We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”
Review of Bower House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bower House Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Eskdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Just had a lovely two day stay at the Bower Inn. We booked with a KGB voucher this time but would be happy to pay their going rates in future. My first impression was a little mixed as some of the bar furniture does at this time look a little tired but picked up from Vicki that they were planning a refurbish very soon, and in any case the roaring fire that was going more then made up for any of my concerns, especially with a pint or two of that Keswick bitter what was on offer. The food was great, staff friendly and our room warm and cosey. If you might be looking and considering the Bower, now ( November ) would be a good time as the surrounding woodlands and valley are full of Autumn colour's to see.

Room Tip: Well we can only speak for the room we used which was the " Great Gable" room, guess it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

What a tonic it has been to relax at the beautiful Bower House over this last weekend. We loved the tranquil rural setting and the charm of the historic inn, especially in the bar with its cosy log fire and varied food menu. All the food was tasty and nothing was too much trouble for the welcoming staff. We shared riotously funny evenings socialising with other guests and during the day we enjoyed walks in the stunning scenery around Dalegarth falls and Wastwater. Our room was really clean and comfortable (very warm!) with perfect views of the setting sun at 'golden hour'. Special thanks to Steve for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Enjoyed our stay.
Room clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was great.
Really good location, pretty local area and as a base for seeing this part of the lakes.
Good value and will defiantly stay again and have recommended to friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This was our first stay here although we have driven past on many occasions on the way to Wasdale. The place is situated superbly with wonderful views to the back. There is a big car park and a huge garden / play area. This hotel should have everything going for it and after the coming renovations I am sure it will be superb. But, the reason it only gets an average rating is because the place is in urgent need of these renovations. The shower was mouldy and the bed could have been better. Customers have voted with their feet it seems, as last Saturday evening we were the only 3 people in the bar. It is a shame really because the food and ale were good.
The people there were also friendly and helpful.
A couple of gripes though..it should have been mentioned when I booked that it would cost £10 for our dog as I asked if the place was ok with dogs in the rooms. Also, I accept that mistakes can be made with bills but it really annoys me when I get charged twice for meals.

Room Tip: Wait until the renovations have been completed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We had a wonderful weekend at the Bower House. Log fires, oak beamed bar and great service from the friendly staff. The menu offered good choice and the cooked breakfast was perfect! Our room was very comfortable and had lovely views. This is a charming place to stay – will definitely return soon!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kim0601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We wanted a real good value pub as a walking base for the weekend, we found one right in the middle of the lakes. From the moment we arrived the staff couldn't do enough for us - big thanks. The food was straightforward, good quality and great value. The beer was exceptional and again great value. We loved all the fires and so did our dogs. The rooms we ok, nothing special, but clean and comfortable. We will be returning again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

When we booked The Bower we were hoping for a relaxing, low key night away from all the hustle and bustle in a traditional inn. And that's exactly what we got. What impressed us most was the quality of the food - superb ingredients, imaginative dishes and excellently cooked. The service was great too and we were made to feel very welcome (without being smothered). I'm sad to see so many negative comments here on TripAdvisor as that certainly wasn't our experience. It nearly put us off and I'm very glad it didn't.

Room Tip: We chose a Premium Double in the original part of the main building - think these are more original...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eskdale
2.4 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
19.1 mi away
The Patterdale Hotel
The Patterdale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Patterdale
1,009 reviews
16.9 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Gosforth Hall Inn
Gosforth Hall Inn
#2 of 2 in Gosforth
154 reviews
1.6 mi away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#3 of 10 in Eskdale
597 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Santon Bridge Inn
The Santon Bridge Inn
#2 of 5 in Holmrook
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bower House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bower House Inn

Address: | Irton, Eskdale CA19 1TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eskdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Eskdale
Price Range: £56 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bower House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Eskdale valley, The Bower House Inn is situated 4 miles from the Cumbrian Coast and three miles from the A595, ensuring easy access to all local locations. This 17th century 3 star inn offers superb food, open log fires and a warm welcome. Whether you are a businessman working in the surrounding area wanting a relaxing home from home experience or a traveller seeking a comfortable room, the Bower House is the ideal place. The perfect base for those looking to immerse themselves in nature, with the Lake District National park just moments away and a great start point for those looking to explore the surrounding peaks of Scafell and Great Gable and with Wastwater within easy reach, there are lots of great trails for the more leisurely walker. All 20 rooms are traditional but have their own unique quality and are comfortable with en-suite bathrooms and TV. There is also a modern and well equipped two bedroom flat suitable for families or business parties working in the area. The Bower House Inn provides a number of amenities, including luggage storage, free Wi-Fi, telephones and packed lunches if required. Relax in our beautiful garden set along the back drop of Muncaster Fell, the Bower House Inn boasts the best views in the Eskdale valley. Also why not enjoy a round of golf at discounted rates on Eskdale's spectacular golf course, or relax at one of our local fishing spots. Our bar and dining room have traditional low beamed ceilings where we offer a wide range of local ales, locally sourced produce and an extensive menu produced by a team of highly motivated chefs. Start your day with a good hearty Bower House Breakfast and within minutes you can be on the famous Ravenglass and Eskdale Steam Miniature Railway, exploring the area and all it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bower House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bower House Hotel Eskdale
Bower House Inn Eskdale, Lake District, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing