We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“short break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Irton Hall B&B

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Irton Hall B&B
Ranked #1 of 7 Eskdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
sunderland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“short break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Good VFM - rooms fine, food very good evening meals and breakfast. Staff very friendly although multi tasking meant they could not be every where at once and patience was required.
Not a snooty place by any means with rather a friendly laid back atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    108
    33
    15
    15
See reviews for
111
252
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed here, bank holiday weekend, and found the staff to be very helpful. I have stayed here a few times and the value for money and the location for walks and river fishing is fantastic.

After being out in the wonderful, unspoilt countryside and to come back to a spotless cottage, thanks Anna, George and the other cleaners, was nice just to relax and enjoy the weather.

The hotel staff could not do enough to make my stay wonderful. The restaurant staff particularly are great and made the very tasty chilli a bit hotter for me and always asked if all was ok with meal by the waiting staff.

Thanks to Tom and the staff

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Irton Hall and would definitely recommend it.
The room was stopless and had everything that we required for a very comfortable stay including a jacuzzi.
The restaurant food was excellent and all the staff were helpful and friendly.
The set breakfast were very good, however the staff were more than happy to adapt to suit individual needs.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JHankin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I was fortunate to have been booked to stay here as part of a stag do weekend. With little knowledge of the hall prior to arrival I did not know what to expect with the price we paid. There was 13 of us in total staying in the Boughton House section of the hall and there was more than enough space for us. Three large double bedrooms complete with sofa beds and one shared room meant there was comfortable sleeping for all, and as for the en suite in the master room, it is how all en suites should be. The living room was complete with an open fire, tv and pool table, and the huge kitchen meant self catering was an ease for the size of the group. The hall it self is set an idyllic location, with huge grounds, a couple of miles off the main road.

Would definitely stay here again and would recommend to any group travelling

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Booked last minute as we were watching the weather for wasdale to complete the wainwrights room very large and comfortable whirlpool bath great after a long walk food was good in the resturant overall we had a really enjoyable stay and will definitely be going back

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cragrat1321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had a very nice relaxed overnight stay at Irton hall.. Staff were very nice and extremely helpfull. We didn't attend breakfast tho a courtesy call was given to us before service ended. Would definately recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TalieandSteCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We recently stayed in one of the Self Catering apartments (Peel Tower) with 5 other couples and our new babies (6 month olds). The venu was stunning, rooms all a good size and communal space was brilliant. There was enough space for us not to be on top of each other but also it was not so huge that we were all over the place. Good facilities (Bathrooms, Showers, Kitchen all excellent and clean) beds were OK some a little softer than for some peoples liking but that is more down to preference than anything else. The staff were amazing and very accomodating and helped whenever asked something. Food at the bar was of a good standard. Due to the babies we did ask for the heating to come on which was very good and the rooms were all warm, the only downside was the radiators rattled somewhat - but then again what can you expect from a stunning old building - it added to the character of the place :-). All in all, every person who was with us enjoyed the stay and we will struggle to beat it on our trip next year. If we were in the lakes again we would definately go back.

Room Tip: The Tower is an amazing room once you are up there - but after a few shandy's or carrying the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Whittyben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eskdale
20.1 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
18.4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
21.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel
19.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irton Hall B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irton Hall B&B

Property: Irton Hall B&B
Address: Eskdale CA19 1TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eskdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Eskdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Irton Hall B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Bed & Breakfast Accommodation Irton Hall offers an impressive thirteen rooms of Bed and Breakfast accommodation, ranging from spacious doubles to family rooms. All accommodation includes en suite bathrooms, together with a range of in-room extras such as FREE WiFi, flat screen TV, iPod dock and tea and coffee-making facilities. Irton Hall has an on-site bar for all guests, offering local ales and a range of beverages. Breakfasts are served in the lounge bar, with Full English Breakfast and lighter continental options available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Irton Hall B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irton Hall B&B Eskdale, Lake District, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing