We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks Jonnty”
Review of King George IV Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eskdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
King George IV Inn
Ranked #7 of 10 Eskdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Thank you Jonnty for a fabulous welcome and the most relaxing break we have had in a long time at staying with you at the King George in Eskdale.

The food was delicious and prepared freshly using local produce and you could taste the difference, the portions so big that both Steve and I put on 5lbs in our 3 night stay, the breakfasts were real belly busters and not for the faint hearted. Sticky toffee pudding is highly recommended if you have any room left ! Our room was at the front and the sun blazed through the window early in the Morning and we had great weather all weekend although the forecast had been poor.
We are already planning a return and we will be booking the flat and taking our 2 Labradors next time we stay.We walked for miles after those breakfasts and on the way around the area we saw red squirrels, red deer and buzzards. We would advise you to visit the King George if you like real ales you will be spoilt for choice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melody t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

On route home and was looking for this pub after travelling on a scenic railway. Ended up stopping somewhere else but got no service and a huge queue to order so left. Thank god we did as five minutes down the road was this place. I wanted to eat most of the menu but settled on the pie as did my wife.
Huge portion and loads of good quality meat in the pie. Really good food and ales. Friendly service.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Seabass814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Just back from a week staying in the flat and had a fantasic time. The pub is traditional and friendly with a landlord who exudes energy and has a passion for providing great ales and good friendly service. All the other staff were friendly too and made us and our little dog feel very welcome. The beer was fantastic, with new ones to try each day. The food was so good that despite intending to self cater some of the time we were enticed by the lovely smells coming from the kitchen and ate there every evening! The pasta dishes and pies were particularly excellent. Lunches were also delicious.. The area is beautiful and as well as exploring lovely places nearby we spent many a content moment outside the pub enjoying the lovely views. To sum it up we cant wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kittenadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
83
Reviewed 13 August 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Stopped for a bite to eat with my 2 kids in this picturesque location. Bar staff were polite and friendly if a little hard to track down at times. The food however was pretty dreadful. I had a bacon and chicken salad, the chicken being hard and dry and definitely not freshly prepared that day - felt like it had been sat in a fridge for a day or two and re-heated. The kids had a hot beef baguette, which was okay and a tune mayo baguette, which was pretty bad - just loads and loads of mayo drowning out any flavour or texture of the tuna. They also had a side of chips which was terrible -hard, burnt and again, bearing in mind this was 1 o'clock in the afternoon, felt like the previous day's leftovers warmed up. Seriously, i wouldn't feed a dog those chips! I never understand why pubs try to serve such unpalatable grub, all I expect is the equivalent of a decent, home cooked meal. Not too much to ask but unfortunately too much for this pub.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Badboydan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We've just returned from our trip to England. The King George was our first stay. We had the flat for two and we were absolutely happy with it. It was clean and tidy with a good bathroom, a cosy bedroom with a really good bed and a nicely combined large kitchen-dining-room-living-room. We could sit outside privately if we wanted to, but we mostly decided to sit in front of the pub with other guests in the sunshine.
The host and the other staff were really friendly and helpful. The food in the pub was good and the portions were huge.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stopped here for lunch just after opening, friendly welcome good choices of food and all locally sourced. They advertise ten real ales but only had a coke alas! Service quick and food piping hot although mash had a slight rubbery texture, ? Microwaved? Enjoyed it all and good value. A lot of guests at the wedding we were on our way to were staying here in self catering accom, also seemed good value. Beautiful location and stunning drive over Bircher Fell is worth a trip alone

Room Tip: Did not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 973SimonR973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eskdale hotels
1.1 mi away
Bower House Inn
Bower House Inn
#4 of 10 in Eskdale
402 reviews
2.7 mi away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#2 of 10 in Eskdale
596 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Boot Inn
The Boot Inn
#1 of 3 in Boot
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Woolpack Inn
Woolpack Inn
#2 of 3 in Boot
286 reviews
2.9 mi away
YHA Eskdale
YHA Eskdale
#2 of 2 in Boot
67 reviews
0.7 mi away
Forest How Guest House
Forest How Guest House
#3 of 10 in Eskdale
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King George IV Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George IV Inn

Address: Eskdale Green, Eskdale CA19 1TS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eskdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Eskdale
Price Range: £45 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King George IV Inn, Eskdale Green, is a centuries old traditional Cumbrian Inn offering good local food, lots of local real ales, malt whiskies and a choice of self-catering accommodation and B&B en-suite rooms. Here at the King George, we extend a warm welcome to all visitors to the Eskdale Valley, whether you're staying with us, having a meal or simply stopping for refreshments on your journey. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
King George Iv Hotel Eskdale
King George IV Inn Eskdale, Lake District, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing