We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just what we needed”
other travellers have booked this property
Exterior of the Coach House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior of the Coach House
Spacious Lounge with door leading into the kitchen Lounge with French windows and stairs to the bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Exterior of the Coach House
Spacious Lounge with door leading into the kitchen
Lounge with French windows and stairs to the bedroom
Bedroom with door leading into En-Suite
Bedroom
Bedroom
Kitchen with door leading into Lounge
Kitchen
Kitchen
En-Suite
En-Suite
Garden Area
Entrance to the Orchards, Coach House is past the main house & holiday Apartment (sleeps 4)
View from the top of Hardknott pass looking down into Eskdale valley
View from the top of Whin Rigg looking towards the Scafell range
Lincove beck old pack horse bridge in upper Eskdale
'Britain's favourite view' - Wasdale of course!
Miterdale looking towards Scafell - the next valley North of Eskdale & only a 10 minute walk
The classic Napes needle in Wasdale - only a 20 minute drive from Eskdale
View of Bow fell from Eskdale
The old corn mill in the Village of Boot, Eskdale
La'al Ratty on it's way to Ravenglass leaving Eskdale with Whinrigg in the background
Steam train at Dalegarth, near the Hamlet of Boot
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Eskdale, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dvdxn80
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
Reviewed 26 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

My wife and I just got back from a stay at the Coach house with our 9 month old daughter. We arrived late due to traffic, but accessing the property went without any problem and we were given a friendly welcome by Michael in the morning as we set off on an exploratory walk around the village.

It was a real pleasure to get back from a day out on fells to a warm and cosy cottage, and it was the perfect size for us, with all essential items provided.

We try and get away at least once a year and go off grid for a bit and we got to do that here despite having the convenience of fast internet, a shop and a couple of great pubs at our desposal!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The rain! ;-)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevLorra...
Tylers Green
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in April 2015

For a couple this accommodation is perfect for a break in the Western Lakes being really convenient for both Eskdale and Wasdale. A lovely large lounge, a pleasant kitchen/breakfast room with an original fireplace and a lovely bedroom with en suite (bath, no shower due to the headroom but not a problem: in fact, a delight to soak after a long day climbing the fells) and a small enclosed paved garden. The owners are really helpful and friendly and we are planning our next visit to this wonderful part of the world and, specifically, this ideal accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quaint comfortable accommodation
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alanbD627...
2 reviews
“Cosy Quaint Cottage”
Reviewed 4 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Mike and Edna were most welcoming with all basic necessities provided for.
The cottage was spotlessly clean and extremely well equipped.
We walked walked most days making use of the narrow gauge 'Ratty' train.
There are walks for all abilities, challenges for the fit and young or if like us you are a little bit more mature (70++) there are plenty of walks to enjoy the stunning scenery.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Mattress hard
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralph M
Madison, WI
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful cottage in a beautiful area”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The Orchard Couch House was perfect for a couple like us. The host were attentive and the facility was comfortable and charming. The low ceiling upstairs "attacked" by wife once and we learned quickly to look out for the beams upstairs.

It is a great area if you like some easy and scenic hiking. Everyday we took a 2 - 4 hour hike right from the house and often took the little "Ratty" train back. This is not really a touristy area but it is rural and beautiful. There are a couple of pubs nearby but the kitchen is well equipped if you bring in your own food to prepare.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dollylox
Corby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cozy and quiet”
Reviewed 9 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The coach house was perfect for me and my partner. We stayed for 3 nights and had some wet and windy weather, and it's a lovely warm place to come back to after a day out.
Beautiful quiet area, and was very easy to find.
I would definitely book again the next time we visit The Lake District. :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dickygsxr
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage in glorious surroundings.”
Reviewed 2 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Me, my wife and our two Dobermanns arrived at the cottage for 7 nights on 24th April.
The accomodation was spotless and was situated in the very heart of Eskdale with loads of walks straight from the doorstep.
Mick and Edna were very welcoming and friendly. The enclosed garden was excellent for the dogs.
Great pubs within 5 minutes walk, especially the King George and the Bower House. Food and ale excellent at both, Johnty, the owner of the King George is a top bloke and very welcoming, dogs welcome in all pubs.
I have stayed in many areas of the lakes and this is one of the finest, Drigg beach is also less than a 10 minutes drive away, Skafell Pike 15 mins away.
A journey on the La'al Ratty steam train is a must, the cottage is a couple of minutes walk from 2 different stations.
I will recommend this cottage to everyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luckyliam...
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Cosy cottage in a beautiful area.”
Reviewed 18 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Had a great few days break here. The location is excellent. The cottage was spotless and the owners have thought of every need. Everything was provided for and made for an enjoyable stay. Was glad to be able to bring our pet collie along and was great to have an enclosed garden available. Really enjoyed the walks right from the doorstep. Would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hill walking right from the doortstep.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing