We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beer. Bed rather hard.”
Review of Bower House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bower House Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Eskdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The room was average, but had everything I needed including wifi. Note there is no mobile signal here. My daughter had a much larger room in the main building, but she complained that it was rather cold. My bed was to hard.
The best feature is the Bower's own beer, which is excellent value. The menu is standard pub grub but reasonable value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Not_so_Old_Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed here for two nights for a wedding. The room we had was small and dirty, which for £100 per night was a shock to stay the least. There were cobwebs in all corners, cleaniless is clearly not a priority. We didnt have any fresh towels or tea bags during the two nights, in fact I dont think our room was checked once. The water pressure in the shower was non existent and we had to have baths, on chatting to other guests, they all the same problem in the barn building. The bed was so uncomfortable and the mattress clearly needs replacing. The breakfast was extremely poor quality, the cheap sausages looked like they had been sat in a pool of fat and everything on the plate was cold when it reached us! There was never anyone on reception and the staff seemed disorganised. Had we not been attending a wedding we would have left and found alternative accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heno28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidm084, Manager at Bower House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you for stating your concerns, As you can see this traveller stayed with us back at the beginning of August. We did at the time have a problem with housekeeping however we have worked hard to resolve these issues and from the more recent September reviews you can see that this matter has been greatly improved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed here for a wedding, I have to say the staff are lovely and friendly, the room was spacious and very clean and comfy, the breakfast was cooked fresh and was plentiful, the food provided by them for the wedding was absolutely delicious and my husband and I have already said we will go back for a meal one night, well done and keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidm084, Manager at Bower House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. We are very glad that you enjoyed the wedding reception that was held here at the weekend. I am glad that the changes that we have been working on in the past few weeks are now beginning to become apparent and that you found your room to be clean and comfortable and that you enjoyed all aspects of our food. we are a small team here at the bower and I am very proud of the service that we provide. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

A big thank you to Lou, Dave and all of the staff for making our wedding party such a special day. You supported us in our pre wedding plans and worked so hard on the day to make sure that all went smoothly. The food, service and friendliness was second to none. A big thank you from us both. Dave and M-C

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank LadyScragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidm084, Manager at Bower House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure to hold your wedding reception here at the Bower House Inn. We are very proud of our hardworking staff and hope to see you both again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I stayed at the Bowerhouse regularly when I was working at Sellafield nuclear plant. Work was a 15 minute drive away with no traffic was queues in the morning this is comparing to the tailbacks of traffic when trying to get to Sellafield coming from the North when staying in Whitehaven and Workington which could add at least another half hour on to your journey. The location whilst quiet suited me as I liked walking and the peace from normal city life. The price for accommodation was good value for money compared to other places in the area. Food was also good and could not be faulted. The service was excellent and I really would like to thank all of the staff for making me feel welcome and part of their family, they made my stay away from home a lot easier and much more pleasurable, I can't thank them enough. I have now left due to a new job and relocation but I will be back at some point in the future for a holiday. Billy B.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidm084, Manager at Bower House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stays with us over the past 12 months. We are glad that you found our staff to be so welcoming and that you were made to feel like one of the bower house family. We strive to make the Bower House feel like a home from home. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed for one night thankfully as the place is very run down, lights not working in the rooms, kettle doesn't reach the plug socket and has to be placed on the floor (room 6 ) cobwebs around lights windows and pictures, TV dosnt have freeveiw just radio and 5 channels. Reception is a mess with side rooms full of junk in view. In all I think it is in desperate need of money I suspect that is why part of it is being sold off.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SgtMaj1642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Sadly the place has changed hands and clealry gone down hill.

The reception is covered in awards from the previous owner and that is the key point, history.

Breakfast is really dire, cheap frozen sausages and cold food. The food is clearly cooked and then just stored on a hot plate.

Rooms are really, really dirty.

Shower provides a dribble of water.

Rooms smaller than a youth hostel and beds are even smaller.

Actually ran out of tea bags at breakfast, one guest was fobbed off with mackerel as smoked kippers - hilarious, great entertainment at breakfast watching the staff trying to explain that mackerel is a kipper.

Unfortunatley, the only redeeming feature of this place is that they serve a good pint, but there is plenty of other ale houses nearby so I won't have to visit again.

Room Tip: Avoid all the tiny rooms in the annexe, take a really noisy one above the bar instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flatliner303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidm084, Manager at Bower House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

This review makes me very suspicious. Firstly the hotel has not just changes hands the current owners have had the property for a number of years. We have 2012 awards up in the reception as the 2013 awards have not yet come out!
There was only once that we ran out of kippers in the morning and this is due to the fact that they are delivered fresh and when they are gone then they are gone. The customer in question was asked by the member of staff if he would like mackerel instead to which he replied "even better". We have never ran out of t-bags at breakfast and even if we had the customers would not know this as we also have a supply of t-bags for the rooms so would have just gone and got some of those.
If you call locally sourced Lakeland sausages frozen then I would have to agree with you.
I am however glad that you enjoyed your pint.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eskdale
3.8 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
367 reviews
16.3 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
795 reviews
16.9 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
19.1 mi away
The Patterdale Hotel
The Patterdale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Patterdale
1,014 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Santon Bridge Inn
The Santon Bridge Inn
#2 of 5 in Holmrook
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bower House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bower House Inn

Address: | Irton, Eskdale CA19 1TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eskdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Eskdale
Price Range: £55 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bower House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Eskdale valley, The Bower House Inn is situated 4 miles from the Cumbrian Coast and three miles from the A595, ensuring easy access to all local locations. This 17th century 3 star inn offers superb food, open log fires and a warm welcome. Whether you are a businessman working in the surrounding area wanting a relaxing home from home experience or a traveller seeking a comfortable room, the Bower House is the ideal place. The perfect base for those looking to immerse themselves in nature, with the Lake District National park just moments away and a great start point for those looking to explore the surrounding peaks of Scafell and Great Gable and with Wastwater within easy reach, there are lots of great trails for the more leisurely walker. All 20 rooms are traditional but have their own unique quality and are comfortable with en-suite bathrooms and TV. There is also a modern and well equipped two bedroom flat suitable for families or business parties working in the area. The Bower House Inn provides a number of amenities, including luggage storage, free Wi-Fi, telephones and packed lunches if required. Relax in our beautiful garden set along the back drop of Muncaster Fell, the Bower House Inn boasts the best views in the Eskdale valley. Also why not enjoy a round of golf at discounted rates on Eskdale's spectacular golf course, or relax at one of our local fishing spots. Our bar and dining room have traditional low beamed ceilings where we offer a wide range of local ales, locally sourced produce and an extensive menu produced by a team of highly motivated chefs. Start your day with a good hearty Bower House Breakfast and within minutes you can be on the famous Ravenglass and Eskdale Steam Miniature Railway, exploring the area and all it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bower House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bower House Hotel Eskdale
Bower House Inn Eskdale, Lake District, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing