We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Greatest Pub on Earth!!!”
Review of King George IV Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eskdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
King George IV Inn
Ranked #6 of 10 Eskdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Greatest Pub on Earth!!!”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

My wife & I stayed in one of the rooms within the pub over the Jubilee Weekend break. It was our 3rd time & we were totally blown away with the "electric" atmosphere within this fine establishment. Our last visit was 10yrs ago & when we met Jonty on our arrival I remarked that the place looked just the same as when we were last there. A huge smile appeared on his face as he told us with huge pride the story of how he used to work in the kitchen as a kid helping out & later as a teenager how he would drink there at "his" local. He went on to explain how within the last 10yrs that the pub had deteriated significantly under previous ownership & that we wouldn't have recognised it. The point here is I had remarked that the pub hadn't changed & it hadn't due to the drive, passion & commitment of one man & his amazing team to breath life back into this fine establishment & bring it back to life, this pub has a heartbeat & soul that you can genuinely feel whilst your there.
Jonty & his team do the simple things correctly, they do not over complicate how they deliver their unique service, & believe me the service is impeccable. One example of this impeccable service springs to mind. On our 1st evening my wife had asked me if I knew what time breakfast would be served bearing in mind most of the hotels you stay in these days give you a window that can be anywhere between 7am - 8:30am (you get the picture). We asked Emma the times of breakfast & she looked at us rather surprised & answered "what time would you like breakfast?". A that is just it, Jonty has created this excellent commitment from his staff to deliver this unique service, but to them it's just the norm. They are not doing this because it's a job, they are doing it because they believe in Jonty & more importantly because they genuinely want to do this. These guys have gone back to basics & deliver what we want on our hard earned holiday, to be treated as an individual with no thrills or hidden extras & to be looked after as though we are one of the family, & to be honest that's what you are, one of the family.
I can't sign off without mentioning the excellent Jubilee BBQ that the team organised for the local community as well as their extended "family" & also another example of the team spirit within the King George VI. The BBQ was fired up around 12 in order to serve the multitude of people descending on the establishment with the Jubilee floats. Jonty had mentioned that we would be in for the best Jubilee party in the UK & he was right. The masses landed all hungry & no doubt thirsty having travelled the length of this beautiful valley. We purchased a raffle ticket each & were advised to hand in the ticket when we were ready to have some food bearing in mind that the BBQ would be winding down around 5 to allow the chef to leg it to the kitchen to prepare for the divine evening menu. Within the next few hours we witnessed Jonty & Jaqui serve the masses without anyone having to wait any longer than if the pub was empty. These guys don't need to have 6 bar staff standing around just in case it gets busy, they just get on & deliver whilst retaining that special banter that we so became accustomed to. Back to the BBQ & the unique attitude of the staff involved. By around 3:30pm the que had finally dropped to around 10 so we decided to exchange our raffle tickets for food. Based on previous experiences here in Jersey we started asking each other what we might have, burger for me, chicken for the wife. On reaching Dan we asked what we were eligible to have with out ticket, & do you you know what the answer was? "how hungry are you?". This guy had stood outside since probably before 11am preparing the BBQ (in the rain) & yet still delivered the unique service that the King George VI surly must pride itself on. Needless to say I had the biggest beef, sausage & chicken burger you have ever seen topped with various scrumptious toppings, & yes if your wondering the kitchen was up & running for the 5pm menu!!!
So how do you end such a review, well needless to say on our return to Jersey we booked for 5 days in 2013 & we are taking the parents as well. A visit to the King George VI must be on everyone's bucket list, you have to go & experience this passion & commitment that is Jonty & the team. Go on do it now, book that hard earned holiday you deserve, you certainly won't regret it.
Oh & did we mention Eskdale is beautiful.
Martin & Andrea
Jersey

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    39
    15
    9
    24
See reviews for
63
94
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with my friend in the 2 letting rooms for 8 days. We love both Eskdale and Wasdale for the mountains, tranquility, and photography. We have stayed in this area for a few years now, but this is the best place....why? Here's why:-
- Jonty is the owner of this freehold free house, he never stops working, always willing to please.
- He has excellent, loyal staff, in whom he places absolute trust. This results in a happy atmosphere. A happy staff is a good staff. Jaqui, Emma, Jan, Dan (chef), and all you others, are awesome :-)
- Real ales. Jonty is a genius. He sells beer at £2.80 a pint, no matter what the ABV is; he goes for lots of sales with smaller profit, as opposed to big profits with little sales, which will always result in a firkin of vinegar, which is unsellable as beer. The Woolpack should think of this when they try and sell a pint for £4+ ...... erm, no mate, I'm not paying that, youth. And definitely not for 4 week old vinegar. The King George sells beer so fast, I saw a 9 gallon firkin go in less than a day. So here is your Eskdale beer winner! There are countless real ales on, ever changing
:-)
- Requests. We asked, tongue-in-cheek when booking, if he could get Bunnahabhain 18 year old malt whisky for us. He had it all ready for our arrival! Needless to say, we drank it all. We also enjoyed other malts, ya gotta try the Banff.....
- The locals. Great people, friendly and great fun.
- The food is yummy honest fayre. If you fancy a bit more extravagant food, say a sea bass, one night, just walk a couple of miles to Boot and eat at the Brook House Inn, which we did on 2 of our 8 nights.
- The 2 letting rooms are just right, and not a rip off. Spot on.
- Overall price:- very very good.
- Atmosphere...perfect; in fact you could say:-
"Bucking marvellous, lad........."

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 666Pale-Rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Myself and three others stayed in the cabin for a long weekend for a family wedding.... I cannot express how impressed we were with the cabin itself and also the King George IV Inn. Jonty is most definitely the best host, he could not do more for his guests. The bar staff were also lovely and so were the Locals! My boyfriend and his brother were very impressed with the ales and we had one of the best roast dinners ever. Eskadale itself is a beautiful place, the best cure for a hangover was to climb the mountain just oposite the King George IV Inn.

I would really recommend this place to anyone and we will 100% go back in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraEna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We spent a weekend at the King George IV recently. We cannot recommend it highly enough. The pub is situated in the middle of the beautiful Eskdale valley. We booked B&B in one of the guest rooms. The room was clean had a bath (with a shower) and plenty of hot water. Tea and coffee making facilities were available in the room. The room we stayed in did not have a TV, the light over the sink did not work and the drawers in the bedroom needed repairing. However, these are minor points which are easily rectified. Aside from the location, what sets this place apart is the friendly and helpful service and excellent food and drink. Jonathan, the owner, was a fantastic host throughout our stay. He made us feel very welcome, nothing was too much trouble. We had a full English breakfast each morning which was delicious. The sausage and bacon was sourced locally and of excellent quality. We also ate and drank in the pub each evening. Everything we had was great, although the steak pie stood out. There is a diverse range of real ales and they were all well kept. Although neither of us are fans of whisky, there is a diverse selection to choose from. We will definitely be visiting again in the near future. A gem of a place with real character. It is a credit to the hard work put in by everyone who works there.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is a great place to stay in the Lakes. The accommodation is very cosy and it's great to be right next to the pub, which has a good selection of food and some great Ales to try. The staff and the owner are very friendly and make you feel very welcome. The location is perfect, surrounded by the hills and the meadows. We had a great time and I would definitely come back here.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 8 bed cottage and that was just perfect for us. The views are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Great pub. Stayed over the pub after hiking up on the pass and lake area. The pub is located out in the countryside and is a really good place to grab some food and a pint after hiking in the surrounding hills. Very friendly staff and owner, reasonable prices and good food also. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moveinon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed here for the Easter weekend with a group of 6 friends. The pre-fabricated cabin is attached to the main Inn building and has one bedroom with a double bed and WC, a second bedroom with twin single beds, a separate kitchen, bathroom, then large dining and lounge area with a fold out double fouton.
Although the space on paper seems tiny, it is actually amazing the amount of stuff they fit into this cabin, and because of windows on every side opening up onto the beautiful views of rolling mountains and sheep outside, you never feel like it's too small or that there isn't enough room.
It was pretty cold and dreary when we were there, but there's a gas fire in the loungeroom and hydraulic heating everywhere so it never got cold.
The kitchen was great as with an oven/microwave/grill/hotplates/toaster/kettle and all the cuttlery/crockery we were able to do most of our own cooking all weekend.
When we wanted a break from cooking we ate in the Inn pub, 30 seconds walk from the cabin. The atmosphere was good, lots of locals however we never felt like we were intruding or were unwanted! Definately reccommend the Steak and Ale pie or the local curled sausage, they also have a great selection of Ales. The staff were incredibly friendly and made us feel totally at home.
The location is great, you can leave for many walks without having to drive to the start, obviously the surrounding scenery and hikes are stunning.
Between six of us I found the price incredibly reasonable especially since it was the Easter weekend. Definately a perfect way to spend a relaxing weekend with friends, family and could definately serve as a romantic getaway as well!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillian-Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eskdale
3.0 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
4.5 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
348 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Boot Inn
The Boot Inn
#1 of 3 in Boot
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Santon Bridge Inn
The Santon Bridge Inn
#2 of 5 in Holmrook
378 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bower House Inn
Bower House Inn
#4 of 10 in Eskdale
365 reviews
1.8 mi away
Brook House Inn and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King George IV Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George IV Inn

Property: King George IV Inn
Address: Eskdale Green, Eskdale CA19 1TS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eskdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Eskdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King George IV Inn, Eskdale Green, is a centuries old traditional Cumbrian Inn offering good local food, lots of local real ales, malt whiskies and a choice of self-catering accommodation and B&B en-suite rooms. Here at the King George, we extend a warm welcome to all visitors to the Eskdale Valley, whether you're staying with us, having a meal or simply stopping for refreshments on your journey. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
King George Iv Hotel Eskdale
King George IV Inn Eskdale, Lake District, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing