We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Peaceful and Lovely Staff”
Review of Irton Hall B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Irton Hall B&B
Ranked #3 of 10 Eskdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

On arrival at Irton Hall, after driving over some quite difficult roads, we were warmly greeted by the staff. The young lady showed us where the bar and dining areas were before taking us to our room. The room was clean and comfortable, but with it being an old property, could just do with a little tidying up (I am really fussy). There were some guest beds at the top and bottom of the stairs and I think it would have looked better if they had a store room for them. We had our evening meal in the restaurant and it was beautiful. So nicely presented and tasted even better. I notice that one reviewer said it was "pub" food. It wasn't. Yes, you could get fish and chips and even pizza, but it was definately not the standard you would get from your local pub. It was far superior. Breakfast was also presented so well and tasted great. Overall, I would stay here again. It was warm, comfortable, peaceful, great food and lovely staff.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 6 and it was so quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 587 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

Just returned from a really great break at Irton Hall.It is a lovely place to stay but is a long drive from most of the Lake District hotspots.We had an excellent evening meal and breakfast.The bed was huge and the bathroom was spotless.We will return

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adafitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Excellent in all respects! We had a fantastic 2 night stay in the hotel having previously stayed in the self catering cottages. The transformation to the site was amazing compared to our last stay 3 years ago. The addition of the hotel with its cosy bar and high quality food makes Irton Hall the complete holiday experience. A special mention to the staff who were attentive, friendly and welcoming. During our stay we visited St Bees, Whitehaven and Waswater. Definitely will be back!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brens82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My husband booked here as a surprise for my 50th birthday. We stayed here for a week, in Broughton House 14 years ago where we got married. Staff were excellent, helpful, friendly in every way. Couldn't fault them. We didn't intend on having evening meals here but did on both nights. The food was so tasty, bravo to the chef.
There was one little problem but the manager was true to his word that's all I will say there, nothing that would put me off going again :)
The rooms were very clean. Bed, huge very comfy. Lovely bathroom, plenty of clean towels.
We wasn't fussed about the room being cleaned as we were there for only 2 nights, but it was, so that was nice. Tray full of coffee, tea, hot chocolate, biscuits. The room even had a small fridge too. Plenty of wardrobe space.
I have recommend this to my daughter who looks out for places like this for their holiday tours.
This place will always have a place in our hearts & I hope to book again sooner rather than later this time. Thank you to all staff for making our stay as good as we remembered it all those years ago x

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed here for my 40th birthday celebrations! We stayed for 3 nights with our 16 friends joining us on the Saturday night. It was perfect!! The accommodation was of super quality, food was excellent and most importantly of all the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. I cannot recommend Irton Hall highly enough. Thanks for a great birthday!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Ross P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Booked this night away last minute, and boy were we pleased we did. From arrival to departure we could not find fault.
The hotel is in a stunning situation, up a long impressive drive, to the hotel, which is like something from Downton Abbey!!
The receptionist was so friendly and showed us to our room. It was immaculate, with stunning decor, this followed on through the rest of the hotel.
The room was enormous, with flat screen tv, tea/coffee facilities with yummy biscuits. The bathroom was very spacious with bath and shower.
We had a walk round the grounds, visiting the 1000 year old oak tree.
We had a lovely meal in the bar, you can also eat in the restaurant. Service again could not of been friendlier.And at £30 for the both of us with sweets and coffees, was very reasonably priced,
After a good nights sleep, we headed down for breakfast, and what choice there was, and yet again lovely staff attending to your every need. Nothing was too much trouble.
Irton Hall, I do not know where you get your staff from, but they are some of the best we had ever met. We travel all over the world, but honestly I would rate them as the best!! Keep hold of them.
We really could of stayed so much longer, but unfortunately had to leave, but we will definately return as soon as we can, if we can ever get in, after this glowing review!!! I do hope we can.
In response to a previous review regarding that you have to speak 'posh', well we managed just fine with our broad Cumbrian accents, and most of the staff had even stronger accents than us,and we all seemed to get on brilliant. Do get over yourselves!!!
Thanks to you all.

Room Tip: Any would be wonderful. We had ground floor, but all looked excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maryg61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Came here for a weekend break with kids and dog. Didn't expect the quality it was when pets were welcome. Room was great and staff were friendly. After a days walking we very much appreciated the meal in the restaurant. The evening food was nice - not exceptional but nice. Breakfasts were lovely. No complaints and would book again

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eskdale
20.1 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
512 reviews
23.7 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
1,013 reviews
19.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,154 reviews
17.0 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
749 reviews
18.4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irton Hall B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irton Hall B&B

Address: Eskdale CA19 1TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eskdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Eskdale
Price Range: £93 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Irton Hall B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Bed & Breakfast Accommodation Irton Hall offers an impressive thirteen rooms of Bed and Breakfast accommodation, ranging from spacious doubles to family rooms. All accommodation includes en suite bathrooms, together with a range of in-room extras such as FREE WiFi, flat screen TV, iPod dock and tea and coffee-making facilities. Irton Hall has an on-site bar for all guests, offering local ales and a range of beverages. Breakfasts are served in the lounge bar, with Full English Breakfast and lighter continental options available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Irton Hall B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irton Hall B&B Eskdale, Lake District, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing