We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bower House Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA Eskdale(Boot)(Great Value!)
US$52
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$35
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pennington(Ravenglass)
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stanley House(Eskdale)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (421)
Filter reviews
421 results
Traveller rating
215
120
48
24
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
215
120
48
24
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildinglake districtthe pubwarm welcomelovely atmospherebeer gardengreat foodboth nightssunday lunchshort breakcomfy bedsteak and ale pienight stayroaring firean evening mealfull englishcooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
268 - 273 of 421 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The area is idealic. The wedding was great. The Inn was very sub standard. £100 per night B & B. Cobwebs not cleaned, mould on bath and tiles, carpets dirty, breakfast poor, Would not recommend a stay here until they reduce their prices, re-decorate and learn how to cook and clean. It's such a shame that a 300 year old building with history is being peddled this way. We enjoyed this wedding in spite of the accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAS714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The Inn is a handsome building with an attractive garden, situated in a beautiful location, but is in dire need of sprucing up in all other departments.

Our en-suite room in the annexe was clean and comfortable (though rather hot due to a radiator left on - in August), but the inn's interior is noticeably tired and shabby. The tone is set by a fireplace by the reception desk stuffed with plastic-lined envelopes and other detritus, over which a cobwebbed lamp hangs. Staff are friendly enough, but an air of semi-disorganisation hung over the service. Our steaks at dinner were fine but in all other respects the food, especially breakfast, was pretty grim.

Considering the excellence of food and local produce the Lakes' numerous high standard pubs and inns of character can boast, the Bower House is significantly failing to make the best of it's fine location, and there is really no reason to recommend a stay (let alone a meal) here at all with so many better options available.

It could be made into a fine destination, but sadly as it stands is definitely one to avoid.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

I had to stay through work, going to make sure it is taken off our corporate hotel list. I came in one evening to find my room door unlocked. Houskeeping had been in, made hospital corners of the duvet, missed replacing or taking away the pile of wet towels in the bath, no hoovering, no replacement tea bags, nothing cleaned. Water leaking from upstairs showers into downstairs wadrobes Some of the staff were lovely, others dont give a toss, everything seems too difficult or cant be asked. Would be nice to hear a please or thank you. Professional they are not, stay at your peril!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Looey1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidm084, Manager at Bower House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

This customer was unsatisfied due to a problem with the shower in his room. The customer stayed with us for a week and on his last night it was reported to us by the guests staying in the room below that the shower was leaking. We went to speak to the customer and offer to change his room this offer was rejected. On speaking to the customer he said that the shower had been leaking all week (he had not reported this problem). This problem has now been rectified. I am sorry if this hasn't happened in this instance however we give fresh towels if the towels have been left in the bath and we replace tea and coffee sachets daily so if this has not been done then I will bring it up with the housekeeping staff . as for the flies there has been a lot this year we have had our pest control people out to have a look and they said that there is not a lot we can do it is a problem that a lot of people are having due to the weather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Didn't expect too much for a 2 star hotel but this place charges too much for their food, which is nothing special. Staff friendly and helpful but there is an air of disorganisation.
The room we occupied had facilities which were ok but a good clean wouldn't have come amiss. Altogether this place could do with much improvement before being worthy of 2 star rating.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Just the two of us stayed here, we were put in a apartment but asked to be moved as someone had been smoking it there, staff were apologetic and moved us into the hotel, got a room over the kitchen, no noise just very hot! The breakfast was lovely and the staff very nice, we went for a lovely walk in the morning.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katelin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews