We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful facility but the beds are terrible!”
Review of Irton Hall B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Irton Hall B&B
Ranked #2 of 7 Eskdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful facility but the beds are terrible!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

This is for the B&B part of Irton Hall. A group of seven stayed in one of the houses, which have all been beautifully restored. The kitchen is huge and the living room well laid out and very comfortable, the bedrooms were all upstairs and again nicely appointed except for the BEDS! I just fail to understand having such a beautiful facility with fantastic staff and then put what was little more than a military cot in the rooms! Please Irton hall fix this and I would return many times, but as it is I can not recommend spending this kind of money and have to sleep on a sofa to be even slightly comfortable.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Wyobrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    113
    33
    16
    16
See reviews for
113
258
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A wonderful hotel in the least known part of the lake district .
Good food with a nice bar in a tranquil place .
Take time to walk around the gardens , the hollow oak tree as a local story , as the staff about it !
I am more than happy to recommend this to any body !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 377Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I chose this hotel for a mini break with my girlfriend, we did strike it very lucky with the weather and just wanted somewhere nice and quiet. We did enjoy the sunshine on relaxing on the vast lawn.

For a 4 star, we did not find Irton Hall pretentious in anyway, and found the food very reasonable priced and a high quality "pub grub feel". All the meals we had were very enjoyable, and I highly recommend the ham pizza and fish (whale!) and chips.

Admittedly we didn't go a lot of sightseeing other than a morning visit to the sea side at Seascale, however there did appear to be lots of nearby attractions and next time I'd go to visit Muncaster Castle.

We were there on a special occasion which was noted to Tom, and admittedly I was slightly offended we weren't giving any sort of deal/notice of this but I can not fault the staff otherwise.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

A wonderful high quality hotel with a good selection of well made, excellent meals and fantastic breakfasts.

The grounds are fab. The ancient historic oak (Henry VI connection) really looks great in the magnificent lawn in front of the hotel. There are woodlands but unfortunately its a bit rough at the moment to explore (bit of a shame as we have a dog and enjoy the great outdoors anyway) and access paths into the wood from every direction need a lot of attention but once 'got onto' and done this will be another added bonus to this hotel with woodland walks they plan to create.

We stayed in one of the cottages close to the hotel. Next time we will stay in the hotel itself. Although comfortable I think they need to be 'got onto' as well.

The hotel staff cannot do enough for you which made our stay extra special and the prices of everything were very reasonable as well.

One to put on the list for sure and we would like to return but, as I say, stay in the hotel itself.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Artyplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egremont, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Called into Irton Hall after walking dogs. Enjoyed a pint on the the lawn before tucking into a delicious home made burger, salad and chips.
Very homely feel to the bar and friendly staff made our dinner visit very enjoyable.
We live locally but have considered staying overnight as the hotel allows dogs in the rooms, so might treat ourselves soon.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Neil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed here for two days whilst visiting Lakes. Lovely hotel set in lovely grounds. Close to steam trains and about an hours drive to Windermere. Rooms lovely although they vary in size - we were lucky as our room was considerably bigger than that of our friends. Breakfast on the first day (Saturday) was great with excellent food and service but Sunday was a disappointment as staff had changed. Ate in the hotel one evening and the food was good. All in all, lovely hotel and a great place to stay when visiting the lakes.

Room Tip: Rooms vary in size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Lovely hotel. Bedroom superb. Food excellent. We ended up eating there every night - there was no need to look elsewhere. Service warm and friendly. We arrived back a little late one evening and the restaurant had closed, but they still gave us a delicious meal of slow-cooked lamb. The only trouble was, the weather was extraordinarily hot and there was no air-conditioning, only a fan - but that's a rare problem in the Lake District! Ideally situated for Wastwater, the most stunning lake in the Lake District.

Room Tip: We got a complementary upgrade, which was lovely, but it means we can't comment on the other roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eskdale
20.1 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
16.4 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
18.4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
18.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
19.0 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irton Hall B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irton Hall B&B

Property: Irton Hall B&B
Address: Eskdale CA19 1TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eskdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Eskdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Irton Hall B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Bed & Breakfast Accommodation Irton Hall offers an impressive thirteen rooms of Bed and Breakfast accommodation, ranging from spacious doubles to family rooms. All accommodation includes en suite bathrooms, together with a range of in-room extras such as FREE WiFi, flat screen TV, iPod dock and tea and coffee-making facilities. Irton Hall has an on-site bar for all guests, offering local ales and a range of beverages. Breakfasts are served in the lounge bar, with Full English Breakfast and lighter continental options available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Irton Hall B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irton Hall B&B Eskdale, Lake District, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing