at home' here, nothing was too much trouble, a well-run pub.
Really enjoyed our 2-night stay, will be back, as this is a pretty area, and definitely recommend this place. If you enjoy an informal environment, then this is the place to be. Thanks to all the staff for looking after us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank westcoastboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartmel
0.6 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cavendish Arms
Cavendish Arms
#2 of 14 in Cartmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.0 mi away
Priory Hotel Cartmel
Priory Hotel Cartmel
#5 of 14 in Cartmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Inn

Property: Royal Oak Inn
Address: The Square, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands > Cartmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Cartmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Oak Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18th Century Coaching Inn with accommodation in Double, Twin, or King Size bedrooms. All rooms recently refurbished to a high standard with en-suite shower rooms. Food served daily 12 noon - 10 pm, an infusion of British and Italian cuisines. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Royal Oak Hotel Cartmel
Royal Oak Inn Cartmel, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing