We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travellers have booked this property
Exterior of the Coach House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior of the Coach House
Spacious Lounge with door leading into the kitchen Lounge with French windows and stairs to the bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Exterior of the Coach House
Spacious Lounge with door leading into the kitchen
Lounge with French windows and stairs to the bedroom
Bedroom with door leading into En-Suite
Bedroom
Bedroom
Kitchen with door leading into Lounge
Kitchen
Kitchen
En-Suite
En-Suite
Garden Area
Entrance to the Orchards, Coach House is past the main house & holiday Apartment (sleeps 4)
View from the top of Hardknott pass looking down into Eskdale valley
View from the top of Whin Rigg looking towards the Scafell range
Lincove beck old pack horse bridge in upper Eskdale
'Britain's favourite view' - Wasdale of course!
Miterdale looking towards Scafell - the next valley North of Eskdale & only a 10 minute walk
The classic Napes needle in Wasdale - only a 20 minute drive from Eskdale
View of Bow fell from Eskdale
The old corn mill in the Village of Boot, Eskdale
La'al Ratty on it's way to Ravenglass leaving Eskdale with Whinrigg in the background
Steam train at Dalegarth, near the Hamlet of Boot
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Eskdale, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
george c
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 22 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The place was nice .The host was allright, he let us alone .We had anything we need in the house.The only inconvenience was for us the heating. 2 hours in the morning, and 5 hours in the evening, by the time you wake up in the morning the place was cold.Apart from this everything else was perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2017
Sorry you were not totally happy George. Heating times are flexible and would have been altered to suit your requirements if only you had made it clear - as stated in the instructions and during our initial chat.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Clean, comfortable and private. A lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 20 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Eskdale Green is a small village with a general store. The Coach House was a great place to retreat. And the hosts leave you alone but with instructions on how to get in contact. The place was warm but not stuffy, and was fully equipped although had no dishwasher. There is a lovely bathroom with a bath but no shower. A warning for very tall people - sloping ceilings. I brained myself a couple of times despite knowing this! I highly recommend the Coach House.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2018
Thanks for taking the time to leave a nice review, we really appreciate it. Hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamieKirk
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect county retreat”
Reviewed 2 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

If you are searching for peace and quiet in a clean, traditional yet modern cottage, surrounded by picturesque scenery with wonderful walking trails and within walking distance of pubs and attractions, then you can't go wrong here.

The cottage was clean, in fact immaculate, and has everything you need to fulfil self catering needs. We recommend the Bridge Inn for a good feed !

Michael was very lovely and helpful and made good recommendations for local things to do ! Our dog loved his stay too !

We would definitely recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2018
Brilliant review. Thank you for taking the time an
Nd we hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That we felt right at home in the cottage.
Liked least: we didn't use the enclosed court yard
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Autumn196...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly Recommend”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful cottage in a lovely area. Lovely touch with biscuits, bubble bath etc. Fab holiday would definately recommend this dog friendly accommodation

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimmy b
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Outstanding ”
Reviewed 27 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Stayed here from Aug 22nd to 26th and there's not a lot to say that's not already said. Well the owner Michael is very approachable and if you need anything ask him. Brilliant. Brilliant. Brilliant. We have 2 dogs and the courtyard is a life saver. We went out to tea at the King George 1V but we took our own food in a cool box and had our own breakfasts. The shop is 5 minutes up the road. The only issue for us is everything is uphill so if you go pub and have a few you are walking back uphill and it's hard work to be honest but we are not walkers. Turn left and down the hill to Ratty Eskdale train station that takes you to Ravenglass. Can't fault the coach house and it's amenities. It even has a boiler room with a tumble dryer. It's off the beaten track which is what we wanted. Quiet and peaceful beautiful place surrounded by scenery and rivers. If I could I would give this 6stars

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing