We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be better and hopefullly will be after renovations.”
Review of Bower House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bower House Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Eskdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Could be better and hopefullly will be after renovations.”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This was our first stay here although we have driven past on many occasions on the way to Wasdale. The place is situated superbly with wonderful views to the back. There is a big car park and a huge garden / play area. This hotel should have everything going for it and after the coming renovations I am sure it will be superb. But, the reason it only gets an average rating is because the place is in urgent need of these renovations. The shower was mouldy and the bed could have been better. Customers have voted with their feet it seems, as last Saturday evening we were the only 3 people in the bar. It is a shame really because the food and ale were good.
The people there were also friendly and helpful.
A couple of gripes though..it should have been mentioned when I booked that it would cost £10 for our dog as I asked if the place was ok with dogs in the rooms. Also, I accept that mistakes can be made with bills but it really annoys me when I get charged twice for meals.

Room Tip: Wait until the renovations have been completed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    104
    44
    22
    12
See reviews for
67
164
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We had a wonderful weekend at the Bower House. Log fires, oak beamed bar and great service from the friendly staff. The menu offered good choice and the cooked breakfast was perfect! Our room was very comfortable and had lovely views. This is a charming place to stay – will definitely return soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kim0601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We wanted a real good value pub as a walking base for the weekend, we found one right in the middle of the lakes. From the moment we arrived the staff couldn't do enough for us - big thanks. The food was straightforward, good quality and great value. The beer was exceptional and again great value. We loved all the fires and so did our dogs. The rooms we ok, nothing special, but clean and comfortable. We will be returning again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

When we booked The Bower we were hoping for a relaxing, low key night away from all the hustle and bustle in a traditional inn. And that's exactly what we got. What impressed us most was the quality of the food - superb ingredients, imaginative dishes and excellently cooked. The service was great too and we were made to feel very welcome (without being smothered). I'm sad to see so many negative comments here on TripAdvisor as that certainly wasn't our experience. It nearly put us off and I'm very glad it didn't.

Room Tip: We chose a Premium Double in the original part of the main building - think these are more original...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough
Level Contributor
92 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The room was average, but had everything I needed including wifi. Note there is no mobile signal here. My daughter had a much larger room in the main building, but she complained that it was rather cold. My bed was to hard.
The best feature is the Bower's own beer, which is excellent value. The menu is standard pub grub but reasonable value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Not_so_Old_Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed here for two nights for a wedding. The room we had was small and dirty, which for £100 per night was a shock to stay the least. There were cobwebs in all corners, cleaniless is clearly not a priority. We didnt have any fresh towels or tea bags during the two nights, in fact I dont think our room was checked once. The water pressure in the shower was non existent and we had to have baths, on chatting to other guests, they all the same problem in the barn building. The bed was so uncomfortable and the mattress clearly needs replacing. The breakfast was extremely poor quality, the cheap sausages looked like they had been sat in a pool of fat and everything on the plate was cold when it reached us! There was never anyone on reception and the staff seemed disorganised. Had we not been attending a wedding we would have left and found alternative accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heno28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidm084, Manager at Bower House Inn, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for stating your concerns, As you can see this traveller stayed with us back at the beginning of August. We did at the time have a problem with housekeeping however we have worked hard to resolve these issues and from the more recent September reviews you can see that this matter has been greatly improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed here for a wedding, I have to say the staff are lovely and friendly, the room was spacious and very clean and comfy, the breakfast was cooked fresh and was plentiful, the food provided by them for the wedding was absolutely delicious and my husband and I have already said we will go back for a meal one night, well done and keep up the good work.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidm084, Manager at Bower House Inn, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are very glad that you enjoyed the wedding reception that was held here at the weekend. I am glad that the changes that we have been working on in the past few weeks are now beginning to become apparent and that you found your room to be clean and comfortable and that you enjoyed all aspects of our food. we are a small team here at the bower and I am very proud of the service that we provide. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eskdale
0.0 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
0.0 mi away
Gosforth Hall Inn
Gosforth Hall Inn
#2 of 2 in Gosforth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.0 mi away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#1 of 7 in Eskdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bower House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bower House Inn

Property: Bower House Inn
Address: | Irton, Eskdale CA19 1TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eskdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Eskdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bower House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Eskdale valley, The Bower House Inn is situated 4 miles from the Cumbrian Coast and three miles from the A595, ensuring easy access to all local locations. This 17th century 3 star inn offers superb food, open log fires and a warm welcome. Whether you are a businessman working in the surrounding area wanting a relaxing home from home experience or a traveller seeking a comfortable room, the Bower House is the ideal place. The perfect base for those looking to immerse themselves in nature, with the Lake District National park just moments away and a great start point for those looking to explore the surrounding peaks of Scafell and Great Gable and with Wastwater within easy reach, there are lots of great trails for the more leisurely walker. All 20 rooms are traditional but have their own unique quality and are comfortable with en-suite bathrooms and TV. There is also a modern and well equipped two bedroom flat suitable for families or business parties working in the area. The Bower House Inn provides a number of amenities, including luggage storage, free Wi-Fi, telephones and packed lunches if required. Relax in our beautiful garden set along the back drop of Muncaster Fell, the Bower House Inn boasts the best views in the Eskdale valley. Also why not enjoy a round of golf at discounted rates on Eskdale's spectacular golf course, or relax at one of our local fishing spots. Our bar and dining room have traditional low beamed ceilings where we offer a wide range of local ales, locally sourced produce and an extensive menu produced by a team of highly motivated chefs. Start your day with a good hearty Bower House Breakfast and within minutes you can be on the famous Ravenglass and Eskdale Steam Miniature Railway, exploring the area and all it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bower House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bower House Hotel Eskdale
Bower House Inn Eskdale, Lake District, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing