We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent in every way.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Irton Hall B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Irton Hall B&B
Ranked #1 of 7 Eskdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent in every way.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Can not fault Irton hall in any way. Lovely room, amazing food and staff were excellent. Would recommend staying there or even just eating there to anybody. It's a lovely building in fantastic grounds. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L1232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    110
    33
    16
    16
See reviews for
113
257
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed in the Lampugh Cottage for a week at the beginning of May. The Cottage is spacious, but the Bedroom's really only sleep four adults comfortably. The third room has two single beds which are not ideal for a week away, but would be fine for kids. The grounds are lovely and extremely convenient if you are taking a Dog. Staff were quick to replace two broken light bulbs in the Bathroom. The thing that disappointed me was the restaurant. One night I ordered a meal and about 20 minutes later was told that all Fish was actually out of stock! 20 minutes! I then ordered Lamb Shank, which would have been wonderful if it hadn't been massively overcooked! On our final morning before travelling back we went over to the restaurant at 09:30 for some breakfast. We were told that we were too late and that we would have had to book the night before. No flexibility or a willingness to make our final morning pleasurable. In the end we went to a nearby Pub (The Woolpack) who despite having finished their breakfasts were only too happy to ensure we were happy customers, by providing one. Irton Hall is a lovely setting, good rooms but staff lack that extra special touch.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

After having to find somewhere to stay in Cumbria on business. This b&b came up high on the ratings. Overall a very nice place to stay. friendly staff, good food and a very nicely decorated room. My only criticism is the shower. No pressure and a really poor shower head.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nic F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Gorgeous setting, luxury, locally sourced produced in their meals, a hidden gem, gay friendly. I booked this retreat through booking.com as a last minute birthday get away for my other half, on arrival I was blown away with the setting and the grounds. The staff were extremely professional and helpful. The bar area is relaxing and friendly with meals cooked to perfection, the room was lovely with a large comfy bed and a jacuzzi bath ensuite! Would highly recommend. The house is steeped in history too and there's a lovely walk around the grounds.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hoggylisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We spent 2 nights at Irton Hall. Our room was spacious with a super king sized bed. The bathroom was also spacious with a jacuzzi bath & shower....a great way to unwind after a day of walking/sight seeing. The staff are friendly and helpful. The food is well presented and tasty. The location is amazing with stunning scenery only a stones throw away. Would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lkibble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed over 1 night. Lovely room excellent furnishing and very comfortable large bed. The hotel is set in wonderful parkland grounds and despite being off the beaten track is in fact easy to get to off the main road up into Eskdale The breakfast was excellent and the the welcome and service outstanding. If we decide to explore the Western Lakes we will undoubtedly return to Irton Hall and will recommend it to all our friends. Great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunderland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Good VFM - rooms fine, food very good evening meals and breakfast. Staff very friendly although multi tasking meant they could not be every where at once and patience was required.
Not a snooty place by any means with rather a friendly laid back atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eskdale
20.1 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
16.4 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
18.4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
18.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
19.0 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irton Hall B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irton Hall B&B

Property: Irton Hall B&B
Address: Eskdale CA19 1TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eskdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Eskdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Irton Hall B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Bed & Breakfast Accommodation Irton Hall offers an impressive thirteen rooms of Bed and Breakfast accommodation, ranging from spacious doubles to family rooms. All accommodation includes en suite bathrooms, together with a range of in-room extras such as FREE WiFi, flat screen TV, iPod dock and tea and coffee-making facilities. Irton Hall has an on-site bar for all guests, offering local ales and a range of beverages. Breakfasts are served in the lounge bar, with Full English Breakfast and lighter continental options available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Irton Hall B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irton Hall B&B Eskdale, Lake District, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing