We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“King George Flat.”
Review of King George IV Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eskdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
King George IV Inn
Ranked #7 of 10 Eskdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed in the King George Flat Dec. 28th until jan 4th Had a lovely time cosy little flat well stocked with kitchen tools and everything you need and ghostly noises if your into ghost this is your place doors rattling and footsteps was told it was Mary the ghost spooked me. John the owner Brill cant do enough for you we are staying end of this year but not in the flat.Love ly place but I dont do ghost slept with the light on.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2012

Some friends and I stayed in the flat above the pub over New Year for a few days. The owner and staff were excellent, friendly, helpful and good fun. They went the extra mile on a number of occasions and really added to the whole experience. Despite being there a few days, we only dined at the pub once; the food was plentiful, tasty and quick to arrive. I really felt part of the community/extended pub family during my short stay and would be quick to recommend the King George IV as accomodation, watering hole or pub-restaurant.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Crystalkinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

This is a great pub that has a very energetic welcoming host. The pub had over 20 different beers, from local breweries, on over the Christmas period. The staff were extremely friendly. The food was good. A favourite with the locals who are very happy to see visitors. A log fire is always burning and dogs are welcome. Probably the best pub I've been to in years! Thanks Jonty and Jackie Lass!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We had a large group stay here for a walking weekend and used both the cabin and the apartment. Both were newly furnished and had lots of room. The apartment had a log fire and dogs were also welcome. The staff were very friendly and accomodating and we had a great meal in the pub which was served with fresh homemade chips! I also reccomend the hunters chicken. Very easy place to start a walk to scafell pike.

Room Tip: Apartment allowed dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

I booked this friendly pub as it was remote, accommodated 8 people and was remote enough for our group to enjoy themselves.
On arrival the lady welcomed us with open arms and discussed the local area whilst serving us fantastic traditional ales and great food.
The landlord, Jonty, was also a fantastic host and understood our requirements.
The accommodation was well finished, well equipped and very comfortable.
Overall I would recommend this place to anyone and have already booked for next year.

Room Tip: All are good but the apartment was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Stayed with two mates for a scafell trip. this pub is set in a great location and has a great atmosphere, really good selection of beer which was enough reason to stay, let alone the friendly and enthusiastic staff and landlord. very welcoming and accommodating.
The Apartment was really comfortable with good beds,open fire, tv, ipod dock. separate well equipped kitchen.
Will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidS922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Just returned from a week’s camping at nearby Fisherground. This was the perfect distance for stumbling home after each night’s delights at the King George IV’s Beer Festival. The beer was excellent – “Perfection in a Glass!” It is looked after with passion – there were over 30 real ales to choose from, most of them locally sourced, plus a range of lagers and traditional ciders. There was good live music for the festival weekend, which went down well with locals and holidaymakers alike.

This is an attractive traditional pub, with flagstone floors and an open fire. Even without the beer festival on, there are still 9 real ales to choose from and good traditional pub food. Good range of meals, the specials change regularly, and the 10oz sirloin was especially yummy! Managed to find a gap for the puddings, which went down very well (they don’t scrimp with the cream either).

The landlord and bar-staff are friendly and welcoming, as are the locals. It is certainly a pub that is much easier to get in to, than it is to ever get out of! This was our second visit this year, and nothing disappointed on the return trip. If you are looking for good, honest food and beer, then this is well worth a visit.

We also (somehow?) ended up going home with a black cat.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eskdale
3.0 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
1.1 mi away
Bower House Inn
Bower House Inn
#4 of 10 in Eskdale
391 reviews
1.8 mi away
Brook House Inn and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Boot Inn
The Boot Inn
#1 of 3 in Boot
380 reviews
0.7 mi away
Forest How Guest House
Forest How Guest House
#1 of 10 in Eskdale
185 reviews
2.7 mi away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#3 of 10 in Eskdale
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King George IV Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George IV Inn

Address: Eskdale Green, Eskdale CA19 1TS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eskdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Eskdale
Price Range: £45 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King George IV Inn, Eskdale Green, is a centuries old traditional Cumbrian Inn offering good local food, lots of local real ales, malt whiskies and a choice of self-catering accommodation and B&B en-suite rooms. Here at the King George, we extend a warm welcome to all visitors to the Eskdale Valley, whether you're staying with us, having a meal or simply stopping for refreshments on your journey. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
King George Iv Hotel Eskdale
King George IV Inn Eskdale, Lake District, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing