We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Greatly in need of improvement.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bower House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bower House Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Eskdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Greatly in need of improvement.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

The Inn is a handsome building with an attractive garden, situated in a beautiful location, but is in dire need of sprucing up in all other departments.

Our en-suite room in the annexe was clean and comfortable (though rather hot due to a radiator left on - in August), but the inn's interior is noticeably tired and shabby. The tone is set by a fireplace by the reception desk stuffed with plastic-lined envelopes and other detritus, over which a cobwebbed lamp hangs. Staff are friendly enough, but an air of semi-disorganisation hung over the service. Our steaks at dinner were fine but in all other respects the food, especially breakfast, was pretty grim.

Considering the excellence of food and local produce the Lakes' numerous high standard pubs and inns of character can boast, the Bower House is significantly failing to make the best of it's fine location, and there is really no reason to recommend a stay (let alone a meal) here at all with so many better options available.

It could be made into a fine destination, but sadly as it stands is definitely one to avoid.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    103
    44
    22
    12
See reviews for
65
159
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

I had to stay through work, going to make sure it is taken off our corporate hotel list. I came in one evening to find my room door unlocked. Houskeeping had been in, made hospital corners of the duvet, missed replacing or taking away the pile of wet towels in the bath, no hoovering, no replacement tea bags, nothing cleaned. Water leaking from upstairs showers into downstairs wadrobes Some of the staff were lovely, others dont give a toss, everything seems too difficult or cant be asked. Would be nice to hear a please or thank you. Professional they are not, stay at your peril!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Looey1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidm084, Manager at Bower House Inn, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
This customer was unsatisfied due to a problem with the shower in his room. The customer stayed with us for a week and on his last night it was reported to us by the guests staying in the room below that the shower was leaking. We went to speak to the customer and offer to change his room this offer was rejected. On speaking to the customer he said that the shower had been leaking all week (he had not reported this problem). This problem has now been rectified. I am sorry if this hasn't happened in this instance however we give fresh towels if the towels have been left in the bath and we replace tea and coffee sachets daily so if this has not been done then I will bring it up with the housekeeping staff . as for the flies there has been a lot this year we have had our pest control people out to have a look and they said that there is not a lot we can do it is a problem that a lot of people are having due to the weather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Didn't expect too much for a 2 star hotel but this place charges too much for their food, which is nothing special. Staff friendly and helpful but there is an air of disorganisation.
The room we occupied had facilities which were ok but a good clean wouldn't have come amiss. Altogether this place could do with much improvement before being worthy of 2 star rating.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Just the two of us stayed here, we were put in a apartment but asked to be moved as someone had been smoking it there, staff were apologetic and moved us into the hotel, got a room over the kitchen, no noise just very hot! The breakfast was lovely and the staff very nice, we went for a lovely walk in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katelin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed here overnight attending a wedding. Reception in large tepees in the grounds. We stayed in the main building, obviously old and many different floor levels. Our room was in the eaves with a shower fitted over the bath in a position impossible to stand up! A bit jaded and a bit dusty. Advertised wifi did not work food at reception was good and breakfast excellent. However a bit overpriced at £100 for bed & breakfast when the whole hotel was booked by be wedding party! We enjoyed the quirky stay.

Room Tip: Main building has several rooms but there are also two separate buildings, the barn and the garden r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 973SimonR973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We were looking forward to a Sunday lunch here before my husband played cricket next to the pub. We arrived at 11.30am expecting to have a drink before ordering lunch. Signs outside said Sunday lunch available from 12pm. when asking at the bar we were told that because they had 2 functions on that day they were too busy and that we could order at 1pm we waited until 1pm expecting lunch they then said it would be another 30 minutes . At 1.30 pm we were told it would be another 30 minutes, at 2.15pm I asked to speak to the manager who said we could order food, because of the time we had to order sandwiches and chips, the bread was dry and the ham was of very poor quality and mainly inedible. The chips were uncooked (even the kids couldn't eat them). The bar was under staffed and the staff let you know it, the younger staff looked like they couldn't care less and the customer service was nil.
I have rated this review as poor although the food element was terrible the setting of the pub and the play facilities for the children were good so I have rated overall as poor.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sparkbr1dge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

I have stayed at the Bower House on several occasions over the past 20 years, a number of times in large groups. Whilst not a 5 star venue, they were always well staffed, in terms of numbers, quality and experience. The rooms were clean if basic, the bar menu was perhaps limited, but the restaurant menu offered more, and the wine list, if not extensive, was eclectic and included some quality. How things have changed. I stayed last weekend with 18 family members for my father's 80th birthday celebration, and sadly I am obliged to say that overall I was disappointed. On the positive side the location is fantastic, the gardens were ideal for a large family group in such beautiful weather, and the restaurant, which we had to ourselves for dinner both nights, was just right for a large private party. And the staff (special thanks to front of house staff David, Becky and Molly) were excellent. Clearly massively overstretched, they smiled throughout, and made every effort to keep us happy. But the negative list is longer; the menu is now limited to the bar menu, with the specials not really changing, and many items not available, the wine list has been brought down to a small and limited range (though to be fair David found me some excellent - and good value - bin ends), the rooms are not what one would call pristine in terms of cleanliness, the beer is not as good as it has been, and the service just cannot keep up with just two or three on bar and serving duty with a busy bar and 20 to 30 residents. We took the local miniature steam railway for a day out in Ravenglass and Boot, and at the latter we visited the Boot (formerly Burnmoor) Inn. I was pleasantly surprised to see former Bower House manager Richard, now employed as manager at the Boot Inn. What a contrast, clearly money has been invested, food, beer and service came promptly, in excellent quality, and I know where I will stay next time I visit the Eskdale valley.

Room Tip: Stay in a modern room in the separate building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DickSands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eskdale
0.0 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Strands Hotel
The Strands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nether Wasdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.0 mi away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#1 of 7 in Eskdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bower House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bower House Inn

Property: Bower House Inn
Address: | Irton, Eskdale CA19 1TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eskdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Eskdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bower House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Eskdale valley, The Bower House Inn is situated 4 miles from the Cumbrian Coast and three miles from the A595, ensuring easy access to all local locations. This 17th century 3 star inn offers superb food, open log fires and a warm welcome. Whether you are a businessman working in the surrounding area wanting a relaxing home from home experience or a traveller seeking a comfortable room, the Bower House is the ideal place. The perfect base for those looking to immerse themselves in nature, with the Lake District National park just moments away and a great start point for those looking to explore the surrounding peaks of Scafell and Great Gable and with Wastwater within easy reach, there are lots of great trails for the more leisurely walker. All 20 rooms are traditional but have their own unique quality and are comfortable with en-suite bathrooms and TV. There is also a modern and well equipped two bedroom flat suitable for families or business parties working in the area. The Bower House Inn provides a number of amenities, including luggage storage, free Wi-Fi, telephones and packed lunches if required. Relax in our beautiful garden set along the back drop of Muncaster Fell, the Bower House Inn boasts the best views in the Eskdale valley. Also why not enjoy a round of golf at discounted rates on Eskdale's spectacular golf course, or relax at one of our local fishing spots. Our bar and dining room have traditional low beamed ceilings where we offer a wide range of local ales, locally sourced produce and an extensive menu produced by a team of highly motivated chefs. Start your day with a good hearty Bower House Breakfast and within minutes you can be on the famous Ravenglass and Eskdale Steam Miniature Railway, exploring the area and all it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, HRS, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bower House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bower House Hotel Eskdale
Bower House Inn Eskdale, Lake District, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing