We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
55
31
8
3
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
31
8
3
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews army truck woolpack inn great kitchen local pub perfect weekend self catering ravenglass and eskdale railway hardknott pass plenty of hot water pubs walks boots hairdryer
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2009

I recently stayed at this excellent Bed and Breakfast which I used as a base for some biking and hiking in the Lake District. I found the beds very comfortable, the welcome from the staff could not have been better and the breakfast was excellent. I would highly reccomend the little trip on the steam train (you even get your own private stop outside the B and B) which although quite expensive, is a great way to see the local countryside. Keep up the good work and I will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Phoenixtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

Found this B&B on Late Rooms but booked direct. The curent owners acquired the place only last September and have obviously spent money on fixing the place up. Everything was bright and very clean but cosy at the same time. My room was airy and comfortable with a nice view accross the grounds. All amenities you expect were provided; tv, tea/coffee making facilities, spare linen etc
A hearty breakfast cooked to order was provided each morning however they were plenty of alternatives for those wanting something less filling.
I would say Stanley House offers something for everyone; for families with young children there's a huge garden and a playstation for those rainy days and for a solo traveller like myself a very relaxed easygoing ambience.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCS_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2009

Spent three nights here, the hotel is comfortable and the rooms are spacious, The gardens are beautiful and the breakfast is top quality. The owner can only be described as a thoroughly nice bloke who was very helpful. We will be staying here again in the future,

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seanpmcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2009

Under the new ownership the Stanley Ghyll House has jumped from desperate medocrity into the B&B it should always have been. Fantastic set up for visitors, walkers, climbers and hikers. What ever you are coming to the Lake District for, this B&B/ Hotel will suit you. Its position in Eskdale sums up how perfectly positioned it really is. Can't fault it and for goodness sake ignore the old reviews, it isn't even the same colour!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parkadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2009

Our family of five stayed at Stanley Ghyll House over the Easter weekend. We booked at short notice, and were lucky to get a room at all because it was full. As it happened, a suite of rooms was available - two bedrooms and a bathroom off a shared hall, on the top floor. The children stayed in one and we stayed in the other.

This B&B, from Spring 2009, by all accounts has been transformed. Harry, the new owner, was very helpful over the phone. We had dithered over whether we needed an extra bed, and he was happy to provide it at the last minute at a reasonable price. Although he does not live on site, he lives a short distance away and he invited us to use the freely available service phones to call him (indirectly via his mobile). We never actually needed to use them, in fact.

Bedrooms were comfortable and generously size. Furnishings and furniture was new or newish. Kettle, cups, tea, coffee, biscuits etc were provided and replenished daily (and also on request). The bathroom was good - huge, clean and bright. Of course one bathroom between five presented a minor logistical problem for us, but that was our choice.

The building is over 100 years old and retains a lot of period charm inside - especially in the open plan lounge and entrance hall. Outside it has a bold and uncompromising Victorian presence which would be unlikely to get planning permission these days in such a lovely spot. There has obviously been a huge amount of refurbishment and painting work done very recently. However, I suspect that what some people regard as charm others may see as rambling. The original windows are not double glazed - well they wouldn't be - but they do still have the odd cracked pane. Not all the fittings are fully serviceable - please could someone replace the curtain rail before someone pulls the curtains off the wall? Also the attractive bedhead rail in the bedroom we occupied is not that securely attached; if someone were to mistake it for a handrail they might have an unpleasant surprise.

In response to earlier posts, it's worth saying the heating was comfortable and fully operational (and apparently environmentally sound), but since we visited during a mild period I can't comment on how well it would have coped with a really cold winter spell.

Breakfast was very pleasant in the delightfully sunny dining room. Lakeland Breakfast was partly locally sourced and freshly cooked to order, complemented by the usual standard B&B breakfast choices. Service was friendly and willing. The two staff were kept pretty busy because the hotel was full, and we were happy to take our time.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidH15822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews