We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ales and kids play area”
Review of Bower House Inn

Bower House Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Restaurants in Eskdale
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good ales and kids play area”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Great outdoor kids play area. Good ales and large food portions, it has typical pub food though dominated by chips but probably perfect for a carb intake after a day on the hill. We ate here once during our holiday in the Lakes.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    22
    12
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Llanmiloe, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“New Ownership - Bower House Hotel”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Guys I got to tell you the Bower House Hotel has new owners and I have got say my stay was brilliant, the hotel has been renovated so I had a lovely furnished and decorated room. The staff were brilliant, very friendly and couldn't be more helpful.
I ate in the hotel and the food was great a lovely menu to chose from, highly recommended.
And to top it all the hotel is situated in beautiful area of Cumbria.
Give it a try you won't be disappointed.

Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gorgeous evening meal.”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We ate on Sunday evening in the restaurant. The menu is the same whether you eat in the restaurant or the bar area. Both are nice. We were blown away by the standard of the food. Every bit was really fresh, tasty and both beautifully cooked and presented. The service was first rate, the lady who served us even described each of the desserts in detail to help us in our difficult choice! The best meal I've eaten out in ages. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bizzylizzy676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Solid Lakes pub with lovely garden”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Staying in Eskdale so a great pleasure to wander down to this local and enjoy local food and ales. House bitter v good, Loweswater Gold decent too. Grub served in huge portions of beef, gammon, Cumberland sausage 'n' mash and so on, all pretty tasty. Puddings ok, sticky toffee had been microwaved. Staff new and v friendly. Not expensive. Garden is exceptionally pleasant, good views and gets evening sun & small with a little playground for your special and gifted children.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djmakinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fantastic breakfast”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Loved our meal in the bar by the fire, excellent selection of wine and beer. Great menu and food. The staff are very professional and polite. Rooms spotlessly clean and warm. All in all a pleasure to stay at the Bower.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bower House Inn also viewed

 
Nether Wasdale, Lake District
 
Ravenglass, Lake District
 

Been to Bower House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing