We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wear your brown trousers!!!”
Review of Wrynose Pass

Wrynose Pass
Book In Advance
More Info
US$200.54*
and up
Private Tour of the Lake District from Windermere
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Eskdale
Certificate of Excellence
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
536 reviews
252 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Wear your brown trousers!!!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

The Hardknott and Wrynose Pass are the most challenging roads I have ever driven in over 40 years of driving. It was a case of being in the right gear at the right time and hill starts are pushed to the limit. I enjoyed it very much. My wife is only just talking to me again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank andyandkaths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    38
    1
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
colchester essex
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“OMG”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We did this drive in our motorhome , it was the scariest thing i have ever done. But the view were amazing , would live to do it in a car so i could relax and not think about death !

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank olliegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We did this drive last summer when in Cumbria and so glad we did but not sure now, I know what a scary drive it is , weather we would do it again! The views are just breathe taking and very dramatic and you can see mountains and sheer drops all around . The tiny winding road down is scary but if you can go with that( take your time) I can honestly say that the views were the best I have seen in this country .

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank loretta68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We visited the Lakes for the weekend and ended up driving Wrynose and Hardknott passes. So glad we did- the scenery is breathtaking and although adrenaline fuelled at times... It was a drive to remember! We drove a normal manual car and everyone respected everyone else and pulled in where possible. Yes a few hairy moments... But it is a drive you won't forget!

Helpful?
Thank C-A63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stunning views but your blood pressure takes a hike!”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

After reading the reviews i did this pass along with hardknott pass. Both are stunning with amazing scenery. Well worth it but if you are a nervous driver at all don't do it! I did it in a saab 9-3 and it was fine but there are a few deep potholes and passing other cars can be a bit of a mission depending on where you meet them! Hardknott pass has scary hairpin bends. Do it if u feel confident but take your time!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Sig1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wrynose Pass also viewed

 
Keswick, Lake District
Coniston, Duddon Valley
 

Been to Wrynose Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing