We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”
other travellers have booked this property
Exterior of the Coach House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior of the Coach House
Spacious Lounge with door leading into the kitchen Lounge with French windows and stairs to the bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Exterior of the Coach House
Spacious Lounge with door leading into the kitchen
Lounge with French windows and stairs to the bedroom
Bedroom with door leading into En-Suite
Bedroom
Bedroom
Kitchen with door leading into Lounge
Kitchen
Kitchen
En-Suite
En-Suite
Garden Area
Entrance to the Orchards, Coach House is past the main house & holiday Apartment (sleeps 4)
View from the top of Hardknott pass looking down into Eskdale valley
View from the top of Whin Rigg looking towards the Scafell range
Lincove beck old pack horse bridge in upper Eskdale
'Britain's favourite view' - Wasdale of course!
Miterdale looking towards Scafell - the next valley North of Eskdale & only a 10 minute walk
The classic Napes needle in Wasdale - only a 20 minute drive from Eskdale
View of Bow fell from Eskdale
The old corn mill in the Village of Boot, Eskdale
La'al Ratty on it's way to Ravenglass leaving Eskdale with Whinrigg in the background
Steam train at Dalegarth, near the Hamlet of Boot
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Eskdale, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Elaine F
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 28 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

First trip to the Lake District for us.
Arrived Friday 20th May for one week and found it straight away so follow your sat nav.
Be aware of the winding roads to get there
First impressions of the cottage was how spotlessly clean it is and smelt lovely. The owner has literally thought of everything you will need for your stay.
Comfy bed, lovely kitchen, bathroom amazing, i cannot recommend it enough to anyone
Walks outside your door and The Ratty is worth its weight in gold.
Weather was kind to us altho i had to depart a day early due to health reasons it did not put a damper on my holiday
A little advise Eskdale was a little too remote for us but thats our fault and noone elses i should have done more research to the area.
Brilliant for walkers

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace
Liked least: Isolation
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick P
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Totally Perfect Idyllic Romantic Retreat...with Walks and Hills Galore!”
Reviewed 18 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

WOW......What an amazing place. The converted Coach House has everything you need for a romantic and peaceful getaway. I booked the Coach House as a secret surprise for my wonderful and amazing girlfriend and I can safely say she wasn't disappointed in any way.
The moment you stepped through the door you could feel the warm, thoughtful, personal touch that Edna and Michael had set up to receive us. The cosy hayloft with oak beams and Velux windows gave you the a feeling of stepping into the history of the place, brilliant!. The homely touches given made staying there even more special. Perfect.
The Coach House is set in a very peaceful and picturesque piece of our wonderful and beautiful Lake District. It has on the door step an abundance of quiet walks and climbs from novice to expert, Scafell Pike with snow capped summit was hardly ever out of view. The "Ratty" narrow gauge railway will take you up/down the valley to Ravenglass and other little towns, literally a short stroll away.

All in all I couldn't recommend more this lovely Old Coach House, to any would be explorer or seeker of peace and quiet without saying it's worth every single second of being there....... Idyllic.

A Big Thanks to the lovely Michael and Edna for making our Valentine's Weekend absolutely perfect.

See you again

Nick and Jan.

PS...Michael booked us the weather!, it worked for half the time we were there....haha.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet and homely feel the Coach House had.
Liked least: Nothing to say.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dvdxn80
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
Reviewed 26 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

My wife and I just got back from a stay at the Coach house with our 9 month old daughter. We arrived late due to traffic, but accessing the property went without any problem and we were given a friendly welcome by Michael in the morning as we set off on an exploratory walk around the village.

It was a real pleasure to get back from a day out on fells to a warm and cosy cottage, and it was the perfect size for us, with all essential items provided.

We try and get away at least once a year and go off grid for a bit and we got to do that here despite having the convenience of fast internet, a shop and a couple of great pubs at our desposal!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The rain! ;-)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevLorra...
Tylers Green
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in April 2015

For a couple this accommodation is perfect for a break in the Western Lakes being really convenient for both Eskdale and Wasdale. A lovely large lounge, a pleasant kitchen/breakfast room with an original fireplace and a lovely bedroom with en suite (bath, no shower due to the headroom but not a problem: in fact, a delight to soak after a long day climbing the fells) and a small enclosed paved garden. The owners are really helpful and friendly and we are planning our next visit to this wonderful part of the world and, specifically, this ideal accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quaint comfortable accommodation
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alanbD627...
2 reviews
“Cosy Quaint Cottage”
Reviewed 4 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Mike and Edna were most welcoming with all basic necessities provided for.
The cottage was spotlessly clean and extremely well equipped.
We walked walked most days making use of the narrow gauge 'Ratty' train.
There are walks for all abilities, challenges for the fit and young or if like us you are a little bit more mature (70++) there are plenty of walks to enjoy the stunning scenery.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Mattress hard
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralph M
Madison, WI
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful cottage in a beautiful area”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The Orchard Couch House was perfect for a couple like us. The host were attentive and the facility was comfortable and charming. The low ceiling upstairs "attacked" by wife once and we learned quickly to look out for the beams upstairs.

It is a great area if you like some easy and scenic hiking. Everyday we took a 2 - 4 hour hike right from the house and often took the little "Ratty" train back. This is not really a touristy area but it is rural and beautiful. There are a couple of pubs nearby but the kitchen is well equipped if you bring in your own food to prepare.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dollylox
Corby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cozy and quiet”
Reviewed 9 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The coach house was perfect for me and my partner. We stayed for 3 nights and had some wet and windy weather, and it's a lovely warm place to come back to after a day out.
Beautiful quiet area, and was very easy to find.
I would definitely book again the next time we visit The Lake District. :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing