We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B & B tucked away in a quiet and peaceful location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forest How Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Forest How Guest House
Ranked #2 of 7 Eskdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely B & B tucked away in a quiet and peaceful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

I booked into this B & B unaware of the area and how to get there. Thanks to a SatNav we were able to find it without any problems. We were greeted by very friendly and welcoming owners. The view from our room was lovely there were deer, horses and plenty of birds to watch. Breakfast had many choices and everything was lovely and fresh but watching the birds eat their was just a great highlight. I was hoping to see a red squirrel but wasn't so lucky but talking to the owners we were able to hear the passion they have for the wildlife they are able to keep in the area. I would certainly remember this place if in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beemall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
82
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Esher, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Great location for the Western Lakes area including walking up Scafell, Scafell Pike, Conniston Old Man etc. Hardknott Pass, Wasdale and Conniston lakes where we went sailing also in easy reach. Accommodation was very clean, comfortable, good shower cum bath and fantastic views. Everything worked and our tea/coffee/biscuits were topped up daily. People very helpful and friendly without being obtrusive. Fantastic English breakfasts (haddock and kippers optional) cooked to order. Packed lunches were very good value and saved time in the morning when we wanted to be off and out. Pleasant garden, plenty of parking and a drying room. Plenty of wildlife about inc a great variety of birds, deer, red squirrels. Dogs are not particularly my thing but the resident labs were kept well away. We were particularly grateful for the weather forecasts and info on boat hire printed for us while we were eating breakfast and for chilling our wine in the fridge! At least 5 decent local pubs serving good evening meals.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This B&B is a true hidden gem. The owners are friendly and welcoming, just like their dogs. The views from the location are outstanding and the area is perfect for walkers or those looking to get away from it all.

Nearby there is the Eskdale light-guage steam railway, a few pubs that offer some good pub grub (Although saying that, the english breakfast served here is fantastic and will see you right the way through the day, so you might even want to skip lunch). And for those who do not want to skip lunch there are many paths to walk it off.

The room i stayed in was clean, well lit and had lovely views over the Eskdale region. Overall i had no complaints at all and would highly reccomend this as a destination for those working or having a holiday/break in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We recently stayed at Forest How for four nights and used it as a base for walking in Eskdale and Wasdale. We found it, without doubt, superb. The bedroom was spacious and comfortable and had double aspect windows which gave us magnificent views of the fells. The breakfasts were delicious and kept us going all day when we were walking. We were entertained by pheasants, yellowhammers and a variety of other birds feeding outside the breakfast room. In the early evening we sat drinking wine in the lovely garden with a red squirrel feeding nearby and through our windows at dusk spied hedgehogs and deer. It is a real haven for wildlife. In summary. very comfortable rooms, great hosts with loads of local knowledge, good local pubs to eat at and a perfect position.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hillcove10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We loved this location, very helpful hosts and very comfortable rooms. You should really enjoy your stay here!

Great location for hiking and scenic driving. There's also a great locals pub around the corner that I'd recommend for a feed and a pint at a great price.

Dog friendly, always a plus!

I only wish I had been able to stay for longer. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Bring a rain coat and your walking legs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stewart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I recently stayed at the guest house for two nights on my own and honestly couldn't of wished for a better place to stay! The setting is absolutely beautiful, so quite and peaceful and a must if you're a nature lover, as there are red squirrels, deer and all manner of birds present in the grounds. The owner puts out bird feed on the patio in front of the breakfast room windows each morning, so you can sit and bird watch whilst you eat a scrummy breakfast. The room was comfortable and clean, with everything I needed and I was very impressed with the modern, well fitted, shared bathroom.
I am especially grateful to the owners John and Debs for all the extra help they gave me that weekend. I unfortunately had a car accident on the way up there, yet thanks to their help it did not ruin my weekend at all. They helped try and fix my car, took me to a local mechanic, gave me lifts to and from Wasdale Head (so I could still go walking as planned) and generally helped cheer me up. If it wasn't for them my weekend would have been a write-off too, not just the car!
I will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

This is a lovely bed and breakfast in an area we had never visited.
The hosts were very friendly and keen about the wildlife in the area especially the red squirrels !! :)
The walk to the pub across the fields was lovely and the pub at the end just as nice.
Very quiet peaceful place to stay :)

Room Tip: Very quiet location, I can't think of any good or bad points, sure all would be good in such a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billybrian8265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eskdale
4.8 mi away
Gosforth Hall Inn
Gosforth Hall Inn
#2 of 2 in Gosforth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
2.1 mi away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#1 of 7 in Eskdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Santon Bridge Inn
The Santon Bridge Inn
#2 of 5 in Holmrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bower House Inn
Bower House Inn
#3 of 7 in Eskdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
2.6 mi away
Brook House Inn and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest How Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest How Guest House

Property: Forest How Guest House
Address: Eskdale, Eskdale CA19 1TR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eskdale
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Eskdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the foot of Muncaster Fell amidst five and a half acres of natural fellside and gardens, Forest How enjoys spectacular views across the Eskdale valley. Set at the end of a quiet lane that crosses the famous Ravenglass and Eskdale Railway, you can leave the car and walk straight from the house or take the steam train up the valley to Boot or down to the coast at Ravenglass. For the outdoor enthusiast, the area is a haven for walkers, cyclists and nature lovers. If you head out for the hills and are unfortunate enough to get caught in a shower, we have a spacious drying room so that all your gear will be dry and ready for the next day’s adventures. We also have secure cycle storage. Frequent visitors to the gardens and surrounding fields include roe deer and red squirrels and you may spot a barn owl at dusk, circling the field for food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Forest How Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest How Guest House Eskdale, Lake District, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing