We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid Back B&B”
Review of Stanley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stanley House
Ranked #6 of 7 Eskdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
430 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Laid Back B&B”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

A really great place to unwind and relax. The staff are really friendly, feels like being in your own home. When we arrived, although no one at reception we read the notice to use the phone and within 5 mins we were in our lovely room.
The breakfast is fantastic (especially the "Hearty Lakeland Breakfast") there were various others to try . As much tea, coffee and juice that you could ask for. The rooms are really nice,clean and the en suite bathroom is what anyone could ask for after a day's walking -to soak in a warm tub.
We like the informality and trust. The open larder is great for snacks. There are two living rooms great for reading and relaxing in front of an open fire (the wood is there for you to build your fire) with a book. We will recommend this place to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fareastjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    29
    8
    1
    9
See reviews for
32
25
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Stanley House is a charming, quiet inn with a garden that follows the contours of the river Esk. The rooms are lovely. Mine was small, but well equipped with good linens. There is complimentary wi-fi. They offer a very good breakfast, as well as space for preparing snacks or storing one's own food. I was there during a heat wave and my only complaint was that only one very small window in my room opened. All the others were sealed shut. Hosts offer a shuttle up valley to their Woolpack Inn for a good pub meal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the lawns and river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2012 via mobile

What a special place! We stayed over the Jubilee weekend in the family suite with our two 8 year old sons. The rooms were large and clean and the beds super comfy! The house is well set out with plenty of general seating and a fantastic kitchen/eating area where guests can bring their own food to make snacks or take essentials from the open larder. A lovely friendly and relaxed atmosphere complimented by the fantastic manager, Tony, who makes the place. From driving the nightly shuttle bus (old army lorry) to and from the local pub to sorting out guest queries or taking breakfast orders he couln't have been more helpful. A very memorable stay and we will come again for sure.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Katherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedbergh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2012

The Stanley Ghyll is excellent B&B accommodation with many extras. The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable, the staff helpful and the breakfast excellent. The opportunity to make your own packed lunch and make drinks when you want is a delightful extra to your stay.

There is an excellent Wifi but mobile phone reception is poor. So if you are phoning with your arrival time make the call before you enter the dale. Also, as others have said, don’t follow your satnav slavishly – go North or South of the central mountain block.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Stanley House for a family 60 th birthday, there were 30 of us from babies to Grandad's , the house was good value, plenty of room, very well equipped, never seen so many plates, cups, cutlery etc, massive fridge, cooker, owners supplied, lots of bread, milk, .there are no local shops! Bring your own food if you want to cook.
Only take the Hardknott pass if you are a good driver and like a thrill. Otherwise take the easy route.steam railway stop is opposite house,we took train to Ravenglass, great fun, fantastic views and the noise and smell of the steam train.
There are several really good pubs very close, easy walk, take torch as its country lane.
Owner of the house also owns Woolpack Inn, he collected us in his big 4 x 4 truck which has about 12 seats, also brought us back,We all had a fantastic weekend.definitly recommend .

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Open fire, great location, bit quiet if you want some night life, good pubs and eating places a short walk away. and the owners will, we understand arrange a lift to and back from the woolpack if you eat there.

Lady who comes in to cook breakfast is lovely, and generaly all staff we met very pleasent.

Very comfortable.

Got a little cold durring the night, and the hand soap seemed a little down market, consentrate juice for breakfast, but very very minor niggles.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simmo228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed for the Easter weekend as a large group of 20 adults and 6 kids. With this many people, the house was ideal and much better than where we stayed with the same grop last year. The dual 'living rooms' allowed us to have a separate kids area when we were inside and the large gardens made outdoor activities easy.

The bedroom we had was fine for what we needed and several people had cots/spare beds in them as needed and the layout was how we had requested and the fact that we could bring a couple of dogs was much appreciated.

On the downside, the 'well stocked open larder' was not what we expected from the info on the website as we read it that this would be re-stocked daily or enough left on the first day to last the length of the stay which it wasn't. Also, we never had the breakfast as we didn't book it, rather strange for a bed and breakfast! Having said this, it wasn't a problem and may have worked better for our group to sort out breakfast ourselves as this was drawn out over a few hours.

We wold stay here again as part of a big group as the facilities were perfect for what we needed. Do follow their advice and don't follow the sat nav, from experience we knew how bad the Hardknot and Wyrneose passes are to drive but misread the map and had to do them again.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank stuart-teresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eskdale
4.5 mi away
Forest How Guest House
Forest How Guest House
#1 of 7 in Eskdale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
2.7 mi away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#2 of 7 in Eskdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
6.9 mi away
Brook House Inn and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Woolpack Inn
Woolpack Inn
#2 of 3 in Boot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
8.2 mi away
YHA Eskdale
YHA Eskdale
#2 of 2 in Boot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Boot Inn
The Boot Inn
#1 of 3 in Boot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley House

Property: Stanley House
Address: Stanley Ghyll House Station Road | Beckfoot, Eskdale CA19 1TF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eskdale
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Eskdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Stanley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley House Eskdale, Lake District, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing