We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eskdale Hidden Jewel”
Review of King George IV Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eskdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
King George IV Inn
Ranked #6 of 10 Eskdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Eskdale Hidden Jewel”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Just got back from 4 days in the Flat with our 2x Staffordshire Bull Terriers Sky and Maverick.
We were welcomed by owner Jonty a larger than life character who made us feel very welcome and throughout our stay he couldn't do enough for us.
The flat was perfect for us with its own entrance and small fenced area for the dogs.
The Staff take their lead from Jonty and all made us feel welcome whenever we went into the pub to eat or drink.
The food is locally sourced where ever possible and the steak pie is the best I have sampled for many years.
The food was always of a high standard along with the many real ales which just had to be sampled.
We were on a accomadation only deal so on the Saturday morning I asked Jonty if he could rustle us up some toast orange juice and toast each morning during our stay.
Yes was the answer so lovely fresh bread nicely toasted along with a teapot with 4x tea bags was supplied every morning.
I asked Jonty on Saturday morning how much I owed him for breakfast to which he replied Nothing, a few slices of bread and tea you can have on me a very refreshing attitude today and typical of the man.
The locals were all very friendly and it's obvious this is a local Pub used by locals which speaks volumes for Jontys aim to provide a pub for Locals and Visitors alike in perfect harmony.
In summing up the one thing even Jonty can't guarantee is good weather but I can guarantee you of a very very warm welcome.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Checkmate55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    40
    15
    11
    24
See reviews for
65
95
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hattem
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We are from Holland and visited the Lakes seval times. We've stayed at the King George which was the best accomodation we ever had. The appartment was a delight to stay in. Good shower with plenty of hot water. Staff was really great, no nonsense and down to earth. Food was above average for a Pub with good quality lakeland meat. If you want to do some hiking at this side of the Lakes then it is a perfect place to stay. cheers Jonathan and his staff!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Hi im Brian and i worked for a year in and around Eskdale. I stayed in one of Jontys holiday cottages for the majority of the year and became a face known in the area. Myself and work collegues ate at the George inn on a regular basis and the food was of outstanding quality and always served with a lovely Cumbrian smile. I always was able to have a laugh and a joke with the staff and the atmosphere was always of good nature. If you are in the pub you are always welcome to join in and have fun and there was all sorts of different themed night which was a laugh.All in all the stay was marvellous and when i get chance will be venturing up to see everyone. Thanks Jonty much appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2013

After visiting Eskdale on numerous occasions staying in rented cottages, we wanted a last minute weekend break with friends, Jonty offered us the Cabin situated at back of the King George. It was very warm, clean and cosy and the views were spectacular looking both down the valley and over the fells. The food and hospitality was as good as all past visits and his large selection of hand pulled local ales went down a treat!!! Will definatly be back very soon. Thank you Jonty.
Paul & Sharon from Yorkshire.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 674SharonC674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Cerney, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

A couple of weeks ago we fancied a last minute mini break with our 2 Beddlington Terriers and decided the Lakes would be a nice place to go. I did a bit of digging around on here and the reviews for the King George were so good I thought I'd phone to see if there were any B&B rooms available. They were booked but Jonty said he had an appartment we could stay in on a B&B basis at no extra cost so we said Yes and booked for 4 nights from the following Monday (25th March)
We then spent the next couple of days watching the news stories about the heavy snow and drifts in Cumbria thinking we might not be going. I phoned on Monday to check on conditions and was told that if we drove to North Cumbria then circled around the coast there was a road open into Eskdale. It did put an hour on the journey but was well worth it.
On arrival we were shown to the appartment. It's massive. A lovely front room with open fire and double mezzanine above. A master double with en-suite, a twin and another bedroom with bunk beds and a 3rd pull out bed. Kids and Mother in Law next time then!
We decided to have a few pints in the bar then go back upstairs and get curled up in front of the fire. Paul was a bit hungry but we hadn't thought to stop for supplies on the way in. He didn't want a full meal so asked if he could just have egg & chips with some bread. Yep, no problem was the response. This seemed to be the response for everything. So all I can say is ask and something will be sorted.
We asked what time breakfast was and was told whatever time we wanted it. We agreed on 9:00 and went down the following morning. The portions are huge......they even beat Paul and he's a piggy. The dogs liked the left overs which we took up for them though so everyone was happy.
The staff and locals will happily chat to you and let you know where the best places to go and things to do are. We drove to the bottom of Hardknott Pass which was closed due to the drifts and climbed up that, drove into Wasdale which is gorgeous and had a trip up to Ravenglass on Ratty.
It really is a very relaxed, anything goes type of place to go. If you're after some really good beer and food, served with a smile and a chat, in beautiful surroundings you can't go wrong with the King George. It lives up to it's excellent reviews and more.
Thanks all, we loved it :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mentalblond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

If you want a top location right among moderate ridge walks to Scarfell, one of the Lakes best traditional pubs, with first class staff, this is the one.
We,ve just had Easter weekend in a Cabin at the back of the pub with a view to die for.with excellent food and hospitality.
Top of the tree pub but with no fuss set in a paradise setting.
Cant wait to go back.
Credit to you John and your staff and would buy shares in the place knowing how popular its going to be when word gets out.
.

Room Tip: Can only vouch for the cabin but first class. Am sure pub rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Went with girl friends x 3 and two dogs for purpose of break from work and some good walking. Well we got so much more. The King George is where we stayed in the 4 bedroomed apartment. Cannot fault this. It was very comfortable, sleeps 8 although there were only 4 so we had lots of personal space and a room each, bonus. We paid £66 pound each for three nights which, broken down is reasonable. No charge for the poochs. The landlord of the King George was so very welcoming and the food was AMAZING, I recommend the steak pie!!! All the meat is sourced from local farm owned by his parents.
In the pub at night the locals were there having a good time socialising and playing games and we were all made welcome and quickly found ourselves joining in. Great place, great people, great food and amazing walks. Will be going again.

Room Tip: There is B & B, a flat that sleeps 4 or apartment that sleeps 8 all will provide the same experi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eskdale
3.0 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
5.6 mi away
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
1.9 mi away
The Boot Inn
The Boot Inn
#1 of 3 in Boot
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Santon Bridge Inn
The Santon Bridge Inn
#2 of 5 in Holmrook
384 reviews
2.7 mi away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#3 of 10 in Eskdale
565 reviews
1.8 mi away
Brook House Inn and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King George IV Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George IV Inn

Property: King George IV Inn
Address: Eskdale Green, Eskdale CA19 1TS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eskdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Eskdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King George IV Inn, Eskdale Green, is a centuries old traditional Cumbrian Inn offering good local food, lots of local real ales, malt whiskies and a choice of self-catering accommodation and B&B en-suite rooms. Here at the King George, we extend a warm welcome to all visitors to the Eskdale Valley, whether you're staying with us, having a meal or simply stopping for refreshments on your journey. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
King George Iv Hotel Eskdale
King George IV Inn Eskdale, Lake District, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing