We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Squirrel land !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Forest How Guest House
Ranked #2 of 10 Eskdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This is a lovely bed and breakfast in an area we had never visited.
The hosts were very friendly and keen about the wildlife in the area especially the red squirrels !! :)
The walk to the pub across the fields was lovely and the pub at the end just as nice.
Very quiet peaceful place to stay :)

Room Tip: Very quiet location, I can't think of any good or bad points, sure all would be good in such a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billybrian8265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed for 4 nights for our silver wedding anniversary, having lived in West Cumbria when first married. The guest house is in a perfect position for walks in Eskdale and Wasdale or along the coast. Debs and John are the friendliest hosts that you could wish for. Our room was comfortable and clean. The quality of the breakfasts is excellent, made even nicer by the masses of birds feeding right outside the window. Unfortunately the red squirrels have been affected by the squirrel pox virus but John took a lot of trouble to show us a healthy young male feeding in a hidden bit of the garden.

We noticed the recent negative review regarding check in times. This is a family run establishment and all the better for it. In our opinion you can book here and be confident you will receive friendly and courteous service.

Room Tip: we had room 2 which has lovely views. The others may be equally nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Be very careful!

This guest house has strict check-in times. I informed them that I would be arriving late, and was made to feel like I was causing quite a problem for them. I then ran into difficulties on the journey there, meaning that I was delayed. When I phoned to inform them of this, I was told that I may be turned away. I had to make alternative arrangements at the last minute, to guarantee that I had somewhere to sleep! I still ended up getting charged the full amount of the two night stay due to late cancellation.

I cannot comment on the guest house itself, as I never got to stay there, but I received very poor customer service over the phone. Unless you know exactly when you are going to arrive, it is probably best to find somewhere which operates more flexibly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank justin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForestHow, Owner at Forest How Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

In response to this ‘review’ we would just like to set the record straight.

This person booked via a well- known booking site 5 days prior to their arrival. Our terms and conditions, including check-in times, are clearly stated on the site and there is the option to add a request for a late check-in. On receipt of any booking we always email confirmation to the guest and again stress our check-in times (we have found it necessary to specify check-in times as we are only a bed and breakfast establishment, not a large hotel with night staff, and we do actually like to sleep at some point!).

In this instance the guest did not request a late check-in but instead phoned at 8.30am on the day of arrival to inform us that they would not be travelling to the Lake District until they finished work and would therefore not be arriving until 10pm (possibly a conservative estimate as their journey time would have been approx. 4 hours on a clear run). We agreed that this would be ok on the proviso that they would not be any later. However, later that evening they phoned again claiming to be held up on the motorway and advising us that they would not be arriving until after midnight.

We did explain at this point that we had other guests staying and that Forest How is set in a secluded position in an extremely quiet and peaceful area of the Lake District, this being one of the reasons that many guests stay. With the best will in the world, guests arriving in the early hours of the morning would undoubtedly disturb others already here. Nevertheless, we did agree that we would wait up. Shortly after that conversation we received yet another call advising us that they would be making alternative arrangements and would not be staying for either of the nights booked.

As a gesture of goodwill we have offered this couple a discounted stay in the future but it may be that they are better suited to staying at a larger, impersonal hotel rather than in the more personal surroundings of someone’s home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I have stayed here a number of times and my latest stay was for 2 nights at the start and end of Wainwrights Coast to Coast Walk. Its so picuresque and unspoilt and the views from around the house and from the bedrooms are magnificent. Debs and John are excellent hosts and make you feel so welcome. The cooked breakfast is scrumptious and there is the added bonus of sitting in the conservatory watching an array of birds equally enjoying theirs. I cannot recommend Forest How highly enough.
If you are looking for somewhere to eat out in the evening - the Brookhouse is excellent and only a short drive up the valley.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoozieP64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Nothing was too much trouble at this beautifully run guest house. Peaceful surroundings, wildlife, fell views, located along a track so away from traffic, walks from the door, adjacent to small railway, 5 star breakfasts. Perfection.

Room Tip: Rear corner room had views over fells and village
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is the best Guest House I have ever stayed at! Everything about the place is perfect.

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights in early April. The owners John and Debs are lovely people - really helpful - nothing is to much trouble for them. The rooms were spotlessly clean and really pleasant with fantastic views over the nearby fells.

The breakfast is excellent quality with a huge choice of pretty much anything you want. We sat for an hour each morning at the breakfast table just watching and photographing the birds and the red squirrels right outside the window.

We spent three days walking in the area and when we got back to the house each day soaked through John had lit the fire so we could sit in the lounge and warm up with a glass of wine! There is a good stock of information leaflets / walking routes / things to do etc in the lounge and John will photocopy them for you which is really useful. The house is set in a lovely location at the end of a very quiet lane - if you want peace, quiet and complete relaxation - away from it all - this is the place to come.

Breakfast starts at 7 which is really handy if you want to get out early walking in the mountains. There are lovely walks both directly from the house and around the Eskdale / Wasdale area. The house has a really good drying room to get all your kit dry ready for the next day! There are two good pubs within 15-20 minutes pleasant walk from the house. Both serve good food. Bring a torch for the walk back home.

Eskdale is one of the nicest and quietest valleys in the whole of the Lake District and we will definitely be back again.

Thanks John and Debs for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawkeye646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed for three nights at Forest How. The B&B is quite far away from the more touristy areas of the lakes, about an hour west towards the coast. The roads are quite narrow and windy, but on the flip side the area is so peaceful and picturesque. And there are a few pubs in the area, some which you can walk to. A visit to Wastwater is recommended, and we also visited a very pretty waterfall which I would recommend. Maps and information are available in the guest lounge or if you ask the hosts, they are happy to help.

The hosts John and Deb are really friendly and the B&B feels very homely, although when you get to the bedrooms it is clear they are running a professional establishment. We had an excellent en suite bathroom with a brilliant shower. Better than mine at home if I'm honest.

The breakfast was really superb, and there is a lot of choice. We were able to eat in the conservatory which meant we could watch all the birds on the feeders and the highlight of our trip - the red squirrels. John is passionate about creating a habitat for the red squirrels which live in the area, and I can't stress enough how rare these gorgeous animals sadly are. We were lucky enough to see them a few times, and they are happy to sit and nibble on the patio or in the gardens which means you get a good view of them.

I would definitely recommend this B&B without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the-rach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eskdale
2.9 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
3.6 mi away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
152 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
2.1 mi away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#3 of 10 in Eskdale
585 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bower House Inn
Bower House Inn
#4 of 10 in Eskdale
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest How Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest How Guest House

Address: Eskdale, Eskdale CA19 1TR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eskdale
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Eskdale
Price Range: £83 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the foot of Muncaster Fell amidst five and a half acres of natural fellside and gardens, Forest How enjoys spectacular views across the Eskdale valley. Set at the end of a quiet lane that crosses the famous Ravenglass and Eskdale Railway, you can leave the car and walk straight from the house or take the steam train up the valley to Boot or down to the coast at Ravenglass. For the outdoor enthusiast, the area is a haven for walkers, cyclists and nature lovers. If you head out for the hills and are unfortunate enough to get caught in a shower, we have a spacious drying room so that all your gear will be dry and ready for the next day’s adventures. We also have secure cycle storage. Frequent visitors to the gardens and surrounding fields include roe deer and red squirrels and you may spot a barn owl at dusk, circling the field for food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Forest How Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest How Guest House Eskdale, Lake District, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing