We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bower House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bower House Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Eskdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

This pub was a five minute walk from our rented cottage. They were happy for our two dogs to sit in the beer garden which was lovely. (Beautiful vivid blue rhododendrons). The menu was varied. My parter had a mixed grill which was plentiful & I had a goats cheese & leek strudel - delish !!!! With homemade spotted dick for dessert it ended a great evening.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    104
    44
    22
    12
See reviews for
67
163
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

On the third day of our trip from Arizona, we went on a long explore over Hardknott and Wrynose, and stopped in to the Bower House pub hoping to find fish and chips for our daughter who had tried the dish for the first time the day before. We were very pleasantly surprised by the beautiful grounds, friendly staff, and fantastic restaurant. Not only did the fish and chips exceed my daughter's expectations, all of us enjoyed our meals. Especially delicious was the sticky toffee pudding. We highly recommend the Bower House.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZHoskings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had our wedding at the Bowerhouse. The views are wonderful and the grounds of the hotel are lovely and well kept. Beth and the team bent over backwards to make our wedding perfect and keep our guests happy. Nothing was too much trouble.
Previous to Beth's management the Inn was not as presentable as it should be and the rooms were becoming tired. Beth and her team have worked hard to get the Bowerhouse looking lovely again. It was the rural, old world charm we loved about the venue and that is still its main feature.
Beth and the team are wonderful and we can't wait to go back and visit.

Room Tip: The main building appeared to be more presentable but they are doing up the barn rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hansonlover71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here last week with my two children for a few nights during half term break. This is an excellent hotel, the breakfast is delicious and the food in bar is really good. Myself and my children were made to feel welcome by all the staff especially the manageress Beth. The accommodation was comfortable and clean with coffee/tea making facilities in the rooms. I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights in May 2014 for a wedding. The Inn grounds are lovely and the view was spectacular. The Inn itself is quite old and has a lot of character. Our room was in the main Inn building and was adequate. There were some stains on the carpet which wasn't very nice but other than that the rooms were generally clean and tidy. The manager Beth was very friendly and literally bent over backgrounds to make sure everything ran on schedule and all the guests were happy. The day after the wedding during breakfast one guest asked what time the breakfast orders finished and she replied "until the last person gets up".

The food on the wedding day was nice, the beef was tender but there was not enough gravy, so having gravy boats placed on each table would have been a good idea. Also staff seemed a little stressed out on the day which is understandable. Breakfast was nice, I had the Bower House full english breakfast one morning and there was also yogurts and a selection of cereals, along with a toaster to make your own toast. I probably wouldn't have stayed here if it hadn't been out of necessity for the wedding but you could tell they tried hard to please everyone and if I was ever in the area i wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the main Inn building and not the barn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

A warm welcome, and a satisfactory evening meal (enormous portions) and a well priced bar. The next morning was the day of the wedding and the staff were clearly under a lot of pressure. This showed in the way customers were spoken to over a miscommunication regarding the times breakfast was served to, which led to an awkward start to the day. Despite this, the staff later on proved themselves to be in full control and the day was well organised and enjoyed by all. The wedding meal was enjoyable, but again needs thinking about e.g. Gravy boats on tables, but all in all was very good. The breakfast the next day was 100 times better - both in delivery and quality of the food and the atmosphere was much lighter and enjoyable.

The accommodation we had was in the 'barn'. This was pleasant enough, and although it was a little tight on bedroom space, the bed itself was very comfy and the view was spectacular. The en-suite was very big and included a full size bath, great to relax in after a long day!

Overall, this hotel is on the up. The staff are finding their feet and are improving day on day. The location is great and if you want comfort and relaxation, here is the place to come. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Just back from a two night stay at the Bower House Inn with my husband, family, friends and dogs. We travelled down to Cumbria to climb Scaffell pike. This was the ideal location and offered, good and affordable accommodation. The welcome and hospitality we received from everyone at the Inn was of the highest standard. This is a relaxed Inn where the staff make sure your needs are met. We enjoyed everything about this Inn including the food, drinks and surroundings. We would highly recommend the Bower house Inn and look forwarding to returning in the future. PS Breakfast is.........Yum

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spice5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eskdale
0.0 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel
0.0 mi away
Gosforth Hall Inn
Gosforth Hall Inn
#2 of 2 in Gosforth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.0 mi away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#1 of 7 in Eskdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bower House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bower House Inn

Property: Bower House Inn
Address: | Irton, Eskdale CA19 1TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eskdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Eskdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bower House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Eskdale valley, The Bower House Inn is situated 4 miles from the Cumbrian Coast and three miles from the A595, ensuring easy access to all local locations. This 17th century 3 star inn offers superb food, open log fires and a warm welcome. Whether you are a businessman working in the surrounding area wanting a relaxing home from home experience or a traveller seeking a comfortable room, the Bower House is the ideal place. The perfect base for those looking to immerse themselves in nature, with the Lake District National park just moments away and a great start point for those looking to explore the surrounding peaks of Scafell and Great Gable and with Wastwater within easy reach, there are lots of great trails for the more leisurely walker. All 20 rooms are traditional but have their own unique quality and are comfortable with en-suite bathrooms and TV. There is also a modern and well equipped two bedroom flat suitable for families or business parties working in the area. The Bower House Inn provides a number of amenities, including luggage storage, free Wi-Fi, telephones and packed lunches if required. Relax in our beautiful garden set along the back drop of Muncaster Fell, the Bower House Inn boasts the best views in the Eskdale valley. Also why not enjoy a round of golf at discounted rates on Eskdale's spectacular golf course, or relax at one of our local fishing spots. Our bar and dining room have traditional low beamed ceilings where we offer a wide range of local ales, locally sourced produce and an extensive menu produced by a team of highly motivated chefs. Start your day with a good hearty Bower House Breakfast and within minutes you can be on the famous Ravenglass and Eskdale Steam Miniature Railway, exploring the area and all it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bower House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bower House Hotel Eskdale
Bower House Inn Eskdale, Lake District, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing