We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location perfect for walkers wanting a bit of comfort”
Review of Stanley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stanley House
Ranked #8 of 10 Eskdale B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 October 2009

we stayed for 2 nights wanting to climb Scarfell. The B and B is perfectly located for this with many walks from the front door. The bedrooms and large ( we had the delux) Light and well equiped, flat screen TV , hair dryer etc ( bring your own toiletries though)
The owners are also very welcoming to dogs.
The new heating system installed is very good with all rooms being warm and loads of hot water available.
The communal lounges are a great idea and good place to relax with a glass of wine in the evening - the owners are friendly and knowledable - they do not live on site so you do not feel watched over - adding to the relaxing feel - but they are only 2 minuties away and will attend at any time needed - A perfect walkers get away

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjgBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2009

I recently stayed at this excellent Bed and Breakfast which I used as a base for some biking and hiking in the Lake District. I found the beds very comfortable, the welcome from the staff could not have been better and the breakfast was excellent. I would highly reccomend the little trip on the steam train (you even get your own private stop outside the B and B) which although quite expensive, is a great way to see the local countryside. Keep up the good work and I will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Phoenixtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

Found this B&B on Late Rooms but booked direct. The curent owners acquired the place only last September and have obviously spent money on fixing the place up. Everything was bright and very clean but cosy at the same time. My room was airy and comfortable with a nice view accross the grounds. All amenities you expect were provided; tv, tea/coffee making facilities, spare linen etc
A hearty breakfast cooked to order was provided each morning however they were plenty of alternatives for those wanting something less filling.
I would say Stanley House offers something for everyone; for families with young children there's a huge garden and a playstation for those rainy days and for a solo traveller like myself a very relaxed easygoing ambience.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCS_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2009

Spent three nights here, the hotel is comfortable and the rooms are spacious, The gardens are beautiful and the breakfast is top quality. The owner can only be described as a thoroughly nice bloke who was very helpful. We will be staying here again in the future,

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seanpmcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2009

Under the new ownership the Stanley Ghyll House has jumped from desperate medocrity into the B&B it should always have been. Fantastic set up for visitors, walkers, climbers and hikers. What ever you are coming to the Lake District for, this B&B/ Hotel will suit you. Its position in Eskdale sums up how perfectly positioned it really is. Can't fault it and for goodness sake ignore the old reviews, it isn't even the same colour!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parkadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2009

Our family of five stayed at Stanley Ghyll House over the Easter weekend. We booked at short notice, and were lucky to get a room at all because it was full. As it happened, a suite of rooms was available - two bedrooms and a bathroom off a shared hall, on the top floor. The children stayed in one and we stayed in the other.

This B&B, from Spring 2009, by all accounts has been transformed. Harry, the new owner, was very helpful over the phone. We had dithered over whether we needed an extra bed, and he was happy to provide it at the last minute at a reasonable price. Although he does not live on site, he lives a short distance away and he invited us to use the freely available service phones to call him (indirectly via his mobile). We never actually needed to use them, in fact.

Bedrooms were comfortable and generously size. Furnishings and furniture was new or newish. Kettle, cups, tea, coffee, biscuits etc were provided and replenished daily (and also on request). The bathroom was good - huge, clean and bright. Of course one bathroom between five presented a minor logistical problem for us, but that was our choice.

The building is over 100 years old and retains a lot of period charm inside - especially in the open plan lounge and entrance hall. Outside it has a bold and uncompromising Victorian presence which would be unlikely to get planning permission these days in such a lovely spot. There has obviously been a huge amount of refurbishment and painting work done very recently. However, I suspect that what some people regard as charm others may see as rambling. The original windows are not double glazed - well they wouldn't be - but they do still have the odd cracked pane. Not all the fittings are fully serviceable - please could someone replace the curtain rail before someone pulls the curtains off the wall? Also the attractive bedhead rail in the bedroom we occupied is not that securely attached; if someone were to mistake it for a handrail they might have an unpleasant surprise.

In response to earlier posts, it's worth saying the heating was comfortable and fully operational (and apparently environmentally sound), but since we visited during a mild period I can't comment on how well it would have coped with a really cold winter spell.

Breakfast was very pleasant in the delightfully sunny dining room. Lakeland Breakfast was partly locally sourced and freshly cooked to order, complemented by the usual standard B&B breakfast choices. Service was friendly and willing. The two staff were kept pretty busy because the hotel was full, and we were happy to take our time.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2009

The current owners have been here since September 08, and have refurbed the place. Lovely and warm (in response to previous entries), very comfortable, with Playstation and DVDs in the rooms for rainy/lazy days.The scaffolding was still up, but will be down by the time you read this; what a great place with huge rooms - the only B&B I have stayed in with flat TV with DVD players and fast WIFI (very vague Orange mobile 'phone service), large rooms, comfy beds and great bathroom.

Breakfast is great - sets you up for the strenuous exercise of Scafell, along with a packed lunch.

A must for anyone staying in the area; I have stayed in two of the pubs before, and I like the rooms here better as they are bigger, and there is no "bar" noise when you want to go to bed.

I would recommend to everyone...I am going back for Beer Festival in June, and will be staying here. A secret place that will not stay secret for too long!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling_Willbery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eskdale hotels
2.3 mi away
Bower House Inn
Bower House Inn
#4 of 10 in Eskdale
396 reviews
1.4 mi away
Woolpack Inn
Woolpack Inn
#2 of 3 in Boot
284 reviews
3.9 mi away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#3 of 10 in Eskdale
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Boot Inn
The Boot Inn
#1 of 3 in Boot
389 reviews
1.6 mi away
YHA Eskdale
YHA Eskdale
#2 of 2 in Boot
67 reviews
2 mi away
Forest How Guest House
Forest How Guest House
#2 of 10 in Eskdale
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley House

Address: Stanley Ghyll House Station Road | Beckfoot, Eskdale CA19 1TF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eskdale
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Eskdale
Price Range: £68 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Stanley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley House Eskdale, Lake District, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing