We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
54
31
8
3
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
54
31
8
3
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarmy truckwoolpack innentire housecinema roomthe pubwell equipped kitchensteam trainperfect weekendbeautiful areab bslake districtself cateringlocal walksopen firela'al rattyhardknott passravenglass and eskdale railway
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2009

Our family of five stayed at Stanley Ghyll House over the Easter weekend. We booked at short notice, and were lucky to get a room at all because it was full. As it happened, a suite of rooms was available - two bedrooms and a bathroom off a shared hall, on the top floor. The children stayed in one and we stayed in the other.

This B&B, from Spring 2009, by all accounts has been transformed. Harry, the new owner, was very helpful over the phone. We had dithered over whether we needed an extra bed, and he was happy to provide it at the last minute at a reasonable price. Although he does not live on site, he lives a short distance away and he invited us to use the freely available service phones to call him (indirectly via his mobile). We never actually needed to use them, in fact.

Bedrooms were comfortable and generously size. Furnishings and furniture was new or newish. Kettle, cups, tea, coffee, biscuits etc were provided and replenished daily (and also on request). The bathroom was good - huge, clean and bright. Of course one bathroom between five presented a minor logistical problem for us, but that was our choice.

The building is over 100 years old and retains a lot of period charm inside - especially in the open plan lounge and entrance hall. Outside it has a bold and uncompromising Victorian presence which would be unlikely to get planning permission these days in such a lovely spot. There has obviously been a huge amount of refurbishment and painting work done very recently. However, I suspect that what some people regard as charm others may see as rambling. The original windows are not double glazed - well they wouldn't be - but they do still have the odd cracked pane. Not all the fittings are fully serviceable - please could someone replace the curtain rail before someone pulls the curtains off the wall? Also the attractive bedhead rail in the bedroom we occupied is not that securely attached; if someone were to mistake it for a handrail they might have an unpleasant surprise.

In response to earlier posts, it's worth saying the heating was comfortable and fully operational (and apparently environmentally sound), but since we visited during a mild period I can't comment on how well it would have coped with a really cold winter spell.

Breakfast was very pleasant in the delightfully sunny dining room. Lakeland Breakfast was partly locally sourced and freshly cooked to order, complemented by the usual standard B&B breakfast choices. Service was friendly and willing. The two staff were kept pretty busy because the hotel was full, and we were happy to take our time.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidH15822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2009

The current owners have been here since September 08, and have refurbed the place. Lovely and warm (in response to previous entries), very comfortable, with Playstation and DVDs in the rooms for rainy/lazy days.The scaffolding was still up, but will be down by the time you read this; what a great place with huge rooms - the only B&B I have stayed in with flat TV with DVD players and fast WIFI (very vague Orange mobile 'phone service), large rooms, comfy beds and great bathroom.

Breakfast is great - sets you up for the strenuous exercise of Scafell, along with a packed lunch.

A must for anyone staying in the area; I have stayed in two of the pubs before, and I like the rooms here better as they are bigger, and there is no "bar" noise when you want to go to bed.

I would recommend to everyone...I am going back for Beer Festival in June, and will be staying here. A secret place that will not stay secret for too long!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling_Willbery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2008

I knew the location of the Stanly Ghyll house well from previous visits to the area and so finding it was not a problem.

If you do not know the area then always approach from Ravenglass rather than over the Fells.

Knowing the location but not having used this accomodation in the past I looked at the website and felt that the accomodation looked good and would meet our needs.

I made the booking by telephone and this was very friendly and efficient.

We arrived at 3pm in the afternoon in November. The entrance hall and breakfast room were as per the website which boded well.

We had booked two double rooms. These were on the second floor of the house. The higher we went the colder the house got.

Our room was cold and the radiator was stone cold. The same was true of the other room we had booked. Not only was the heating not on, but the windows were open, bearing in mind it was 4 degrees Celcius outside.

The room also felt damp.

The walls felt cold and and slightly damp to the touch. In places the walls were cracked and paint was flaking. The room was not of the standard I was expecting from the website or the tariff being charged.

The bathroom was crampt and cold, again the radiator was turned off.

We had booked the accomodation well in advance and agreed our arrival time so would have expected the rooms to have been heated for our arrival.

We went out for the evening to a function and returned to find our rooms were still cold. We went down to contact the proprietor to find a notice at reception saying no one was available but if you had a problem to call a number provided.

Uninspired we returned to our rooms and found that the radiators were still shut off. We turned them on and found they needed bleeding. We did this and finally began to gain some warmth. We then found the heating went off, presumably on a time clock!!

The bedding was clean, however in the second room we booked the duvet was too small for the bed.

In this room the radiator failed to work.

Another trip to reception and an assistant acknowledged our concerns but was unable to assist.

High winds and rain in the night caused the windows to rattle and let in a draft. Strategically positioned towels and tissues cured this problem, but not what you expect to have to do!!!

Our concerns were expressed to the proprietor, who advised he was having a new heating system put in soon and this would cure the problems. Little benefit to us.

The proprietor advised that many rooms were unavailable due to a leaking roof following recent storms, but his other rooms were better and ongoing refurbishment was in progress.

The attitude projected was a lack of care and indeed indifference.

The breakfast was adequate. One of our party did not want a cooked breakfast, but no alternative was available except for toast.

Upon departure after two nights we articulated our concerns and explained that we did not feel that the website fairly refected the state of the accomodation. No apology or sympathy was forthcoming.

This property clearly has potential, but this was of little comforte to us as cold and dissatisfied customers.

The bathroom came with one small bar of soap and nothing else.

The "wardrobe" was more a bedside cupboard and not tall enough to hang a jacket in. No other hooks were provided on the walls or door.

Tea and coffee making facilities were provided but not replenished for our second night.

Only one of teh rooms was serviced. The other was totally untouched.

I regularly visit the Eskdale valley and have used a variety of accomodation. This is without question the worst and I shall not be returning under any circumstances.

The proprietor needs to improve his accomodation and care a little more about the guests he is charging to use it.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank burevalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2008

After looking on the hotel web site I was confident that I was booking somewhere nice and comfortable to stay for a 3 night break between Christmas and the New Year for a well earned break for myself and my husband. We wanted somewhere that was welcoming and conformtable after a long day's walking in the beautiful Lake District. This was the only place that could accommodate us. After a hair raising journey across the top of the fells in the rain and the dark (this place is extremely remote) we finally arrived. The owner informed us that you should'nt use your Sat Nav to find them as it always takes you over the top of the fells (maybe they should tell you that before you set off!). Anyway, we were taken to our room which was right at the top of the house and I noticed that the house got colder the higher we went! The room looked nothing like the pictures on the internet. Fair enough it is an old house, but the room felt damp and there was mildew on the walls in places even though they advertise that the whole house has recently undergone extensive refusbishment. Not really a room you would like to spend time a lot of time in. A real disappointment. Basically, we had a terrible night there. It was a windy night and the windows in the bedroom and bathroom rattled and banged all night long so we could not get any sleep. First thing in the morning we decided that we could not stay another two nights in such an uncomfortable place. As we came down the stairs and face to face with the owners we were promtply informed that we would have to pay for the three nights stay as they could have let our room out. Funny, because there was only one other couple staying there with us at the time but apparently they were fully booked for the next two nights? I informed the owners that I was happy to lose the deposit (50%) as it was stated on their confirmation that this was non-refundable. I was then informed that it is expected that if you don't give 24 - 48 hours notice of cancellation you have to pay in full (this was not written anywhere on their invoice). When I informed them that we had not been able to sleep because of the noise of the windows, I was informed "this is an old house and it was windy, it is to be expected'". Granted the weather was not very nice and we may not have been able to walk as much as we wanted to but if the room had been more comfortable, I would have been happy to stay and just chill out for a few days. Overall, the place was not very welcoming. I would not recommend this place to anyone looking for a nice break in the Lake District. This place is very remote, the local pub/restaurant is extremely expensive as you don't have anywhere else to go and the room was a real disappointment.

Stayed: December 2007
4  Thank ladyb_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2009
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews