We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class pub with good food”
Review of King George IV Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eskdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
King George IV Inn
Ranked #6 of 10 Eskdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“First class pub with good food”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Spent a glorious Spring afternoon here at a family function. Staff very friendly. Very well stocked bar and had a great Sunday roast lunch and of course the location is unbeatable, in the middle of one of the best walking areas in the UK.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    40
    15
    11
    24
See reviews for
65
95
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Freckleton, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

A great pub. A warm dog friendly welcome where they truly can not do too much to help. The food is brilliant and great value for money with a great selection of real ales if that's what takes your fancy. A really friendly and relaxing place to unwind after a days walking in the beautiful West Lakes. Thank you

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed just down the road in the log cabins (self catering) near fisherground campsite. As we love the west side of the lakes due to it's unspoilt scenery fantastic views and not as commercialised as most places, this is and always will be one of the best eating houses in the lakes. We love the walks over to Wasdale and down the river to Boot but always, always return back to the pub. Our main reason is that even though we are not locals, the warm freindly atmosphere, great food with different ales you realises whilst sitting in the bar eating and drinking next to the log fires, that there is a local feel that makes everyone welcolme... See you all again soon, new and old freinds.
Sam Sue & Bill (the lakeland terrier) keep an eye for our next review as we are staying in the hotel as Bill loved the rooms and log fires.

Room Tip: As you are in the lakes every room has its own special view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Booked the King George after looking through central lakes pubs/accomodation at late notice for a night away for me and the girlfriend and all being full. So glad they were though! Jonothan and his staff are great,very friendly and accomodating,nothing too much trouble. Food was excellent,guinness too! Plus a wide range of whiskies to try. We stayed in a double room which could maybe do with updating but was excellent value at £60 including a superb breakfast.(£60 all in,not per person, you'll be lucky to find anywhere in the lakes anywhere that price) Had a great night sitting in the bar and enjoying the atmosphere,will definately be going back..

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neil p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We have just returned from a long weekend at the King George IV Inn. We rented the apartment above the pub there were six adults, two children, a baby, and two dogs. The apartment was spotlessly clean and very warm on arrival. The landlord Jonathan and all his staff were very friendly and nothing seemed too much trouble for any of them.The pub food is excellent and he keeps a good pint. The pub is in a brilliant location for walking and only 5 mins from the Eskdale/Ravenglass railway. We would have no hesitation on returning to the King George 1V Inn.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank feildman53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Ate here whilst staying in the area and it was a wonderful local pub with a selection of good local beers; the service was very friendly; there was a selection of good food and a good range of whisky.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brizzley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacxkpool
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I have just returned from a long weekend at the King George IV Inn. We rented the apartment above the pub as it sleeps 8. The apartment was clean and warm on arrival and a fire was laid in the hearth ready for a match.

The landlord Jonty is jovial and friendly and it seems nothing is too much trouble and the bar staff Jacky and Louise go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The array of local ales and open fire ( that I have never seen go out) takes the chill off after a long walk and makes it very hard to leave.

On a scale of 1-10 I would give this a 10 without hesitation, so much so that I have only been home for a day and I am already looking to book a return visit.

I took my dog as both the apartment and the pub are very dog friendly. Cheers guys we had a blast.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eskdale
3.0 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
5.6 mi away
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
1.9 mi away
The Boot Inn
The Boot Inn
#1 of 3 in Boot
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Santon Bridge Inn
The Santon Bridge Inn
#2 of 5 in Holmrook
384 reviews
2.7 mi away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#3 of 10 in Eskdale
565 reviews
1.8 mi away
Brook House Inn and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King George IV Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George IV Inn

Property: King George IV Inn
Address: Eskdale Green, Eskdale CA19 1TS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eskdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Eskdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King George IV Inn, Eskdale Green, is a centuries old traditional Cumbrian Inn offering good local food, lots of local real ales, malt whiskies and a choice of self-catering accommodation and B&B en-suite rooms. Here at the King George, we extend a warm welcome to all visitors to the Eskdale Valley, whether you're staying with us, having a meal or simply stopping for refreshments on your journey. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
King George Iv Hotel Eskdale
King George IV Inn Eskdale, Lake District, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing