We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting”
Review of Stanley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stanley House
Ranked #8 of 10 Eskdale B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 July 2010

This B&B is situated in a beautiful area of the Lake District. Downstairs lounges and the dining room were lovely and welcoming but upstairs reminded me of an upmarket youth hostel. Sorry! We were on the top floor, good job we are able bodied as there was no other means of getting up there but the stairs as far as I could see.
Breakfasts were good and cooked to your liking in the same room. Watch the roads, very narrow but approach it via Ulpha and over the hill - scenery stunning; even if it did pour down all weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellersShrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2010

First impressions are important and arriving at a locked door and having to be let in by a guest and tracking down the owner by phone was not a great start to our trip. The house itself has bags of character and is in a superb location in the heart of the hills, but it still has a bit of a hostel feel about it. The reception rooms were cosy with wood burning stoves and a good collection of walking books. The modern and tasteful dinning area was also very nice clean and breakfast freshly cooked in front of you on a range. The food was good quality if the portions were a little frugal by Lakeland standards. We had to keep asking for more than the tiny portion of butter that was allocated. Tea and coffe acilities provided in the rooms, but only one packet of biscuits (2) for two guests,which seemed a little mean. The rooms were clean, but we did find wine and tea stains on the bedding. The bath pannel was off as the owner had not had chance to fix it and there was a cracked window in the room. The rooms were large making them difficult to heat. We were often cold as was the water on occasions, but it was New Year. The staff were friendly and attentive and hapily provided packed lunches at a small cost. Overal the four star rating was a little generous and we have had better value for money in the area. We paid £110 for the room and felt like there should at least have been someone at reception on arrival. The George pub has closed and the nearest public house is half a mile away. The Boot Inn highly recommeded for originality and quality food at moderate prices. I think we would stay here next time as the rooms have been revamped better priced and the staff there were very hospitable. Their new years celebrations and fireworks display must have been by far the best in the county. Check out the waterfalls as they are well worth the half a mile walk.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rc1blackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2009

Arrived at the accommodation with no one there but soon the owner came in and took us to the room, was impressed with the lounge with a real fire which was a real treat. Were given double beds for myself and kingsize for my friend even though we paid for single. Went to the nearby pubs for a meal, The Brook Inn and the other one just minutes away. Food okay in the pubs nearby but nothing special. Cooked breakfast was served in the morning with a good selection. Saturday it rained all day and got caught out and was soaked through and walked for 15 miles from hotel around to Wastwater. For reference park your car at Wastwater and walk fom there. Scenery was awsome and walks. There was a river running back of hotel which was soothing from bedroom. Log fire was excellent in lounge and we topped it up all the time. In all had a great time and thought it was great value for money with good facilties and would definitely go back. Reception no good for O2, apparently Three works. Harry will tell not to go to any other pubs except the one up the road? I wonder why? Maybe he has shares in them lol

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bombay23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

Thanks again for lovely break we all really enjoyed it, next time we will conquer Ska fell lets just hope its not pouring down again. Hope to see you again in the spring.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodandnora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

we stayed for 2 nights wanting to climb Scarfell. The B and B is perfectly located for this with many walks from the front door. The bedrooms and large ( we had the delux) Light and well equiped, flat screen TV , hair dryer etc ( bring your own toiletries though)
The owners are also very welcoming to dogs.
The new heating system installed is very good with all rooms being warm and loads of hot water available.
The communal lounges are a great idea and good place to relax with a glass of wine in the evening - the owners are friendly and knowledable - they do not live on site so you do not feel watched over - adding to the relaxing feel - but they are only 2 minuties away and will attend at any time needed - A perfect walkers get away

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjgBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

I recently stayed at this excellent Bed and Breakfast which I used as a base for some biking and hiking in the Lake District. I found the beds very comfortable, the welcome from the staff could not have been better and the breakfast was excellent. I would highly reccomend the little trip on the steam train (you even get your own private stop outside the B and B) which although quite expensive, is a great way to see the local countryside. Keep up the good work and I will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Phoenixtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

Found this B&B on Late Rooms but booked direct. The curent owners acquired the place only last September and have obviously spent money on fixing the place up. Everything was bright and very clean but cosy at the same time. My room was airy and comfortable with a nice view accross the grounds. All amenities you expect were provided; tv, tea/coffee making facilities, spare linen etc
A hearty breakfast cooked to order was provided each morning however they were plenty of alternatives for those wanting something less filling.
I would say Stanley House offers something for everyone; for families with young children there's a huge garden and a playstation for those rainy days and for a solo traveller like myself a very relaxed easygoing ambience.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCS_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eskdale hotels
2.3 mi away
Bower House Inn
Bower House Inn
#4 of 10 in Eskdale
396 reviews
1.4 mi away
Woolpack Inn
Woolpack Inn
#2 of 3 in Boot
284 reviews
3.9 mi away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#3 of 10 in Eskdale
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Boot Inn
The Boot Inn
#1 of 3 in Boot
388 reviews
1.6 mi away
YHA Eskdale
YHA Eskdale
#2 of 2 in Boot
67 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brook House Inn and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley House

Address: Stanley Ghyll House Station Road | Beckfoot, Eskdale CA19 1TF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eskdale
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Eskdale
Price Range: £63 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Stanley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley House Eskdale, Lake District, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing